Customer Reviews for

The Striker (Isaac Bell Series #6)

Average Rating 4
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Clive Cussler is a wonderfully talented writer who enables reade

Clive Cussler is a wonderfully talented writer who enables readers to escape the boring drudgery of present politics and political correctness. Please remember,  if it was not for tough guys like this the USA would not be what it is today.  God bless misogynistic heroes...
Clive Cussler is a wonderfully talented writer who enables readers to escape the boring drudgery of present politics and political correctness. Please remember,  if it was not for tough guys like this the USA would not be what it is today.  God bless misogynistic heroes like this.  

posted by BillyR1 on March 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

recommended

Not Cusslers best but an interesting read with regard to coal mining history. Action was good.

posted by 17420555 on March 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    Clive Cussler is a wonderfully talented writer who enables reade

    Clive Cussler is a wonderfully talented writer who enables readers to escape the boring drudgery of present politics and political correctness. Please remember,  if it was not for tough guys like this the USA would not be what it is today.  God bless misogynistic heroes like this.  

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    recommended

    Not Cusslers best but an interesting read with regard to coal mining history. Action was good.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2013

    Clive gives you the feel of being there where ever the story go


    Clive gives you the feel of being there where ever the story goes. The action just keeps going,but gets to be old after a while good chases bad guy  with the good guy getting the girl every time. At least he keeps away from what society has become gross  and keeps your intrest. Keep up the good work Clive

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    The Striker Not A Strike Out !

    This Isacc Bell story takes you back to an earlier time when he was still learning his craft, but it does so without taking away any of the traits you have come to enjoy about our "American Sherlock".By adding this story to the series, Cussler and Scott invest more in the character, and they do it without taking away from the story in hand. If you like this series, you won't be disappointed.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    Another good read!

    As always I was excited to get my hands on another Clive Cussler book, and as always I wasn't disappointed! I loved the story line about Isaac's early days. I hope we get more of the story behind the story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    An Engaging Read

    Cussler succeeds again in delivering a great escapist novel. He takes us back to a time when messaging meant telegrams and modern transportation meant railroads. As usual, there is plenty of action, brave heros, fetching heroines and justice is served. However, the situation is far from clear to our hero, Isaac Bell, and his crew as he tries to sort out perpetrators of sabotage in the coal industry and identify an agent provocateur. Cussler's portrayal of the management vs. labor strife of the time is, I believe, an accurate snapshot of the times. Fans of this turn of the 20th century detective will not be disappointed.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    By far one of the best yet in this series about Isaac Bell. Ful

    By far one of the best yet in this series about Isaac Bell. Full of action, adventure, suprises and humor. Very well told and described during that early time in the coal miner's plight in and around Pittsburgh. It almost takes you back to the early 1900's. A true page turner, which I found hard to put down. Nice little surprise at the end. Well worth adding to your intellect and library.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Excellent

    Anither great Issac Bell story

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Love his books!

    I haven't read this book yet but I am sure I will enjoy it. I always enjoy what he writes.

    3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    H

    Ass

    3 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Yuck

    Cussler's novels are poorly written, offensive, and completely misogynistic. How anyone publishes his dreck is beyond belief.

    2 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Very nice read

    The book was well done, a nice addition to the .Bell series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Highly recommend

    If you like Clive Cussler and the adventures of Isaac Bell, you must read this. He combines a fast paced adventure with very interesting historical events. The writing is accurate, colorful and fun. You feel like you are in the mines and camps supporting the miners. Isaac is young and just starting out his career as a detective, but he learns fast. I have read everything Clive Cussler has written and pre order his books so I don't miss a thing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Another Clive Cussler masterpiece. Can't wait for episode #7

    I love the back story of Issac Bell. Clive Cussler has once again given his readers what they want. At least this reader is very happy to see Issac as an inexperienced young dectective who is learning the ropes of from the best of the Van Dorn Detective Agency. The story is set in coal country in 1902. Strikers, Owners, Bankers all find themselves being weighed down by the union verses non-union troubles of the day. . . Take a ride on the Reading Railroad or on the barges sailing the three river

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Band Barnes and noble

    You suck. Borders was better

    1 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    Great book

    I just love his store line around the 1900 It was a time that America was become great. And to have stores around events that really happened it just fun reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    Another GREAT Story from the MASTER - Clive Cussler !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    15 bucks? No thanks

    Does'nt write like the old cussler anyway.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    To much

    I want to read it but I won't pay that much for a ebook. I'll get the paperback or wait till it goes on sale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2013

    Another hit

    Not understanding the whole strike scenario took me a little bit to get but once I understood everything, it was a great read. Another hit for Clive Cussler. Can't wait for another Issac Bell book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5