Customer Reviews for

The Summer of Letting Go

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 4, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    Every once in awhile you find an author who thinks about the wor

    Every once in awhile you find an author who thinks about the world in the same "strange way" that you do and it makes you feel less lonely. The first time that ever happened to me was when I was in the 10th grade and I read Lois Lowry's THE GIVER for the first time. I hadn't realized that there was someone else who wanted answers to the same kind of questions that churned my soul. Since then I've been blessed to find more and more writers who make me feel as if my convoluted thoughts are a beautiful thing. After reading Polisner's THE SUMMER OF LETTING GO, I've added another name to the list of people I feel a deep connection to.




    THE SUMMER OF LETTING GO is a tapestry of truths and emotions. It's a love letter to those of us who find it hard to forgive ourselves for being human. It's about loss and discovery and maybe more than anything else, it's about perspective and forgiveness. Through the life of Frankie, we learn that every day we have the opportunity to create the new person we'll get to be tomorrow. 




    Don't let this beautiful book pass you by. <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2014

    This is an amazing and touching book. I absolutely loved this fr

    This is an amazing and touching book. I absolutely loved this from beginning to end. This book is full of growth, heartbreak, emotion, love, forgiveness and understanding. You will quickly connect with the characters in the book and find yourself filled with emotion as you take this life journey with them all. This book was given to me for an honest review and I am greatfull for the opportunity. This is truly a must read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2014

    Easy to read book and wonderfully put together plot kept me raci

    Easy to read book and wonderfully put together plot kept me racing through it for the lovely ending. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2014

    Intriguing story. Great plot. Reading again to see if I missed a

    Intriguing story. Great plot. Reading again to see if I missed anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Gae Posner has truly crafted a novel which relates to teenagers

    Gae Posner has truly crafted a novel which relates to teenagers today. Despite some of the exceptional circumstances, every person can find some connection to the world of Frankie. With multiple facets to the story describing the importance of relationships, whether they be familial of with friends, and the importance of learning to forgive yourself and others, Gae Posner has crafted a story that is a must read for this summer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    One of the things that most parents lay awake at night fearing,

    One of the things that most parents lay awake at night fearing, is that inevitable moment when your child will face the kind of loss that could break even an adult. You hope, of course, that your child never has to face those kinds of things.

    I can remember the first time I realized that my dad's two younger brothers had died in a car crash when he was sixteen. My dad was speaking about it to a large group of people and broke down in tears. I was sixteen, myself, at the time, and I can remember thinking, "wow, he's still really broken up about it. Hasn't he, like, dealt yet?"

    Of course, some things are very hard to deal with. So I approached this book with a fair amount of trepidation- both because as a parent, I resist the idea of children suffering, and because watching my own father deal with his childhood suffering, I still feel a bit of woundedness for his sake. (I learned to feel wounded once I got over being a self-involved brat of a teen- something that is very hard to do.)

    The Summer of Letting Go starts several summers after the protagonist, Frankie (sometimes known as "beans") loses her brother to drowning. Frankie is still dealing with a lot of heaviness that she doesn't know how to carry, but when she finds herself wanting to be strong for a young boy who seems like the shadow of her brother, she learns that she is far more capable than she'd allowed herself to believe.

    It's a story about love, about loss, about fear and uncertainty, but most of all about letting go of pain enough to hold on to faith. I don't want to write too much more because I would hate to spoil the simple beauty of it. Suffice it to say I found myself holding my breath with Frankie many times, I found my heart absolutely broken in the most piercing and lovely ways, and at the end of the book I felt the pounding of hope in my chest and it was such a delicious relief.

    Throughout the book there is this line, "even the ocean cannot drown our souls." I have a tattoo of the Latin word for "mercy" on my back, but I'm tempted to add that line to it.

    So poignant, beautiful, understated and absolutely moving.

    Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Francesca blames herself for her brother Simon's death. She was

    Francesca blames herself for her brother Simon's death. She was supposed to be watching him the day he drowns, and ever since, her family has completely splintered. Everyone fell apart and they did so in different directions.

    And when she meets a little boy, Frankie Sky, and becomes his babysitter, her life turns around. She won't tell anyone because she knows how ridiculous it sounds but she thinks that maybe Frankie Sky has a little bit of her brother's soul. The more she researches reincarnation, the more possible it seems.

    But as interesting as that is, it isn't the point of the story.

    The point is how Francesca (or Beans, as she is known to her family, best friend and beloved Frankie Sky) learns how to stop blaming herself for what happened to her brother, as well as the relationship she forges with Frankie Sky. And oh, how I love Frankie Sky. That little boy is pure magic and every scene with him was an absolute delight.

    This entire book was an absolute delight.

    I cannot possibly say enough good things about this book, so I will just say this: buy it now. Buy it from Amazon or Barnes & Noble or whatever bookstore you frequent. Buy a copy for a friend, so you have someone to discuss it with. (Or talk about it with me; I'd love that.) This makes an excellent present, as well. Do with that information as you will.

    Highly, highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    Exceptional story about a teenager trying to work out adult issu

    Exceptional story about a teenager trying to work out adult issues in a world that seems cold and cruel to her. The plot is rich in emotion and is a great read not only for teenagers but adults. I found it a great book to discuss with my teenager at dinner time. It's a great way to bond in this chaotic world, too. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    I love this book. Sooo good and magical. Recommend.

    I love this book. Sooo good and magical. Recommend.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1