Customer Reviews for

The Storyteller

Average Rating 4.5
( 455 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(279)

4 Star

(105)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

This is not only the best book by Jodi Picoult, but one of the b

This is not only the best book by Jodi Picoult, but one of the best books I have read period. In pure Picoult style, the twists and turns never end. Do not expect to be happy when reading a book on such a tragedy. This is a story that has to be told and is a do not m...
This is not only the best book by Jodi Picoult, but one of the best books I have read period. In pure Picoult style, the twists and turns never end. Do not expect to be happy when reading a book on such a tragedy. This is a story that has to be told and is a do not miss if you are a fan of Picoult and Historical Fiction.

posted by kirstenh on March 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

40 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

Perfect till the ending!

Jodi once again has written a book which demands a great deal of research! As I was reading, I was so entranced by the details of the time and how she integrated each characters story to allow the reader access to the characters point of view! Brilliantly written and as...
Jodi once again has written a book which demands a great deal of research! As I was reading, I was so entranced by the details of the time and how she integrated each characters story to allow the reader access to the characters point of view! Brilliantly written and as usual your biliary to put me in the scene was such a success as I could actually smell the bread baking! Nothing better than that smll!

Then it was as if someone else came along and took over writing the end of this book! I don't know if you were on a deadline and had to just put something down to finish, etc. however, after investing so much into this heartfelt story.....I was left with feeling as my time had been wasted. The ending is so rushed, gives zero indication why she would comply with Josef request! Why would she sneak out and make his wish come true is just preposterous!! Why would she jeopardize her relationship with Leo! I am not buying that the woman we got to know over the course of the story....would do this!
So back to my original question/observation....why was the ending of this book so rushed and nonsensical? I feel cheated! What started out as your best ever book...ended with a thud! Why?

posted by 4924260 on March 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted April 22, 2013

    Interesting - Very good, but not great

    Hm. I'm trying to put my finger on what, exactly, kept me from loving this book.

    It wasn't the subject matter. I'm no stranger to books written about the Holocaust - whether they are historical fiction, biography, or written in the history vein. It wasn't the characters, either. I had my favorites (Minka and Leo, for sure), and the remaining characters were interesting enough - if sometimes slightly annoying and obtuse - on their own. It wasn't even the alternating story lines, which I sometimes struggle with, depending on the book. I actually loved the way each character's story wove together seamlessly with the other stories in the book, and was totally smitten by the story-within-the-story.

    So, what was it? I wish I knew. I honestly do. I really did like the story. There were a couple surprising moments that I didn't necessarily see coming (though I wouldn't be honest if I didn't say that I did see them coming right before they happened...) The characters were complex enough to be interesting, and to keep me from becoming frustrated by some of the things they said or did, or how they reacted.

    The things that Sage had to work her way through were enormous on their own - forgiveness, empathy, judgment, religion and hypocrisy - not to mention the ugly side of love and understanding yourself. I don't know that I was that strong or wise or ballsy at 25. Hell, I don't think I'm that strong or wise or ballsy at cough,cough!

    I don't know. Like I said, I did really like the story. It was different and written in a voice that made me hurt right along with the characters, which is something I always strive to find in a good book. It had me guessing, it made me think - how would I react to Josef? To Minka? To Adam or Leo? - and it made me ponder things that I've learned, or heard, or read.

    So, yes. It should be a five star review. And yet...it isn't. And I just don't know why.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Good read

    A good book but possibly another chapter or epilouge at the end would have been better!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Great story!

    First, the subject matter of this book is certainly a dark one. Reading some of it brought tears to my eyes. I have always enjoyed Jodi's books for her spin on tough situations and her dedication to the research. I feel she did a great job relaying the horror of the holocaust and creating relatable characters. That being said, I just couldn't give this book a full 5 stars for two reasons. First, part 2 was exceptional and definitelty essential. However, by the time we came back to the main story in part 3 it seemed like so long since we were there that it felt disjointed. Secondly, the ending did seem rushed to me. I wish there had been more to it. Overall, however, a remarkable book and I would certainly recommend!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    I think this book delivers the usual level of thoughtful and bea

    I think this book delivers the usual level of thoughtful and beautifully worded prose. While it was at times very moving to recall the Holocaust story through Minka's eyes, it is something we've read or seen many times in fiction, film the History Channel, so there were no great revelations there. It almost felt like we were being pandered to - let's pull out the story and tell it again and have the readers squirm at the horror of it all. Also, it was clear very early on that these people were connected and even the standard Jodi "twist" is by now so expected in her stories you can see it coming a mile away. With that being said, I loved the character and development of Leo, I thought the present day Minka was very interesting, and I wished there was more time spent on Sage's employer and her journey. The fictional story that Minka used to secure a (marginally) less horrifying existence in the German camp - the idea of the story with her captor was interesting, having to read the story itself was not. I just skipped over those parts. Grateful Jodi used a different font to make it easy to skip. Regardless of how I felt about this book, her ability to weave a tale, to convey emotions, intentions, conflict - is so much better than most that I will continue to buy every book she writes.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Great story. The characters came alive. Couldn't pout it down.

    The twists of the plot had me guessing what could possibly happen next. Jodi Picoult makes her stories come alive.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    must read

    If you are a Jodi Picoult fan this is a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Another masterful job

    Picoult always raises interesting moral issues in her fiction. In this case, a Nazi evildoer does penance for his war crimes by becoming a beloved member of the community. Is it possible to hate the sin but love the sinner? Picoult explores this issue in a tightly plotted narrative.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Loved it!

    Several story lines happening at the same time. Was always interesting. Not your typical holocaust story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    I couldn't put this one down!

    Anybody who picks up this book will be hard pressed to put it down. Jodi is an amazing storyteller who really does her homework! I loved this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    ANONYMOUS STORY PART THREE

    The gas station's restroom floor was cold and wet. At this point, I didn't care. The banging on the door had stopped after a few minutes. Out of nowhere, I heard police car sirens. There was no way my mother would have called the police, it had to be the man at the front counter. He must've guessed what was going on. I slowly got on my feet and unlocked the door. In thay brief second The Scruffy Man slipped in and locked himself in the restroom with me. I backed up against a wall as he inched closer to me. He pressed his finger against my lips and slid a knife from his pocket. Tears began to swell up in my eyes, "Please, no!" I whimpered. "Shh, we don't want them to hear you." He whispered quietly into my ear. I tried not to move as he placed the knife to my neck. I released a breath and he tightened his grip on me. As we stood there, an officer banged on the door, "Anyone in there?" I wanted to scream, but I knew that wasn't an option. I could hear faint mumbling between bystanders and the officers. Eventually, they all left. "Goodnight sweetie." The Scruffy Man said softly as he placed a rag over my face. I was knocked out instantly. FOURTH AND FINAL PART AT RES FIVE

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    Great read

    I really enjoyed this story despite having read a review that divulged the ending. Why do people do that?
    It has a great twist to it. Hooray for jodi once again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    More enjoyable than expected

    After the first part my interest was peaked. I found it easy to grt lost on someones struggles, because while fictional still based on facts. Couldnt put it down after i started part 2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Gargamel

    Naght but a ghost of nooks past...<p>It was a good start. Your grammar was very well crafted. Do not forget your grammar: it draws people even further into the story. I hope for some character building soon. And make your next part longer.<p>I expect nothing less than art.<p>--Gargamel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Vote Here!

    Do you think I should write a story about
    •an owl
    ~Or~
    •a girl & the indianapolis 500?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2014

    Highly Recommended if you enjoy the believably unexpected.

    Picoult tells a story filled with riveting flashbacks that force the reader to see monsters of the Third Reich in a way that is almost sympathetic but ultimately clearly leans toward the moral right and a judgment that few could carry out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Excellent until the end

    This was my first Jodi Picoult book and will not be my last. Up until the last couple of pages this was one of the best books I have ever read. A lot of research went into this story. I dont know what happened but I think she blew it at the end. As other reviewers mentioned it seemed like a different author wrote the end. My rating would have been 5 stars if not for the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Excellent

    I had a hard time reading some of it and actually skipped some of the rough spots but in the end im glad i finished it Very well written i will definitely try another of her books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Interesting history

    A story within a story - clever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Good read

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Great,

    Very exciting. Anything from this author is Amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6