BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Stupidest Angel: A Heartwarming Tale of Christmas Terror, Version 2.0

Average Rating 4
( 178 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable, madcap, irreverant

I like this author's work. I listened to a recorded version and found myself wondering if he and I knew some of the same people! Religious folks who are easily offended should probably avoid this one, though the "stupidest angel" in question isn't the central characte...
I like this author's work. I listened to a recorded version and found myself wondering if he and I knew some of the same people! Religious folks who are easily offended should probably avoid this one, though the "stupidest angel" in question isn't the central character. A good, funny, light read.

posted by Alaskini on December 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Light and ddarkly Light and darkly funny

"To IKEA!" they shouted; such a great response from an exciting miracle. If you're in the mood for an unlikely holiday gem look no further.

posted by estrolof on April 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 192 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Enjoyable, madcap, irreverant

    I like this author's work. I listened to a recorded version and found myself wondering if he and I knew some of the same people! Religious folks who are easily offended should probably avoid this one, though the "stupidest angel" in question isn't the central character. A good, funny, light read.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Inappropriately hilarious

    As others have noted, this book is not for the easily offended. If it were a movie, I'd expect an 'R' rating for language, adult-content and violence. (Heresy and sacrelige do not show on movie ratings, but consider yourself warned.)
    I could barely control laughing out loud while reading this. The analogies, characters, story-line and everything else conceivable had me gaffawing like a psychotic hyena on meth.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Fun

    Super demented, a lot of fun, and (strangely) with characters you really come to care about.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    A perfect holiday book

    Definitely not a lighthearted book for sensitive people. It is warped, a bit raunchy, very rowdy and really really funny.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun Read

    Okay, before I even started this the author's warning had me laughing and I just knew it'd be good. I was not disappointed. The one liners were hilarious, the characters off the wall and the writing pure Moore genius. I couldn't put it down. From bell ringer brawls, to some colorful and possibly dysfunctional and yet charming couples, angels, zombies (and even the dead were just classic here. IKEA!!!), fruit bats and gluttonous attack dogs, a wild ride of holiday fun and horror comedy. There was a bit of off color humor in spots, but not so bad I couldn't overlook it. If you love his work, you'll want this one for your collection. If you're looking for something fun and different, this certainly qualifies. Some books will have the special bonus chapter. While it ends perfectly fine without it, it's also a cute read if you get the extended version.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Light and ddarkly Light and darkly funny

    "To IKEA!" they shouted; such a great response from an exciting miracle. If you're in the mood for an unlikely holiday gem look no further.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Fun read

    Enjoyable

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Classic

    Extremely amusing. A new tradition is born. Reading Dickens by the fire? Read a little Moore by the fire.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    5 star

    Very warped, extremely funny!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOL

    The second Christopher Moore book I read - And I def love his writing! I cant wait to read Lamb next =) I love how he ties in characters from previous stories to add an 'inside joke touch' to each book - It is true, it could have been proof read a little better; however, it wont bother you in the least Im sure =) A wonderful, laugh out loud book that I def recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Quick and Funny

    I loved this book. It is a fast read and very enjoyable. Chris Moore is a hilarious author. The Stupidest Angel is funny, thrilling and a little touching. It's always fun when Moore's characters show up in other books too :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2010

    Moore's genius does not show in this book.

    I loved Moore's other books, and I do consider him a good author. But I think the Stupidest Angel is probably his worst book so far. The plot is just over the top and it seems to be all over the place in my opinion. His humor and wit isn't as sharp as it is in other books like Lamb or A Dirty Job.
    It is a quick read and there is some enjoyment to be had, but overall the story and writing is more childish. A lot of characters from his other books make an appearance in this one as is tradition with Moore. If you you're a fan of Moore you may want to read it anyway. I think the main reason it's weaker is because he states someone asked him to write a Christmas story and that could have caused a strain on the brain. Anyway the book is okay, but it's sadly not his best work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    christopher moore is so twisted...but i love him that way!

    This is truly a great Christmas story from the mind of christopher moore! I am still laughing over the fruit bat in the book...and i read it like four years ago! you have to read it over and over it is so funny to be sure you get all the jokes!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A twisted classic!!

    Christopher Moore does one thing better than anyone, and that's completely saturate the reader with a world. And the world he creates here (or better yet in his previous novels Practical Demonkeeping and Lust Lizard Of Melancholy Cove) is hilarious. Comedy is the hardest form of entertainment to translate on page because the reader needs to always be on the same page as the author or the jokes will go right on by your head. Here, I was in lock step with Moore. I loved every line on every page. Even the animals are a comedic gold mine. Truly a hilarious masterpiece! A+

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2009

    Moore has done it again!

    While this is not his best book, it was a very original idea. Plus is was neat to see a lot of returning characters. If you're a Christopher Moore fan, or just like goofy, off-beat books, you will love The Stupidest Angel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2007

    Milk came out my nose!

    Nothing has warmed the Christmas cockles of my heart like this book, although there should have been a warning on the cover not to drink milk and read at the same time, lest hilarity get the better of your bovine beverage.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2007

    Funniest book ever!

    I thought this was the best Christopher Moore book so far. I have enjoyed them all, but this one had me laughing so hard that I had to stop to wipe my tears so I could continue to read. I have read it several times, each time I laugh just as much as the first time. I highly recommend it to those readers that don't take life too seriously and enjoy a demented and funny read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    I want a bat:)

    I want a bat:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Silly but fun

    Good intentions don't always lead to good results, as the characters soon learn. There are other works by Moore that I like more, but this one was a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Delightfully dark

    My personal Christmas tradition every year is to curl up and enjoy this book. Christmas spirit, fruit bats and Ikea obsessed zombies... What's not to love?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 192 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10