Customer Reviews for

The Succubus Gift, An Urban Fantasy (Telepathic Clans #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    A wonderful new and exciting treatment of the succubus myth. Par

    A wonderful new and exciting treatment of the succubus myth. Paranormal urban fantasy in a completely new world. Not to be missed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2015

    I was a bit put off by the slow character development at the beg

    I was a bit put off by the slow character development at the beginning of the book, but it seemed as if the author got better and stronger
    with each chapter. By the ending, I was glad I had spent the time to read it. Good adventure, and I am beginning to like Brenna and Rebecca, among others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Sometimes our past dictates how we plan our future. Brenna has

    Sometimes our past dictates how we plan our future.

    Brenna has grown up in foster homes, learning to adjust to each new set of parents’ rules. She perfected the go-along-to-get-along attitude. Her internal drive to succeed carried her through college and her dissertation. She’s careful, methodical and knows exactly what she wants and how to achieve her goals—because planning is everything.

    Until life throws her a curve ball and changes all the rules. Her psychic ability leads her to discover another person like her. He introduces her to more people like them and her world view changes. She doesn’t accept the changes at face value. She learns what she can about these people and what they’re capable of.

    When her life is threatened, she must choose who to trust. When the people she cares about are threatened, she must embrace all of her abilities and decide if she can live with the consequences.

    I enjoyed The Succubus Gift. Brenna’s character had intelligence and (for the most part) common sense. She thought about her actions and made informed decisions. Yes, her heart ruled as often as her head, but the balance was appreciated.

    A couple of things kept the book from being a solid five for me. The amount of internal dialogue made the narration slow at times and bogged down the pace. This book has a lot of action, don’t get me wrong. I just wanted a more consistent pull.

    Also, the reason given for Brenna not feeling others made no sense in the face of her feeling Collin’s character. It made more sense that she’d have felt someone, even one person, in all the years between entering the foster care system as a child and discovering her roots as an adult.

    I look forward to reading BR Kingsolver’s next book in the Telepathic Clans Saga.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    The Succubus Gift by B.R. Kingsolver is the story of Brenna, a 21 year old girl who has been raised in foster homes since she was 8 years old. She has telepathic abilities and has never met anyone like herself. The story begins the day she does find someone like her who turns out to be a family member. We get to watch Brenna learn about herself, her family, and her gifts as well as make friendships and struggle with relationships and coming to terms with her gifts/abilities.

    I enjoyed the story very much, but felt the succubus part strange. Maybe it is just me and because I have never read a succubus story before. It just felt odd and out of place to me. For some reason I had a hard time feeling anything for the characters. I liked all of them. I just didn't really care about them, and I'm not sure why. I do know that my lack of caring for them made it hard to get through the book, even though the story itself had potential.

    I'm glad that the story had a definite ending with no cliffhanger. I'm not sure I would read another book in the series based on my lack of feeling toward the characters. It wasn't a bad read, just not one I would read again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2013

    4.5! I do love my strong female leads. And Brenna didn't disappo

    4.5!
    I do love my strong female leads. And Brenna didn't disappoint. She lost her family as a young kid only to one day accidentally find them shortly after finishing college. She didn't let it totally overwhelm her and she was willing for the most part to learn about her family but not give up her freedom. She was strong, funny, sexy, mature, intelligent, and has many Gifts. We don't even get to know ALL of them really yet. It's not everyday a young women finds out she's a succubus and this book mostly focuses on the succubus one. Obviously! Haha. But we do get to learn about a few of her others in the book.


    The clan itself is really awesome and so are the people in it. All the clan members are really interesting to learn about and get to know. I really liked them all. People get asked all the time 'If you could have dinner with a fictional character who would it be?' and I would have to seriously think about if I would choose the clan or only 1 other character. That's how much I enjoyed them.


    You have a guide to help pronounce the names and she included their meanings too. That was fun to read. There is even a guide at the end of the book that covers the full list of telepathic gifts and their descriptions. Which even by itself is really interesting.


    B.R. Kingsolver did an amazing job at creating this world. It's got mystery, action, romance, and of course sex. It is with more then one partner but so far it's one on one. But it does have some scenes where the heat level could have set this book completely on fire and held back here and there just a little bit. Don't mistake me it has PLENTY of naughty with an awesome story. I almost didn't agree to read it because even though the cover is pretty it just didn't draw my curiosity. Charge me I'm guilty! It would have been been a mistake as I Really like this book! Did I mention the moment I finished it I bought book 2?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Succubus Gift (The Telepathic Clans Saga, Book 1) by BR King

    The Succubus Gift (The Telepathic Clans Saga, Book 1) by BR Kingsolver




    Brenna Morgan’s journey is more complicated than most, orphaned at the young age of eight she has learned to hide her gift of telepathy. After a chance meeting with another telepath she finds a few extended family members and learns her life will never be the same. In a world with a hidden telepathic subculture, Brenna learns the history of the Clan and how to control her powers. This is a fresh take on the succubus myth in a non-magical world.








    This is a complex and organized urban fantasy where the subculture of the Clan is based in telepathy rather than demonology or magic, although the law of physics are bent. The Succubus Gift adds a unique and exciting twist to the old myths. Ms. Kingsolver has built an elaborate system of Gifts that are basically a combination of Talents that can be thought of as both distinct and interacting abilities. No one telepath has ever been recorded, in their history, having all twenty-five Gifts until the Clan finds Brenna. The first half of the story deals with her inner conflicts upon learning what she is and how she fits into this new world. Being a highly-educated and moral young woman her life is turned upside down. This is a coming of age story for a reluctant succubus whose strength is incalculable because of her many Gifts and Talents.








    There are many characters and all are well drawn, their conversations were both witty and honest. One of my favorites was Rebecca, an oversexed protector (but not a succubus), who became fast friends with Brenna. I loved the way they related and interacted with each other. Then there was Collin, the playboy, who Brenna was instantly drawn to but refuses to have a relationship with. (What? I know, right? She’s a succubus for heavens sake!) This adds an interesting twist though that enhances their conversations and adds a bit of humor I thoroughly enjoyed.








    The story is set in a realistic, complex world, just like our own, which helped suspend my disbelief. The plot turns dark when succubi all over the world start disappearing and turning up dead. When Grandfather’s succubus is kidnapped the Clan gets involved. The action takes off as a sting is employed and put into operation. Brenna happens to have the perfect Talent, her mother taught her at a young age, to assist in the sting. However to become the bait she must unleash her inner succubus which will change her life yet again forever. This is an exciting new series to take a chance on; Brenna’s journey is unlike anything I have read before.  




    FYI: This book contains adult language and sexual situations that may be offensive to some. I found no significant errors.




    **Originally written for "Books and Pals" book blog. May have received a free review copy. **  February 8, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2012

    Ok, so let me start by saying I¿ve never read anything quite lik

    Ok, so let me start by saying I’ve never read anything quite like this book. I’m saying this as a compliment because different is better to me. Sometimes stories about a particular type of character get repetitive so it was a breath of fresh air to see something different. I am particularly fond of how very detailed the author has made the rules and gifts and how they work. Some “gifts” are part of a “Talent” or are a “Talent” in themselves. So, we’ve got magic here lol

    I will not lie and say that even though some parts are very funny, this is a more dark story. Bad people do seriously bad things. To the point that I sometimes got chills while reading. Each character has a story to tell and trust me, some are the types you wish you didn’t know, but it makes them who they are. I really like that I never felt like the story was slow, even when there were things being explained or back stories being told. This is what makes a great story for me.

    Brenna is mostly the main character. He life is literally uprooted from the first few sentences. I enjoyed learning about her family and how the Clans works. I really enjoy Collin as I will firmly stay planted on his team LOL not that there are plenty of hotties to go around in this story. A Clan is a seriously large family without everyone being blood related. Rebecca is probably my favorite character though. Her and maybe Kallan and Jared. Seamus is The Lord of the Manor without being king, so I really enjoyed his interactions. And I also really enjoyed that they have no judgement with Decisions that need to be made. That’s a good family to be in LoL

    I will say that this is definitely an adult story, not just for the romance side, but for some things that occur. I will however contradict that statement by saying its such and interesting story I want everyone to try it out. It’s so unusual to have almost no taboos in a culture that it makes me want to rethink some of my choices hahahaha I will definitely be continuing this series as I really like so many things about it! A really good 4 PAWS from me!! Now go read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1