Customer Reviews for

The Summer Prince

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    Alaya Dawn Johnson's "The Summer Prince" is a contempo

    Alaya Dawn Johnson's "The Summer Prince" is a contemporary work that evokes the quality of classic science fiction that the genre has lost in a quagmire of space operas and dystopic battle-royales. It posits a future that is easily imaginable given the state of contemporary technology and society, and explores the inherent dangers, not in technology itself, but in how humans might (mis)use it. Consequently it becomes a gripping analysis of human nature, life, power, and the sociopolitical workings of the world. A world that takes for granted the fluid nature of sexuality, explores the pitfalls of chasing immortality, assisted suicide, the convergence of ritual and technology, the balance of power and mutual disrespect between youth and extreme age-"Summer Prince" has it all.
    Yet at its heart, "Summer Prince" is the story of one girl's tumultuous journey towards maturity and her relationship with those she loves. June Costa is a girl with a mission, who wants to do what's right but is navigating the pitfalls and inherent narcissism that results from being a teenager. June is deeply reflective about the outside world, but is still learning how to be introspective. This allows her to grow. If Johnson hadn't written her questioning her own obsession with winning the Queen's Prize, it might have felt contrived: Her desire for the prize is completely irrational. But desire is irrational. June knows continuing to chase this prize after she's learned how corrupt the system is and her thirst for public recognition wanes, is illogical, but her inability to let go in spite of that is painfully realistic. Her relationship with her family and the slow revelation of the events surrounding her father's death are among the most compelling parts of the novel. Her friendship with Gil is delightfully deep. Though they drift apart whenever they get caught up in their own personal nonsense, they always find their way back to each other. June's growing friendship with Enki is also strong, and despite June's descriptions of how he affects her physically, feels more like an intellectual love affair than a romance. They understand each other on a fundamental, even primal level, akin to two missiles on an inescapable collision course: When they hit the explosion will change the world.
    Reviews describe June’s relationship with Gil and Enki as a love triangle, yet calling it such feels reductive. While it might have been more interesting if sex hadn't entered into the equation on the Enki/June side, Johnson creates a complex, layered and deeply nuanced emotional relationship between these three characters that is immensely compelling. The love that holds it together is varied, allowing the novel to explore different kinds of love that are equally powerful and all-consuming. Johnson does not privilege any one variety of love over the others, though the Gil-June and June-Enki sides of the triangle are arguably more fully developed. June, the central and narrating character, is naturally more knowledgeable and concerned about her relationship with Gil and Enki than their relationship with each other. Still, Enki and Gil's love for one another captivates Palmares Tres and pervades the story.
    Johnson's colorful and multi-dimensional cast of supporting characters, intriguing narrative structure, and vivid prose complete a novel that is as evocative (perhaps even provocative) as it is captivating. This is without a doubt her best novel to date.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    To the girl/guy below me

    rule #1: ALWAYS find a reason. Drop you pen near him. Or as your walking by, "drop" your homework.
    rule #2: Friend his friends. Then, if he wants to hang with them he'll hang with you.
    rule #3: Be your-self!!!
    MOST IMPORTANT RULE!!!!! If your under 14 or 15, DON'T DATE!!! YOUNG GUYS ARE IMMATURE AND OLDER GUYS WILL TRY TO TAKE ADVANTAGE OF YOUR EMOTIONS!!!
    Hope i could help. Xoxo OZ B

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2014

    First and foremost, I should mention I did not finish this book.

    First and foremost, I should mention I did not finish this book. I do not think it is fair to rate a book based on number of stars, when I did not in fact finish it, so unless I am forced to, this review is unrated.

    I wasnt able to finish the book because I was disappointed in the book. I must admit, I have a bias. I dont admit to know Brazilian culture 100%. But I am learning,through having Brazilian friends, learning more about Brazilian culture through the experiences of Brazilian women, and just through my own personal experiences being Afro-Latina, and wishing to know more about the experiences of being Afro-Latina outside of my own Afro-Cuban heritage.

    I love the author, I love that she dares to write women of color, when so many things out there dare to silence the voices of women of color in SFF. But I found this story rather problematic in many ways. I dont find that the portrayal of Brazilian culture is accurate, and while it's the author's interpretation, it may offend a person of Brazilian descent for a number of reasons.

    I did like a few things. But the things that I liked, were often countered with things I did not like.

    I loved the idea of the world building. I should probably say, I liked that someone thought Latino culture was interesting enough to let it shine through the future, where it is often left out, particularly in SFF. At times Im not sure how non-Latinos view the various cultures of South American, Caribbean, Central American, and various parts of the world that speak Portuguese and Spanish as a first or second language(Macau, Mozambique, Angola, and Equatorial Guinea to name a few). They almost never feature people who are latino, which is insane, considering the growing population. The idea of this matriarchal society of "Aunties" and "Queens" loosely based on the Candomble religion, is definitely an eye catcher. But it is met with a dangerously confusing, and hardly explained culture to why men are choosen as "Summer Kings" to be sacrificed at the end of the year.

    Apparently men destroyed the world, with it's nuclear weapons and what not. But it never stops the story to explain exactly why young men are sacrificed, or what it's supposed to signify. Is it to show the humility of man? Is it to make sure men know their place? None of these questions get answered throughout the course of the story.

    I also loved the cover, but it is completely misleading. One would insinuate an Afro-Brazilian with "natural" hair from it's cover. But the main character "June" is actually described as pale skinned. And then she's not. And then she is again. I had no real sense of what June looked like outside of her Afro and fair skin. But she seemed like a "morena", or a mix of "branca" and "morena clara."

    I would have been okay with June not being Afro-Latina, but their society nearly omitted black people. Apparently you went through specific modifications(which there are also many cosmetic procedures that they dont explain)to prevent having black children. Perhaps had I finished the book, I would've found some reason why and how they benefitted from having a homogenous society, but alas, it was just another way to make Afro-Latinas like myself more invisible to the media. I felt as though this book could have really been an eye opener to let people know Latino is not a homogenous culture. Latino comes, Black, White, Asian, South Asian, Western Asian, nearly all of the above. If everyone looks the same what is the point of mixing the African culture into the mix.

    Which lead to my next issue. The chosen Summer King Enki. He was a Black Brazilian, with dreadlocks, and exceedingly handsome. But his presence in the book is often exoticized so much, I found him unlikeable. I liked him, and wanted to, but the writing suggested everything interesting about him was due to him being Black, and because there were no other Black people, many felt this was an ok way of thinking. I liked him, and I'll shot this out. He was a Capoeira practitioner, which I loved! But the author spent too much time telling me he was black, and not enough time making him a great character.

    The pacing and flow of the story are often slowed down due to the prose. I may be wrong, and I admit to making an educated guess here. But having a Brazilian friend, whom I speak with regularly, it seems as though the author wrote the dialogue to match how things would be said or spoken if they were in the Portuguese language. I actually didnt dislike that. I found it confusing, and while it threw off the pacing for me, it made them appear more elegant than mere teenagers.

    I didn't finish the book, so I cant judge the predictability of the story, or any conflict that I may have missed. I still didn't know who the villain was by page 140, and the book is 288 pages long. I didn't know what the true conflict of the story was either. Overall, if I were judging the prose on how much I understood? I wouldn't have been able to, because it didn't have a great flow to it, and many times you find yourself lost in description.

    Diversity? I don't know how to judge this. On one hand, by default every single character is Latino. But the story chooses to omit anything that isnt "pardo" a term many Brazilians already identify with. I don't however find the society full of brown people. It was seldom when a character was described as such, and many of the main characters appeared to have lighter features, finer hair, and pretty much everything that's wrong with the current state of Latino culture in the first place.

    I guess I assumed that the world would be created to improve the current state of colorism many Latinos already face or ignore. What is the point of a Brazil that kind of already exists? Because it's futuristic? Perhaps if I knew nothing about Brazil, I could have enjoyed many of the things I found fault with, but I just could not.

    They also had a pan-sexual society, which I thought was cool. They didn't explain why they had one, but I didn't really need it explained to me. It's somewhat Queer friendly. Mainly because there aren't any labels to be held to, and you are not judged for dating or marrying the same sex. And while I want to praise the sexuality in the book, I cant, because it insinuates Brazilians to be more casual than they are when it comes to sexuality. Many already view Brazilians as hyper sexual. I did not think it showed sexuality in a positive light, but I like that it was, at the very least attempted.

    Character names? I found them to be unique. Mainly because in Brazilian culture, many choose to give biblical names. My friend, she and all her sisters are named Maria. But it is customary to go by a middle name. Unique names she claims one would actually get made fun of for, so it is interesting that the author didnt go that route. The Summer Prince's title is also misleading. There are no "Summer Prince's." Only "Moon Princes" and "Summer Kings." Which also wasnt explained . But I only read half the book, so maybe it would've been explained if I hadnt stopped reading.

    Overall, I would read from this author again. Her views on diversity were what attracted me to her author brand. I just didn't connect with this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    Hawkdive's Autobiography

    Gender: &male tom
    <p>
    Rank: Is hoping to be deputy
    <p>
    Age: Old enough
    <p>
    Persona: meet him
    <p>
    Appearance: muscular, brown fur, amber eyes,
    <p>
    History: Ask him
    <p>
    Kin: Pricklepaw is his only known relative. His sister.
    <p>
    Crush: ... maybe Brindlestar
    <p>
    Mate: nope
    <p>
    Kits: nope
    <p>
    Other: ask he probably wont bite your head off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    DawnClan Bios

    Post your bio here!
    <p>
    Name: BrindleStar
    <br>
    Gender: &female
    <br>
    Rank: Leader
    <br>
    Lives Left: 9/9
    <br>
    Crush: None
    <br>
    Mate: None
    <br>
    Kits: None
    <br>
    Looks: BrindleStar is a beautiful, tawny-pelted she-cat. She is a tabby, and has white paws. Her eyes are bright blue.
    <br>
    Persona: Meet Her
    <br>
    Other: Ask!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I¿ve been really interested in The Summer Prince by author Alaya

    I’ve been really interested in The Summer Prince by author Alaya Dawn Johnson ever since I first saw the gorgeous cover. After reading the description I needed to find out what the novel held in its contents. Honestly, The Summer Prince is a very original read and unlike anything else I’ve ever read before. Sci-fi, beautiful Brazil and a star-crossed romance that is doomed from the start? Count me in.

    The Summer Prince is set in a futuristic Brazil, main character June Costa finds herself fighting to get the Queen’s Award and prove herself to be the Best Artist in Palmares Tres with the help of the newly made Summer King, Enki. Enki himself is an artist who uses himself as his art, something that gives June and him something to be able to relate to—besides June’s best friend Gil; a young man who has fallen in love with Enki.

    Their year together leaves June and Enki growing closer together. While the two work together to find a way to create the perfect masterpiece that will win June the Queen’s Award they also begin to grow closer to each other. June, despite herself, falls in love with Enki. Enki who claims to love the whole world is also falling for June, but his illegal mods make it impossible for him to feel much of anything. The only problem with their newfound romance is that when Enki’s term as Summer King comes to an end he will be killed so that a new Summer King and a new Queen for Palmares Tres, can be elected.

    Like I said before The Summer Prince is unlike anything you’ll ever read. The first thing that I absolutely need to mention is the setting. It’s beautiful to imagine. Johnson does an amazing job with her descriptors when it comes to Palmares Tres. It’s described as this beautiful futuristic paradise where people brought up in the better part of the city have great lives, whereas the people who live in the lower class area of the city just barely get by. People like the newly elected Summer King, Enki. If you’re looking for a story where your imagination gets to run wild, The Summer Prince is definitely the novel for you.

    In The Summer Prince the characters were very interesting as well as the really cool culture, but at the end of the day I felt really distant from the entire cast of characters. Although it’s told in the first person, I found it very difficult to get in touch with the main character June. For a girl who is supposed to be a teenager she seemed way to mature and also a character that is hard to relate to. She had a lot of qualities that made her seem almost perfect except for a few things that stick out like a sore thumb. The same goes for most of the cast however I will say that Enki was my favorite character in the novel.

    The Summer Prince is a novel that is packed with descriptions and details. This did clash with the pacing of the novel and getting in touch with characters. While the writing was artistic I would also find my mind wandering off onto the topic of something random and unrelated to the book. There is also the topic of confusion, there were so many things that could have been explained better and could have clarified things that were hard to understand to begin with. The big thing I wanted to know, but it never really got explained is this: Is everybody in Palmares Tres bisexual?

    The Summer Prince was definitely a read that I had fun with. About a quarter of the way through I had a hunch about how the novel would end and was correct about it (yay!). Personally I think that what’s most fun about reading this novel is the imagination involved with causing the novel to play out like a movie in your head. Totally awesomesauce.

    The Summer Prince is a novel that some people might want to be cautious about while reading, there is a lot of sex and sexual innuendos used in the novel. While it isn’t anything too graphic it is something that some readers may get offended by, I advise some discretion to any readers who take that type of stuff.

    I’d recommend The Summer Prince to readers who are fans of romance, sci-fi and readers who are looking for a story that focuses on art and love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Gn n

    This was SUPER AND I MEAN SUPER GREAT BOOK U GOT TO GET IT

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1