Customer Reviews for

The Stupidest Angel: A Heartwarming Tale of Christmas Terror, Version 2.0

Average Rating 4
( 208 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(95)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable, madcap, irreverant

I like this author's work. I listened to a recorded version and found myself wondering if he and I knew some of the same people! Religious folks who are easily offended should probably avoid this one, though the "stupidest angel" in question isn't the central characte...
I like this author's work. I listened to a recorded version and found myself wondering if he and I knew some of the same people! Religious folks who are easily offended should probably avoid this one, though the "stupidest angel" in question isn't the central character. A good, funny, light read.

posted by Alaskini on December 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Light and ddarkly Light and darkly funny

"To IKEA!" they shouted; such a great response from an exciting miracle. If you're in the mood for an unlikely holiday gem look no further.

posted by estrolof on April 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 208 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2007

    Milk came out my nose!

    Nothing has warmed the Christmas cockles of my heart like this book, although there should have been a warning on the cover not to drink milk and read at the same time, lest hilarity get the better of your bovine beverage.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2007

    Funniest book ever!

    I thought this was the best Christopher Moore book so far. I have enjoyed them all, but this one had me laughing so hard that I had to stop to wipe my tears so I could continue to read. I have read it several times, each time I laugh just as much as the first time. I highly recommend it to those readers that don't take life too seriously and enjoy a demented and funny read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2015

    Very entertaining

    If you like whimsy and oddball characters you'll love this story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2015

    Not what I expected

    Although the author warned that the book contained questionable material, this was worse than I expected. Now I am warned about any book by Christopher Moore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2015

    Fabulously Funny!!

    If you are looking for pure escapism, this is your book. It has everything from oddball characters to a fruit bat wearing sunglasses, blending them seamlessly,and you find yourself believing them. It was hard to put down, as I wanted to know where it would go next....and then it has a completely new plot twist to end it...I am going to look for more of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2015

    Rather stupid book and storyline

    I really did not like this book. It was dumb. Even though I could see my hometown in this book, I wasn't thrilled with it. To me save your money and don't buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2015

    So disappointed

    I am so disappointed in Christopher Moore's book. I read his book "Fluke" and thoroughly enjoyed it, as strange as it was. So I do know his writing style and the "oddities" that can happen in his stories. The Stupidest Angel started in the odd but comical way...and then the zombies showed up! Zombies?!?!? Really? It turned a fun and funny book into something idiotic and dark, and the book lost all its humor. I was bummed, and eventually gave up on the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2015

    I couldn't get in to it

    I couldn't get in to this book at all. I tried going back to it a few times and just couldn't make it past the first two chapters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2015

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm about 20% into Lamb, but the tone is highly resonant of The

    I'm about 20% into Lamb, but the tone is highly resonant of The Stupidest Angel--Sure, it's irreverent and coarse (who would expect any different?), but Mr. Moore pulls the punches a little bit relative to the manic obscene genius he shows in Fool (still my favorite) or Bloodsucking Fiends. OK, the squirrel porn was a little edgy, but for the most part, the book is not something I would be entirely unwilling to share with my tween daughter (only through reading aloud so I could skip the cuss words that I like to pretend she doesn't know). And I especially loved Chapter 16. I'll grant that the author is not to everyone's tastes, but if you like his other books, you'll like this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2015

    Funny in a silly way.

    this was a great read and escape from reality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2014

    Disappointing

    I expected better. The zombies were a nice touch and without them this book would have been completely lame.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2014

    The author sums up his book about as well as can be in his warni

    The author sums up his book about as well as can be in his warning “be aware that it contains cusswords as well as tasteful descriptions of cannibalism and people in their forties having sex.”  And from there in the tenor of “National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation” the story takes you on a fun trip through holiday time in Pine Cove.  Filled with a number of fun, unique and Wacky characters and a plot that does well to incorporate them into a story various lines, the author will keep you smiling and wanting to read more.  The writing style is clever and witty as well as being well written overall.  The story was so much fun, especially towards the end, that I sped through the second half in an afternoon.  Spread some holiday cheer with this highly entertaining yuletide story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2014

    meh

    Not his best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2014

    This author like green olives is an acquired taste. His humor is not for everyone if you ve read any of his other books abtu religious

    Our new harriet an A has fairly well covered the plot i had forgotten about the walking dead. page counter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    I want a bat:)

    I want a bat:)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    BEST BOOK...

    This one is my fave!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    The most random book ever

    It was so random.... But I kinda liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2012

    A very different Christmas Story ¿ 3stars This holiday spirited

    A very different Christmas Story – 3stars

    This holiday spirited tome was really a departure for me (both the author and the genre – especially the genre), so it took a bit for me to really get into the book. This is definitely not a case of false advertising you get exactly what’s promised. A humorous Christmas story that is sometimes hysterically funny. Another plus is that it’s also a very quick read despite the seemingly large number of pages. The characters are fully fleshed and are definitely broadly drawn caricatures some of whom are guaranteed to garner a smile or a chuckle. The aforementioned Angel is not your everyday sort. The things I couldn’t get around was the zombies – although they too were done humorously, they are not my favorite supernatural creature and we hit Sillyville, USA.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Hd

    Dhhssdhdhddhsshgdhhe

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Hilarious

    I love Christopher Moore, and he didn't fail with this one. Very short and very hilarious Christmas story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 208 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11