Customer Reviews for

The Sun Trail (Warriors: Dawn of the Clans Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 962 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(826)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

70 out of 102 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!

YES! Finely its on the nook!! It will be so cool to see how the clans were first made and maybe even how the cat first got together! I also really like the cat on the cover! He reminds me of firestar only more of a red-ish-brown.

posted by 10569454 on September 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Review on "Warriors: The Sun Trail"

I just finished reading The Sun Trail, and have to say I am somewhat impressed. After the completely sickening end to Omen of the Stars, I was reluctant to pick up the next Warriors book, thinking that it might be just as bad. But for some odd reason or another, I f...
I just finished reading The Sun Trail, and have to say I am somewhat impressed. After the completely sickening end to Omen of the Stars, I was reluctant to pick up the next Warriors book, thinking that it might be just as bad. But for some odd reason or another, I found myself picking up The Sun Trail and settling down to read. Definetely not the best Warriors book I've ever read, but not as terrible as the Omen of the Stars series—I mean, what was the POINT of six poorly written books for a very "undramatic" ending? What a waste of time and money!! I am pleased to say that The Sun Trail was worth it, and a fairly good read.
The Sun Trail takes place long before the events in Into the Wild, the first Warriors book. So you could start here without getting confused!! A Tribe of wild cats live in the mountains, where prey is scarce, and the cold winters make survival hard. When their leader, an eldely shecat named Stoneteller, or Half Moon, recieves a strange sign, some of the Tribe cats belive that food and survival may be easier elsewhere. A tomcat named Gray Wing is skeptical about leaving, but when his half-brother Jagged Peak runs away, he is given no choice but to leave and forge a home someplace else.
The cats face many trials on their way there, including deaths of several members. When they arrive at the "end of the sun trail" they are faced with more problems—hostile "rouges" and other cats that are reluctant to share the space. The fighting amonst the cats eventually leads up to a "final battle" according to "Secrets of the Clans", where the cats join together, led by the strongest cats after the battle—Thunder, Wind, Shadow, River, and Sky—to form "Clans".
The Sun Trail was filled with lots of action, and got very fast-paced towards the end. But in the beginning of the book, it was rather slow. I was confused by all of the cats, and had trouble adapting to all of their names, because apart from Half Moon and Lion's Roar, I had no clue who any of them were. As the book progressed, I began to piece things together, and realized that there are lots of "original" Clan cats here—such as Wind(star) and Gorse(tail), the first leader and deputy of WindClan, Tall Shadow (possibly Shadowstar, first ShadowClan leader), Dappledpelt (first RiverClan medicine cat), and Cloudspots (first ThunderClan med cat). Some of the characters I didn't really like either, such as Clear Sky, Jagged Peak, Dewy Leaf, Moon Shadow, and especially Storm. I can't understand why Gray Wing liked her so much, when Turtle Tail was a much nicer cat!!
Also, we didn't have that much of a chance to get "attatched" to the characters before they died, so it really wasn't that sad to me, because I didn't really have any feelings for those cats. I hope that in the next book, Thunder Rising, the Erins will emphasis more on their characters. I also can't wait until the "final battle", which I hope is in the next book. I'd also like to hear more about how the first Clans were organized, later in the series.
All in all, fairly decent, and I think The Sun Trail deserves it's three stars. If you, too, were disapointed by Omen of the Stars, it might be worth your while to give Dawn of the Clans a fair chance. I hope this review was helpful!!
–LG

posted by Anonymous on May 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 962 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 49
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Read the book

    This a must read book! It connects with story and makes awesome story of its own and also it has 7 cat deaths, which tie with THE DARKEST HOUR! Read it now!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    The sun trail

    Great book about how the cats traveled from the mountains to the forest. They met the first cats who lived there. Hint: Cloud Spots and Dapple Pelt, two of the first medicine cats, are from the mountains. They know alot about herbs. Gray Wing, Jagged Peaks, Shaded Moss, Cloud Spots, Dapple Pelt,Moon Shadow, Quick Water, Clear Sky, Falling Feather, Hawk Swoop, and Bright Stream go on the journey to the forest. Bright Stream dies saving Gray Wing from an eagle.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Book

    Goood book

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    MUST HAVE NEXT BOOK!!!!!!!!

    Well I read this book and lets just say that Thunderstar is still a kit. THIS IS THE BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!! PLEASE WRITE MORE ERIN HUNTER OR WE WILL ALL DIE!!!!!! I died also when the Last Hope took her a LONG TIME. Please let Thunder Rising come out soon.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    I lobe warriors lol

    Ifinished all the books and thought I was done
    But I'm not!!!!!!!!!iwant to see how the clans were made and how sky clan gets banished!!!!! I hope.this.book is.good.like the rest
    Anyone who does not read warriors u have to read them!! I've gotton mu friend to!!!!! I want to lern about skystsr and thunder star and wind star and shadow star!!!!!Icant wait till the book comes out!!!!!!

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Looks great

    I have read all of erin hunters books and this one looks sooo good l am excited. Lol

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Join

    I am looking for a clan and a name i am a pure white she cat with blue eyes.
    So um please help

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    F

    IS THIS A GOOD BOOK??????? SHOULD I GET IT????????? ALSO VOTE NOW ON KIDDY 1st RESULT ABOUT WHAT THE BEST WARRIOR BOOK!!!!!!!!
    -Iceclaw

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Death Eater RP

    At 'Soul'. You can be a character from the show or make up a character. Maka and Soul from the show are taken, all others still open. P.S. If you want to watch the show, It's on Netflix. (This better post. Post!)

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    To Heatherwing (From Whitefoot)

    "Um... I think Greanleaf... Left..." ~Whitefoot (if yo need to talk to me, I'm at 'horse tails' with Horseclan.)

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    !

    This is a book review site not a play ground for children. I simply cannot believe adults act this way. You are all too silly to be believed!!! Acting like cats???? Jeeez!

    3 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Dumbass clan

    All annoying, role-playing, two year olds welcome, please join and mark yourself as an idiot for life.
    -dumbstar

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    An excellent book

    A prequel to the original Warriors series, this book seems to take the concept back to its roots. If you found Warriors: Into the Wild enjoyable and appropriate, The Sun Trail is right on par.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Warriors

    OMG! They are finnaly on the nook! These books are amazing! I wonder how good this will be to me,my sister,and my other sister. Our nooks are connected and we all like animals, me expeshaly, but mostly types of cats. This book will be awsome.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Did it work?

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Join EmberClan

    Ar Emberclan res 2 to post your bio.
    Needs deputy warriors apprentices kits queens an medcats.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    LEAFCLAN

    I am Rainbowstar of LeafClan. We are new Clan and need warriorcats. We need a deputy. A medicine cat. Queens. Apprentices. Kits. If you wish to join) please leave your name, coloration, gender and role request. THANK YOU!!!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Ferntail

    A light brown she-cat padded in. Casting her amber gaze around, she yowled: "I am Ferntail, deputy of Braveclan. Our leader is Thunderstar. We are in need of loyal warriors. We need warriors that will post frequently, and warriors who are not totally unrealistic. If you are seeking to join a clan just like Erin Hunter's, with real warrior ceremonies, join Braveclan at "Poppins" first BOOK result!" Ferntail closed her jaws with a snap. With a rwitch of her tail, she padded back to Braveclan.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Sick of grief!

    Ok so I get it. Stuff dies sometimes. Its sad when it was a known and more important cat. When an important cat dies, its sad! But when you have this happen over and over and bash your feelings and make you sad, it gets to be too much. Thats what this book is. Sadness. Erin Hunter is just laughing as you cry. She doesnt care. Shes just messing with your emotions. Read this book if you wanna be sad, get depressed, and wanna quit the series every few chapters. Erin overdid the grief in this book. I am done with this stupid series. Erin, stop making these books so depressing. Please.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    S

    Join us in tree clan . We live in a tree and eat fire ants . Our leader is leafstar and we need a deputy . Leafstar is a she cat with a brown gray pelt :)

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 962 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 49