Customer Reviews for

The Struggle (Kentucky Brothers Series #3)

Average Rating 5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    The Struggle With Forgiveness! I love Wanda's books and especia

    The Struggle With Forgiveness!

    I love Wanda's books and especially I have loved her Kentucky Brother series. The Struggle did not disappoint me. I picked up this book yesterday to read and finished it early this evening. I read it every chance that I got. My interest was captured from page one.

    Timothy Fisher plans to move his family to Pembroke Kentucky to get his wife Hannah away from depending on her Mother so much. Hannah has been spending too much time with her Mother instead of being a wife to him. Timothy has two brothers already living in Pembroke, his twin brother Titus and brother Samuel. Samuel has already said that Timothy's family could stay with him until they can either build or buy a place of their own.

    Hannah Fisher is not happy with Timothy for forcing her to move to Kentucky. She doesn't want to leave her home and her parents in Paradise Pennsylvania. She vows to never like Kentucky and is bitter toward Timothy for making her move there. Hannah ends up being bitter about a lot of things.

    Can Hannah ever forgive Timothy for uprooting her from Pennsylvania to move to Kentucky? Can she ever forgive him for the horrible accident that happens in their family?

    This is a wonderful story about family relationships, learning to forgive one another and putting your faith and trust in God. Thank you Wanda Brunstetter for a wonderful story. This is definitely a five star book. I hope you all will get a chance to read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2012

    Love to read Wanda Brunstetter books, haven't read one that I di

    Love to read Wanda Brunstetter books, haven't read one that I did not like.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Amie Lou Book provided by the publisher for review R

    Reviewed by Amie Lou
    Book provided by the publisher for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    I love Amish fiction. I love the mannerisms, the simplicity of life, and the values that are represented by this culture. The Struggle is a wonderful depiction of such a life.

    Fisher makes the tough decision to move his family (wife, Hannah, and daughter, Mindy) to Kentucky against his wife’s wishes. But Timothy feels that the move will be the best thing for his marriage. His wife clings to her mother. Their relationship is putting a strain on Timothy and Hannah’s marriage, and Timothy is eager to join his two brothers who already live in the Blue Grass State.

    But Hannah is unhappy in Kentucky and doesn’t seem to care who knows it. Without spoilers, the move does not help their marriage and could even be said to make it worse.

    Aside from the main story between Timothy and Hannah, there is also the relationship between Esther and Timothy’s brother, Samuel, and their boss, Allen, and the B&B owner, Bonnie.

    Three great stories in one book, along with a great mix of Amish and English living close and sharing in the joys and traditions of each culture equals a great read.

    All in all, The Struggle is a fabulous book about forgiveness and hope, God’s blessings and His mysterious ways, as well as second chances for them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    This is the best ever.

    If you have read the Kentucky Brothers one and two you will want to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I enjoy the author Wanda Brunsetter. This book is delightful to read and always has you anticipating what the next page will bring. I like the Amish stories and experiences that she brings to her stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Highly recommen Wanda Brunstetter books

    This was a great book to read along with 1& 2 I enjoy reading Wanda Brunstetters books
    Great author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    A change of scenery can be good or bad

    Timothy is sure moving to Kentucky to live near his brothers will help his marriage because Hannah is too close to her mother. Hannah is sure she can not survive in Kentucky, but goes because that is what an Amish wife does. Both will be tested to make this move work as well as making their marriage work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2012

    Wanda Brunstetter and her relations with the Amish coomunity, gi

    Wanda Brunstetter and her relations with the Amish coomunity, give credance to her books. Timothy takes his wife, Hannah and daughter Mindi to Kentucky. This move was ncessary to try a lengthen the bond between mother and daughter, so his wife could be more attentive to him. Hannah does not adjust well to the move. She further isolates herself and daughter, from the family and friends there. An accident occurs, and she blames Timothy, and runs home to her mother. The real workings of forgiveness and love in a marriage comes out. Great reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    "Whatever your simple pleasures may be, enjoy them and shar

    "Whatever your simple pleasures may be, enjoy them and share them with someone else. We sometimes take for granted the everyday things that give us a sense of joy and well-being. These simple things are often forgotten when problems occur in our lives." This is the moral of the novel, The Struggle by Wanda Brunstetter which is the third book in the Kentucky Brothers Series.

    This time it's Timothy Fisher who feels compelled to leave his childhood home in Paradise, Pennsylvania to move to Christian County, Kentucky and follow in his brothers footsteps who have gone before him. First his twin brother Titus and then his half-brother Samuel left to find cheaper land and more of it than is available in Pennsylvania, but it's not the reason for Timothy. He's hoping that by moving to Kentucky, he can separate Hannah, his wife from her mother. Since they have been married, Timothy feels as though his marriage has been in jeopardy just because Hannah hasn't taken on the responsibilities he feels a wife should. She spends more time with her mother than with him and he's hoping a change in location might help.

    Only Hannah isn't going to make it easy on him. She isn't the slightest bit willing to make this move and being an only child, her and her mother share a very close bond. She understands that she needs to be there for her husband but doesn't feel that moving them is the answer. Not only that but their only daughter, Mindy will also have to find new friends. So Hannah resolves to dig herself in and find ways to show Timothy that Kentucky isn't going to make her any happier and is crossing her fingers it will only be a matter of time before she's home again with her parents.

    Since they are moving there in hopes of finding a home, they will have to live with Samuel and his children. Timothy is hoping that Hannah can find some friends through the women in his brothers lives, starting with Esther who Samuel is courting and is taking care of his home and children during the day while he works and in the evening hours, works part time at a Bed and Breakfast owned by an English women named Bonnie. Hannah feels that since she is staying there, she should assume the responsibilities of caring for the children and the upkeep of the house, but all it does is isolate her further from not only Samuel and Timothy but from Esther and the other women as well.

    I received The Struggle by Wanda Brunstetter compliments of Barbour Publishing and Net Galley for my honest review and really enjoyed this Amish novel. In it we see that the more tightly we attempt to hold on to things and refuse to trust God, the harder it will be to deal with things when they are suddenly taken away. In this one, each set of characters is challenged with their own personal struggles, Timothy and Hannah are at odds in not only how to put their marriage back together but also how to deal with raising a family; Bonnie and her soon to be husband Allen, are dealing with some secrets from Bonnie's past that make wreck the opportunity to be married before she can accept his proposal and an unexpected English visitor to the B & B on Christmas Eve, throws a wrench into some Christmas plans with her own past.

    In it all we can see the consequences of what happens when we fail to trust God and instead try to handle things ourselves. Sometimes it has tragic circumstances and often times it can simply be a matter of working things out by letting go, and letting God heal our past wounds, yet the message is simple, as believers we are never far from some kind of struggle and watching each of these characters deal with them, shows us that the best answer is faith in God, not matter how difficult it may be. I easily rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars! If you love Amish Fiction, then you definitely want to pick this one up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Great series

    Loved all 3 books!!!!! I read this last one in 2 days and was sorry that the series ended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Third book in series "Kentucky Brothers"

    Once again Wanda E. Brunstertter has come across with another book in the series "Kentucky Brothers". I was so happy to receive this one from Wanda and Barbour Publishing, now I can continue with the saga of the Fisher family.


    Hannah Fisher hates that she has had to move away from his home town and her family and move to Kentucky. But as the Amish believe she had to go where her husband wants to go. Alone with the accident of their little daughter Mindy, there was so much guilt. Now they are having trouble with their marriage as Hannah is so unhappy.
    Timothy Fisher is also having a lot of trouble with trying to make his wife happy and his work he really does not know what to do.

    As Hannah goes back home to Pennsylvania and to her parents' everywhere she looks there is a reminder of what she had lost. As the time passed and she found out she was expecting a baby she knew that she had to go back to where she belonged and to her husband. Can she forget and forgive as she continues her life.


    Will Timothy and Hannah listen to God and settle their differences or will they remain apart?


    I love to read these books in a series because once I start to read about a family I just want it to continue. As always Wanda knows how to make you feel me through I am in that family my-self and I just don't want to put it down until the last page, then I look and think couldn't there be at least one more page? I love the receipes that are always in these books. I have tried a few and some of them are just like this old southern woman has always made for her family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1