Customer Reviews for

The Summer Girls

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Exactly how long do we have to wait for the next book in this t


    Exactly how long do we have to wait for the next book in this trilogy?
    The Summer Girls was such an enjoyable read, Mary Alice has a way of pulling you into a story like no other!! I just loved it!!

    In this story we are introduced to Marietta "Mamaw" Muir and her three Granddaughters, "the Summer girls" , Carson, Harper , Eudora and her son Nate.
    It's a story about love and forgiveness, learning to put the past behind you and facing your demons. I love how Mary Alice developed all the characters in this book and so look forward to their continuing story in the next two books of this trilogy!

    Mary Alice brings South Carolina's Lowcountry alive with her descriptive prose and always gives her readers such valuable lessons on whatever topic she is writing about be it sea turtles, butterflies or as in this story dolphins! She is one writer that truly does her homework and researches her topic well!!

    Get comfy in your favorite chair and enjoy your visit to "Sea Breeze", you won't be disappointed!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Mary Alice Monroe has done it again! She has written a book tha

    Mary Alice Monroe has done it again! She has written a book that entertains, educates, and inspires. You are immediately taken in by the characters and can't wait to find out more about them. The characters are so well presented you immediately feel as if you know them personally. Then to have the dolphin become so involved, and being able to learn more about a dolphin's ways just adds to the charm of the book. I am so glad there will be two more books in this series, because one is not enough. This book is highly recommended for all to read, as it makes one realize how important family relationships are and how marvelous all species are and how we are all connected.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    I loved everything about this book. The family relationships,

    I loved everything about this book. The family relationships, the local color, the behavior of dolphins, etc., etc. Good story..... I also appreciated the fact that every other paragraph didn't use a four letter word. MAM's books leave me with a feeling of actually spending time in the low country.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    A Story of Forgiveness---after years of Secrets, Silence, Enabling

    A beautifully written novel set in the Low Country of SC of three half-sisters (Carson, Harper, and Dora) finding their way back to one another for the summer at coastal Sea Breeze on Sullivan’s Island, with the help of their loving and aging grandmother, Mamaw. (love her)!. The one link is the deceased son/father, Parker, an alcoholic whose actions still affect the lives of all today.

    I enjoyed the characterization of the three different girls (Southern-Belle, LA, NY)--the paths their career and lives have taken, due to their past and father’s mistakes. (I relate most to Carson). She was the strongest---one with most of the problems, challenges, and learned to face them head-on, with the most growth.

    Brilliantly intertwined were real subjects of autism (Nate), alcoholism, enabling, abandonment, environmental issues, and the loveable and intriguing dolphins. The book included insightful research and education within this ecological setting. A warming story of nature and the human heart.

    A huge fan of Mary Alice Monroe, she has a way of digging into the complexity of human relationships. I look forward to the trilogy and hearing more about Blake/Carson, Nate/Dora, Harper/mother, and the warm and funny women relationship between Mamaw/Lucille (those two are quite the pair)--enjoy their banter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2013

    Excellent Summer Read!This is definitely a perfect beach read!!

    Excellent Summer Read!This is definitely a perfect beach read!! I am usually a fast reader, but with this book, I took my time. I finished this book in about a week, and that’s pretty slow for me. Had I known BEFORE reading this book, that is was the first in a trilogy, I would have devoured it!! I just fell in love with the characters, each flawed, each with their own scars and stories, but all connected through the power of family. Mamaw is celebrating her 80th birthday, and her one wish is to bring 3 sisters together before she dies. While Mamaw is far from being on death’s door, she is quite passionate about seeing her granddaughters reconnect and share the sisterly bonds they held so tightly when they were younger.

    I loved all the different challenges these girls faced, because of the realism behind them all. Dora is the oldest, and is going through a divorce. She is the mom of an autistic son, and she is overwhelmed with the task of creating some normalcy for her son. Carson is the beauty, the sun bather, the one who takes risks and jumps with both feet in the water. She is also unemployed, single, and grappling with the challenges of trying to be financially secure and find her place in the world. Harper is the shy beauty, who is personal assistant to her narcissistic mother, and has been the least involved in the Muir family. With their own set of issues, they somehow find ways to come together and fulfill their Mamaw’s wish of spending the entire summer at Sea Breeze.

    The only downside to this book was that I felt the author really left me hanging. There wasn’t much resolve to some of the issues they all came with, but I’m okay with that!! Why??? Because it is the FIRST in a trilogy, and Mary Alice Monroe worked her magic…making me want more!! And, perhaps for Nate (and anyone else that loves dolphins), there is a lot of information about them at the end of the book!-booksintheburbs

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Autism, Beach, Challenges and Dolphins this new book by Mary Ali

    Autism, Beach, Challenges and Dolphins this new book by Mary Alice Monroe has it all!
    Just like the three sisters and their Mamaw in this book, you will laugh, cry, and think about what really matter in life. Of course one of the biggest ones being the love of family. Each woman faces their own challenges. The women and the challenges are different as night and day. However, one thing ties them all together painfully uncovering family secrets and problems left behind by a deceased alcholic family member. But the saddest part of this book was when i realized I was on the last page. This is the first in a triology and already can not wait to read the second! Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2013

    With great restraint, I was able to make my reading of The Summe

    With great restraint, I was able to make my reading of The Summer Girls last over the weekend. This had nothing to do with how good the book was, only that I didn't want to leave the story, and Sullivan's Island so soon.
    That is how it is with any book by Mary Alice Monroe. From the moment you start to read, you become one with the characters and their families, and their home becomes your home. Home, in The SummerGirls, is Sea Breeze, a house on Sullivan's Island, SC. It is here that Mamaw has decided to call her three granddaughters back for a birthday celebration-with a twist. She is hoping to use the promise of her treasures to convince them to spend the summer and reconnect. Like many wise grandmothers, Mamaw knows these half-sisters, who have had so little time together in recent years, need to find out how much being a family can mean to them. 
    They are so different, but yet have a few similarities, and each of them needs this time away to re-evaluate where their life is heading. It is exciting to read as they start remembering their days together as children on the island.
    Mary Alice Monroe has written about many environmental issues and endangered species in the past-sea turtles, sweetgrass, birds of prey and the Monarch Butterfly to name a few. In this book, she educates the reader about the wild Bottlenose Dolphin that lives in our Atlantic Oceans. You will learn about the things that threaten it, and also the agencies that protect it and the facilities that rehabilitate the injured ones. 
    I know I will be thinking of all the characters in this book for quite awhile. After all, they are a part of me now. It is going to be a long year before the second book in this trilogy comes out! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    I am now dolphin smart! I will share my knowledge about dolphin

    I am now dolphin smart! I will share my knowledge about dolphins after finishing this enchanting story of the heart! I am always inspired by the nature of MAM's novels and dolphins are my favorite sea creature! When I read the teaser, I was enthusiastic about learning the personality and character of each sister. "The Summer Girls" is so much more! I think we can all see a part of ourselves in each girl. They are now my friends! Lucille is also so important to the family. "Mamaw felt a rush of love for her, thinking how those hands formed the bedrock of her world." Mamaw could see herself through Carson because of their ability to be strong in a heartbreaking world. "Mamaw looked into Carson's eyes and thanked her, As she spoke the words, she wondered at the perspicacity of the woman who could capture glimpses of someone's soul." The calming effect of the life of the ocean is well illustrated in "The Summer Girls." I love this quote, "The tides breathed in and out of the wetlands, their rhythms as complex and interconnected as the veins in her body." I have chosen many quotes that touch my soul and I will finish with my favorite..."She put her hand in the water and let it drag in the wake. She felt its coolness and felt connected to this water and everything in it. She gazed up into the infinite sky and felt connected to the birds of the air, the clouds, the grass that surrounded her, and creatures of the sea. She felt this in her deepest nature. She was part of something so much bigger that herself. And this realization simultaneously made her feel more vulnerable and stronger that she ever had before." "The Summer Girls" will touch your heart and soul! You will want to read all of Mary Alice Monroe's novels if you haven't already! I am so looking forward to the next MAM novel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I read The Summer Girls this week and at the end of the book, I

    I read The Summer Girls this week and at the end of the book, I wanted to know more! I had been looking forward to reading the most recent book by Mary Alice Monroe and this one did not disappoint. As I read I could almost sense the sun on my shoulders, the sea spray upon my face, the smell of the sea grass, and the feel of the sand on my feet....the Carolina beach!

    The author has written with a depth of understanding about the emotions of love and longing for family acceptance in a dysfunctional setting. The family members are not presented as being perfect, they each have problems they must come to terms with and make serious decisions. The family dynamic is compounded by the troubles regarding growing up with an alcoholic father, either dependent upon or absent from the lives of Dora, Carson, and Harper. Over the course of years Mamaw’s ‘Summer Girls’ deal with fragile feelings, misunderstood actions, and the possibility of a genetic factor which will affect each of them personally.

    The grandmother wants to see the girls weave a bond of sisterhood within their lives before the girls grow older. She also has some secrets which must be revealed and confronted. The girls experience a wary acceptance of each other as they remember childhood laughter, emotional hurt and resentments of feeling rejected during their past years. As the story unfolds for the girls and Mamaw, I found myself drawn to the emerging strengths of Dora, Carson, and Harper.

    The storyline also addresses the possible consequences of our actions due to our love for the mammals of the sea, especially the dolphins. Now when I vacation in the lowcountry and the beach towns, I will be more aware of the results of trying to become too close to the dolphins. There are some heartrending scenes in the book which will give insight to crossing boundaries with wild nature even when we think we are helping. The relationship between little Nate and Delphine is a prime example of how our very best of intentions can go extremely awry.

    There are layers to the book which make this story more than a ‘chic lit’ beach read for this summer. The different levels of family interaction and responses during tragedy and in times of joy are heartfelt. I enjoyed the book and anxiously wait to read more about this family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2014

    One of the best books I have read in a long time.  Couldn't put

    One of the best books I have read in a long time.  Couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2014

    Can't wait to read more of this author's book. GREAT !

    Can't wait to read more of this author's book. GREAT !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2014

    Enjoyable summer read

    This was a good story. I especially liked learning about the dolphin. I would recommend the story and I look forward to reading the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2014

    Great reading

    I really liked this book. Made me wish that I had a close relationship with some of my sisters. Can't wait to read more of this author's book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    Game Guide and co.

    We walk in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    Crisk

    "I mean...i combined my names." She grins.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    Vynx

    Hi.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Firework

    Looks at Vynx "Hi!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    Loved the book

    This was a nice story which brought pleasant memories back to me of e special time I spent with my grandmother during the summer..light read but had some interesting tangles. Whereare the other books.? Itleft me with wanting to hear more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Another Monroe Winner

    I love all the Mary Alice Monroe books and this one was no disappointment. I'm glad that it's the first and that there will be a next one that I can be absorbed in. I just can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    Magical

    Another awesome story from Mary Alice Monroe. Her characters draw you in so that you hate to get to the last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3