Customer Reviews for

The Sun Trail (Warriors: Dawn of the Clans Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 961 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(823)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

70 out of 102 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!

YES! Finely its on the nook!! It will be so cool to see how the clans were first made and maybe even how the cat first got together! I also really like the cat on the cover! He reminds me of firestar only more of a red-ish-brown.

posted by 10569454 on September 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Review on "Warriors: The Sun Trail"

I just finished reading The Sun Trail, and have to say I am somewhat impressed. After the completely sickening end to Omen of the Stars, I was reluctant to pick up the next Warriors book, thinking that it might be just as bad. But for some odd reason or another, I f...
I just finished reading The Sun Trail, and have to say I am somewhat impressed. After the completely sickening end to Omen of the Stars, I was reluctant to pick up the next Warriors book, thinking that it might be just as bad. But for some odd reason or another, I found myself picking up The Sun Trail and settling down to read. Definetely not the best Warriors book I've ever read, but not as terrible as the Omen of the Stars series—I mean, what was the POINT of six poorly written books for a very "undramatic" ending? What a waste of time and money!! I am pleased to say that The Sun Trail was worth it, and a fairly good read.
The Sun Trail takes place long before the events in Into the Wild, the first Warriors book. So you could start here without getting confused!! A Tribe of wild cats live in the mountains, where prey is scarce, and the cold winters make survival hard. When their leader, an eldely shecat named Stoneteller, or Half Moon, recieves a strange sign, some of the Tribe cats belive that food and survival may be easier elsewhere. A tomcat named Gray Wing is skeptical about leaving, but when his half-brother Jagged Peak runs away, he is given no choice but to leave and forge a home someplace else.
The cats face many trials on their way there, including deaths of several members. When they arrive at the "end of the sun trail" they are faced with more problems—hostile "rouges" and other cats that are reluctant to share the space. The fighting amonst the cats eventually leads up to a "final battle" according to "Secrets of the Clans", where the cats join together, led by the strongest cats after the battle—Thunder, Wind, Shadow, River, and Sky—to form "Clans".
The Sun Trail was filled with lots of action, and got very fast-paced towards the end. But in the beginning of the book, it was rather slow. I was confused by all of the cats, and had trouble adapting to all of their names, because apart from Half Moon and Lion's Roar, I had no clue who any of them were. As the book progressed, I began to piece things together, and realized that there are lots of "original" Clan cats here—such as Wind(star) and Gorse(tail), the first leader and deputy of WindClan, Tall Shadow (possibly Shadowstar, first ShadowClan leader), Dappledpelt (first RiverClan medicine cat), and Cloudspots (first ThunderClan med cat). Some of the characters I didn't really like either, such as Clear Sky, Jagged Peak, Dewy Leaf, Moon Shadow, and especially Storm. I can't understand why Gray Wing liked her so much, when Turtle Tail was a much nicer cat!!
Also, we didn't have that much of a chance to get "attatched" to the characters before they died, so it really wasn't that sad to me, because I didn't really have any feelings for those cats. I hope that in the next book, Thunder Rising, the Erins will emphasis more on their characters. I also can't wait until the "final battle", which I hope is in the next book. I'd also like to hear more about how the first Clans were organized, later in the series.
All in all, fairly decent, and I think The Sun Trail deserves it's three stars. If you, too, were disapointed by Omen of the Stars, it might be worth your while to give Dawn of the Clans a fair chance. I hope this review was helpful!!
–LG

posted by Anonymous on May 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Review on "Warriors: The Sun Trail"

    I just finished reading The Sun Trail, and have to say I am somewhat impressed. After the completely sickening end to Omen of the Stars, I was reluctant to pick up the next Warriors book, thinking that it might be just as bad. But for some odd reason or another, I found myself picking up The Sun Trail and settling down to read. Definetely not the best Warriors book I've ever read, but not as terrible as the Omen of the Stars series—I mean, what was the POINT of six poorly written books for a very "undramatic" ending? What a waste of time and money!! I am pleased to say that The Sun Trail was worth it, and a fairly good read.
    The Sun Trail takes place long before the events in Into the Wild, the first Warriors book. So you could start here without getting confused!! A Tribe of wild cats live in the mountains, where prey is scarce, and the cold winters make survival hard. When their leader, an eldely shecat named Stoneteller, or Half Moon, recieves a strange sign, some of the Tribe cats belive that food and survival may be easier elsewhere. A tomcat named Gray Wing is skeptical about leaving, but when his half-brother Jagged Peak runs away, he is given no choice but to leave and forge a home someplace else.
    The cats face many trials on their way there, including deaths of several members. When they arrive at the "end of the sun trail" they are faced with more problems—hostile "rouges" and other cats that are reluctant to share the space. The fighting amonst the cats eventually leads up to a "final battle" according to "Secrets of the Clans", where the cats join together, led by the strongest cats after the battle—Thunder, Wind, Shadow, River, and Sky—to form "Clans".
    The Sun Trail was filled with lots of action, and got very fast-paced towards the end. But in the beginning of the book, it was rather slow. I was confused by all of the cats, and had trouble adapting to all of their names, because apart from Half Moon and Lion's Roar, I had no clue who any of them were. As the book progressed, I began to piece things together, and realized that there are lots of "original" Clan cats here—such as Wind(star) and Gorse(tail), the first leader and deputy of WindClan, Tall Shadow (possibly Shadowstar, first ShadowClan leader), Dappledpelt (first RiverClan medicine cat), and Cloudspots (first ThunderClan med cat). Some of the characters I didn't really like either, such as Clear Sky, Jagged Peak, Dewy Leaf, Moon Shadow, and especially Storm. I can't understand why Gray Wing liked her so much, when Turtle Tail was a much nicer cat!!
    Also, we didn't have that much of a chance to get "attatched" to the characters before they died, so it really wasn't that sad to me, because I didn't really have any feelings for those cats. I hope that in the next book, Thunder Rising, the Erins will emphasis more on their characters. I also can't wait until the "final battle", which I hope is in the next book. I'd also like to hear more about how the first Clans were organized, later in the series.
    All in all, fairly decent, and I think The Sun Trail deserves it's three stars. If you, too, were disapointed by Omen of the Stars, it might be worth your while to give Dawn of the Clans a fair chance. I hope this review was helpful!!
    –LG

    22 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Can't wait

    I love warriors. I am just so exited. Can't wait to read it!YYYYYAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYYY!!

    12 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    A must read for Warrior fans!!!!

    You will not be disappointed with this new book in the Warrior series. I was so sad when the original series ended and now.....whoohoo!!!!! more Warrior adventures. This series explains how the "original" clans of the forest came to be. Definitely don't want to say too much and give anything away. I will say, you will love this book. I know I did and can't wait for Book two to be published. Happy reading!!

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    PLEASE READ

    Thank you for reading this.
    Please stop doing 'RP's, they block up the review section for people who actually want to know about the books! I would personally love to know whether it is a good book or not before I pay $11.99 to read it!
    Exept that i cannot find a single review for the actual book! Only people ranting on about how awesome or stupid they are.
    I have seen a couple completely off topic reviews, mostly about how stupid being gay is, I find most of you to be repulsive.
    As for the people who RP then there are forums for that. No need to clog up the review system.

    -Neverre

    5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Sick of grief!

    Ok so I get it. Stuff dies sometimes. Its sad when it was a known and more important cat. When an important cat dies, its sad! But when you have this happen over and over and bash your feelings and make you sad, it gets to be too much. Thats what this book is. Sadness. Erin Hunter is just laughing as you cry. She doesnt care. Shes just messing with your emotions. Read this book if you wanna be sad, get depressed, and wanna quit the series every few chapters. Erin overdid the grief in this book. I am done with this stupid series. Erin, stop making these books so depressing. Please.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Willowstar- SUPER SUPER SUPER URGENT

    IF ANYONE CAN TELL ME THE LOCATION OF ROSEBUD I WILL BE IN YOU DEBT FOREVER

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Exited!

    I really want to read it but i cant buy it vecasude its sooo expensive.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    NOOO BRIGHT STREAM NOOO but otherwise this was actually pretty good

    This book would sooooo recieve a 5-star rating, totally, if Bright Stream hadn't died! The whole thing was awful and literally ruined the entire book for me. Otherwise, this was a great book! It was really awesome and I'll read it over and over again. But Bright Stream...-sobs and shakes fist at sky- Why, StarClan, why!?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Good book.

    Dear people,this book is recomended for teachers, parents,and kids when they have free time. When i first started read the begining of the book it was to touching that i recomended it to everybody. The end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Repost this

    Kis yur hand 3 times repostat 3 other places & look under ur pillow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Join mimiclan

    Plz somebody go to mandy res1 and press mimi im desperate

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Question

    What's the coding for the letters in Gothic font? Just one is enough. And no, king of symbols doesn't have it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Gffdff

    Ggbhy

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Did i do it

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Touch below if your ..................

    A LOSER AAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHH

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Master?

    Lily is chained at "lily" first result, she is waiting for a hardcore master.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Azim

    Can somone tell me where a werewolf pack is?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Not the same

    Not the same without firstar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Join SongClan

    High positions available, and we're active and friendly! Join at "shira" res 1. Hope to see you there!

    -Silverstar

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Join a wolf pack

    At reytheo all res

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3