Customer Reviews for

The Sun Trail (Warriors: Dawn of the Clans Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 962 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(826)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

70 out of 102 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!

YES! Finely its on the nook!! It will be so cool to see how the clans were first made and maybe even how the cat first got together! I also really like the cat on the cover! He reminds me of firestar only more of a red-ish-brown.

posted by 10569454 on September 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Review on "Warriors: The Sun Trail"

I just finished reading The Sun Trail, and have to say I am somewhat impressed. After the completely sickening end to Omen of the Stars, I was reluctant to pick up the next Warriors book, thinking that it might be just as bad. But for some odd reason or another, I f...
I just finished reading The Sun Trail, and have to say I am somewhat impressed. After the completely sickening end to Omen of the Stars, I was reluctant to pick up the next Warriors book, thinking that it might be just as bad. But for some odd reason or another, I found myself picking up The Sun Trail and settling down to read. Definetely not the best Warriors book I've ever read, but not as terrible as the Omen of the Stars series—I mean, what was the POINT of six poorly written books for a very "undramatic" ending? What a waste of time and money!! I am pleased to say that The Sun Trail was worth it, and a fairly good read.
The Sun Trail takes place long before the events in Into the Wild, the first Warriors book. So you could start here without getting confused!! A Tribe of wild cats live in the mountains, where prey is scarce, and the cold winters make survival hard. When their leader, an eldely shecat named Stoneteller, or Half Moon, recieves a strange sign, some of the Tribe cats belive that food and survival may be easier elsewhere. A tomcat named Gray Wing is skeptical about leaving, but when his half-brother Jagged Peak runs away, he is given no choice but to leave and forge a home someplace else.
The cats face many trials on their way there, including deaths of several members. When they arrive at the "end of the sun trail" they are faced with more problems—hostile "rouges" and other cats that are reluctant to share the space. The fighting amonst the cats eventually leads up to a "final battle" according to "Secrets of the Clans", where the cats join together, led by the strongest cats after the battle—Thunder, Wind, Shadow, River, and Sky—to form "Clans".
The Sun Trail was filled with lots of action, and got very fast-paced towards the end. But in the beginning of the book, it was rather slow. I was confused by all of the cats, and had trouble adapting to all of their names, because apart from Half Moon and Lion's Roar, I had no clue who any of them were. As the book progressed, I began to piece things together, and realized that there are lots of "original" Clan cats here—such as Wind(star) and Gorse(tail), the first leader and deputy of WindClan, Tall Shadow (possibly Shadowstar, first ShadowClan leader), Dappledpelt (first RiverClan medicine cat), and Cloudspots (first ThunderClan med cat). Some of the characters I didn't really like either, such as Clear Sky, Jagged Peak, Dewy Leaf, Moon Shadow, and especially Storm. I can't understand why Gray Wing liked her so much, when Turtle Tail was a much nicer cat!!
Also, we didn't have that much of a chance to get "attatched" to the characters before they died, so it really wasn't that sad to me, because I didn't really have any feelings for those cats. I hope that in the next book, Thunder Rising, the Erins will emphasis more on their characters. I also can't wait until the "final battle", which I hope is in the next book. I'd also like to hear more about how the first Clans were organized, later in the series.
All in all, fairly decent, and I think The Sun Trail deserves it's three stars. If you, too, were disapointed by Omen of the Stars, it might be worth your while to give Dawn of the Clans a fair chance. I hope this review was helpful!!
–LG

posted by Anonymous on May 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 826 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 42
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Join

    I am looking for a clan and a name i am a pure white she cat with blue eyes.
    So um please help

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    F

    IS THIS A GOOD BOOK??????? SHOULD I GET IT????????? ALSO VOTE NOW ON KIDDY 1st RESULT ABOUT WHAT THE BEST WARRIOR BOOK!!!!!!!!
    -Iceclaw

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Death Eater RP

    At 'Soul'. You can be a character from the show or make up a character. Maka and Soul from the show are taken, all others still open. P.S. If you want to watch the show, It's on Netflix. (This better post. Post!)

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Warriors

    OMG! They are finnaly on the nook! These books are amazing! I wonder how good this will be to me,my sister,and my other sister. Our nooks are connected and we all like animals, me expeshaly, but mostly types of cats. This book will be awsome.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Did it work?

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Join EmberClan

    Ar Emberclan res 2 to post your bio.
    Needs deputy warriors apprentices kits queens an medcats.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    LEAFCLAN

    I am Rainbowstar of LeafClan. We are new Clan and need warriorcats. We need a deputy. A medicine cat. Queens. Apprentices. Kits. If you wish to join) please leave your name, coloration, gender and role request. THANK YOU!!!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Ferntail

    A light brown she-cat padded in. Casting her amber gaze around, she yowled: "I am Ferntail, deputy of Braveclan. Our leader is Thunderstar. We are in need of loyal warriors. We need warriors that will post frequently, and warriors who are not totally unrealistic. If you are seeking to join a clan just like Erin Hunter's, with real warrior ceremonies, join Braveclan at "Poppins" first BOOK result!" Ferntail closed her jaws with a snap. With a rwitch of her tail, she padded back to Braveclan.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    S

    Join us in tree clan . We live in a tree and eat fire ants . Our leader is leafstar and we need a deputy . Leafstar is a she cat with a brown gray pelt :)

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    I need a clan.

    Are there any clans i can join? My name is Tigerfang. I have a mate named Icetail. We were exciled from our clan for no reason. We went on a border portal and when we got back our leader, Fangstar said get out of my clan now!!!! Or die. So we did. Now we are looking for a clan. We have been looking for a clan for 12 moons. And did i metion that my mate has kits? Please accapct us in your clan. We would really like that.


    ~ Tigerfang and Icetil

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    YESSSS

    I cant believe they're coming out with this! Cant wait. RIVERSTAR

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Join skyclan

    At skies all reult

    2 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Fangtail

    After chainsg Magicleaf through the forest he finally pins her down again. "Time to make kits!" He purrs. He gently slides his tip into her hole. He barely slides the rest in when suddenly he rams it all the way down. Magicleaf yowls and Fangtail licks her mouth. He brings his co.ck out a little and rams it in again. He does it over and over and over. Magicleaf finally stops yowling and she is purring now. He hu.mps her fast and hard over an over again. Suddenly, Fangtail is about to c.um. "Im gonna c.um into you so we can make more kits baby." He purrs. Magicleaf smiles in agreement. He shoots his cum into Magicleaf's vag..ina. this is the best thing Fangtail has ever felt. The two cats have s.ex for two hours straight. The next week, Magicleaf is pre.gna.nt.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Anoymus

    CHANGES TO TREECLAN
    MAIN PART OF CAMP1-3
    FRESHKILL PILE4
    BIO5
    APPRENTICE DEN6
    WARRIOR DEN7
    NURSERY8
    ELDERS DEN9
    LEADERS DEN10
    MEDICINE CAT DEN11
    FOREST12
    LAKE13
    MOONSTONE14
    Tawnystar

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Its here

    erin hunter is coming out with a third book for dawn of the clans!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Love the book

    I love this book. It is about Half Moon (she is in the books long shadows and sign of the moon) seing a sign to have some cats leave the cave so no more cats will starve. Clear Sky, Thenbrother of Gray w,Wing, who is the main cat, leaves. Gray Wing stays back zte the cave but myst leave. Gray Wing and Jagged Peak, his little brother, search for the traveling cats,and look for a new home. But the quest is harder then it seems, they have to learn to deal eith the cats that lived there, and Gray Wing must learn Clear Skys ambuntion to evil. Can Gray Wing leave or learn to face the danger in his new home.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Sage

    She returned with a bundle a herbs in her jaws, her pelt wet from dew drops off the grass. "Here." She said softly, nudging a poppyseed toward him. "Eat this."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Join RushClan ate hea res.1. Med.cat Flamepelt. Med.cat aprentic

    Join RushClan ate hea res.1. Med.cat Flamepelt. Med.cat aprentice Creampaw. And Im leader Rushstar. :) Thank you (( for NOOK RPers only))

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Gathering of ALL CLANS!!!

    All cats in clans are to go to gather one today and tommorrow. We serioisly need to discuss how many clans there should be. Mossshadow.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    I need...

    I need somebody to rp my kits;
    Willowkit is a blue shekit.
    Shrewkit is a brown tom.
    Featherkit is a white shekit with spots
    Birchkit is a white tabby shekit.
    Mallowkit is the smallest, a fluffy white shekit.
    Kestrelkit is a ginger shekit.
    And finally, Aquakit is a blue tabby shekit.

    Rp them at &hearts result one. Ask Lilyfeather.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 826 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 42