BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Sun Trail (Warriors: Dawn of the Clans Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 964 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(823)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

71 out of 103 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!

YES! Finely its on the nook!! It will be so cool to see how the clans were first made and maybe even how the cat first got together! I also really like the cat on the cover! He reminds me of firestar only more of a red-ish-brown.

posted by 10569454 on September 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Review on "Warriors: The Sun Trail"

I just finished reading The Sun Trail, and have to say I am somewhat impressed. After the completely sickening end to Omen of the Stars, I was reluctant to pick up the next Warriors book, thinking that it might be just as bad. But for some odd reason or another, I f...
I just finished reading The Sun Trail, and have to say I am somewhat impressed. After the completely sickening end to Omen of the Stars, I was reluctant to pick up the next Warriors book, thinking that it might be just as bad. But for some odd reason or another, I found myself picking up The Sun Trail and settling down to read. Definetely not the best Warriors book I've ever read, but not as terrible as the Omen of the Stars series—I mean, what was the POINT of six poorly written books for a very "undramatic" ending? What a waste of time and money!! I am pleased to say that The Sun Trail was worth it, and a fairly good read.
The Sun Trail takes place long before the events in Into the Wild, the first Warriors book. So you could start here without getting confused!! A Tribe of wild cats live in the mountains, where prey is scarce, and the cold winters make survival hard. When their leader, an eldely shecat named Stoneteller, or Half Moon, recieves a strange sign, some of the Tribe cats belive that food and survival may be easier elsewhere. A tomcat named Gray Wing is skeptical about leaving, but when his half-brother Jagged Peak runs away, he is given no choice but to leave and forge a home someplace else.
The cats face many trials on their way there, including deaths of several members. When they arrive at the "end of the sun trail" they are faced with more problems—hostile "rouges" and other cats that are reluctant to share the space. The fighting amonst the cats eventually leads up to a "final battle" according to "Secrets of the Clans", where the cats join together, led by the strongest cats after the battle—Thunder, Wind, Shadow, River, and Sky—to form "Clans".
The Sun Trail was filled with lots of action, and got very fast-paced towards the end. But in the beginning of the book, it was rather slow. I was confused by all of the cats, and had trouble adapting to all of their names, because apart from Half Moon and Lion's Roar, I had no clue who any of them were. As the book progressed, I began to piece things together, and realized that there are lots of "original" Clan cats here—such as Wind(star) and Gorse(tail), the first leader and deputy of WindClan, Tall Shadow (possibly Shadowstar, first ShadowClan leader), Dappledpelt (first RiverClan medicine cat), and Cloudspots (first ThunderClan med cat). Some of the characters I didn't really like either, such as Clear Sky, Jagged Peak, Dewy Leaf, Moon Shadow, and especially Storm. I can't understand why Gray Wing liked her so much, when Turtle Tail was a much nicer cat!!
Also, we didn't have that much of a chance to get "attatched" to the characters before they died, so it really wasn't that sad to me, because I didn't really have any feelings for those cats. I hope that in the next book, Thunder Rising, the Erins will emphasis more on their characters. I also can't wait until the "final battle", which I hope is in the next book. I'd also like to hear more about how the first Clans were organized, later in the series.
All in all, fairly decent, and I think The Sun Trail deserves it's three stars. If you, too, were disapointed by Omen of the Stars, it might be worth your while to give Dawn of the Clans a fair chance. I hope this review was helpful!!
–LG

posted by Anonymous on May 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 49 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Stop using this comment section for stupid messaging and advertisements

    All i want to do is find a real reveiw so I can figure out if i should buy this book or not. If you want to talk about your different made up clans, then use emails, or facebook or something that doesn't hinder peoples decision making. I love the warriors series and am thinking about buying this book, so DONT CLOG MY INFORMATION SOURCE WITH JUNK THAT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    To "A Warning to All."

    We didn't. I don't know where you got that from.~Firekit and Icekit

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Yay

    It was pretty cool but seriosly the one cat who has clear skys kittens, you can do better than him! Gray wing is cool but clear sky is a jerk total JERK!!!!!! I. Do. Not. Like. Clear. Sky.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! JUST TO GET MY Point across...I HATE CLEAR SKY!!!!!!!

    MEH, other than that, it was pretty good, but i CANNOT wait for thunder rising!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    To below

    Excuse me? Why have you people been harassing me? This is the third time that someone I don't know has said something weird to me.
    <p>~Skywind

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Needed mate

    Echosong here i need a mateif your interested males then reply before10:00

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    For a real review...

    I know a lot of you actually want a review instead of roleplay, so here is a real review.

    I got this book at the library so I can not say much about the ebook format. But the content is the same.

    Being a warriors fan, I was really excited about the new series, but doubted if it would be as good as the first. The story is rather slow at first, when the tribe of rushing water is stuck in winter with little food and much suffering. Stoneteller, who is old and elderly, you may recognize from Omen of the Stars as Half Moon. Stoneteller has a dream of the sun rising somewhere far away, where food is plentiful. She sends a group of cats to go on a quest and start a new life there. Gray Wing, a new "warrior" and the main character, does not want to go on the quest but circumstances force him to join the group. This is where the story picks up.

    The cats have a long, difficult journey and suffer losses. It is quite interesting when they arrive in their new hunting grounds because you start to see the similarities between the clan cats and the traveling cats' new encounters, such as fourtrees. I won't give away much but differences among the cats prove to be problematic. I really felt like the characters were developed well and the emotions were strong.

    I would recommend this book to any avid warriors fan. Probably don't read it if you have not read about the tribe of rushing water in the series, or read the first series yet. Otherwise it won't make sense. I would not buy this book yet, for ten bucks, but get it at the library or wait a bit until it comes into paperback (cheaper on the nook). But if you absolutely MUST, I totally get it!

    As a final note, the next book is called thunder rising. I suspect it has double meaning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Gffhggggg

    Cghfhfhhg

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    ella

    Turns into a cheetah and attacks falckonfeather*
    Bites his neck and legs and arms*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Mo

    Oh and by the way it wasnt about the first leaders! Goldenfeather

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    See that? It's &# 9687 with no spaces. Anywho, I did that face to get your attention. Do any of you go to a PJ Rp? If so, reply to Plague. If you do, I will join tht Rp and grace you with my epic, awesome presence. ^~^ --Plague K. Kwik, Original of Scarlet Letter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Guys

    Wht happenwd to Hunter the abusive twoleg?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Aberry1282@yahoo

    Add me as a nook friend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    To alll real lif people with real life problems

    If you have problems go to fog first result. I am the problem solver of YOUR life. Dating, familly injury anything

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    PLEASE PLEASE DONT TAP

    Read my story mean girls at mean girls result one. I think if enough people read it and take action we coukd stop bullying. It is based on a true story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Wi Snowclan

    I am Snowstar. My clan is Snowclan. We need you. Help us.
    Search Snowshower.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Good book

    The sun trail was a good book, but definetly not the best. Without the warrior code and the clans, there wasn' t as much fighting and drama in this book as there are in others. Aside from that, it was a really good book, and already I learned a lot about how the clans were created.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Bonnie

    Bonnie: Have a taste for adventure, an eye for beauty? Join the Pirates of the NookWorlds!!!! We are the first full pirate rp. Build your ship, find a crew, raid other rps in search for booty, or battle the english, spanish, other any other pirates! For all ladies i need a crew for the Black Diamond, captained by me, Bonnie Mathews. Go to Black Diamond 6th result-- men welcome but only for these positions: a) new crew trainer b) slave keeper c) my right hand man aka co captain
    As creator of the Pirates of the NookWorlds before you start your adventure on a ship of yer own u most see me at Black Diamonds first result, please. Thank you and see YOU on the Seas!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    D

    Ff

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Yup.

    Still wanted it to be about Bramblestar as leader of thunderclan... but I can readthis too! Warriors is warriots.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Star Wars rp

    At explosion city.all results. Join today! ~-~Antonio

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 49 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3