BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Sunday Wife: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A great read. Love her style and descriptions

Great characters, good story, but disappointed in lack of research; King placed Chapel Hill in the mountains of Western North Carolina.

posted by 1519304 on August 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Cliche, Cliche, Cliche

I wish I hadn't known she was Pat Conroys wife. I kept hoping her writing would be more like his. I found so much of verbage to be cliche. I guess she should write a sequel and maybe it will be better. I was going to have book club read it for discussion but decided it...
I wish I hadn't known she was Pat Conroys wife. I kept hoping her writing would be more like his. I found so much of verbage to be cliche. I guess she should write a sequel and maybe it will be better. I was going to have book club read it for discussion but decided it was not a good way to spend the money.

posted by Anonymous on July 24, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2010

    A great read. Love her style and descriptions

    Great characters, good story, but disappointed in lack of research; King placed Chapel Hill in the mountains of Western North Carolina.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Good read!

    Spent a cold, rainy Sunday afternoon curled up on my couch enjoying this lovely book :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2008

    Great Southern Setting

    Love Kings settings! The characters are excellent, well flushed out, even a few that really reach out. Great detail - An entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2006

    Great, fun read

    I really enjoyed this book as I was looking for a fun, less serious book to read. The story line moved along great and, in my opinion, nothing was predicable and I was kept guessing and surprised at the end. If you are very religious, this might not be the book for you, because the some of the characters in this book are religious and hold positions in various churches, and these characters are not portrayed in the best manner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2006

    A FUN read !

    This book was everything I hoped it would be. A fantastic read. Funny and very cute. Sad at times. Recommend this book !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2005

    GREAT BOOK

    I'm not an avid reader, but this book was good enough to keep my attention. I felt extremely sympathetic toward Dean because of the way her husband treated her. I cried when I found out what happened to Augusta. I recommend this book as a nice, casual, easy read...no technicalities here, nothing too deep to think about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2004

    Great Book!!

    I recently joined a book club to challenge myself to read more. My friends and I enjoyed reading this book and we were so happy that it was part of our book club! I most liked the journey that Dean experienced while finding her independence. I was glad that it ended the way it did. It was hard to put down!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2003

    Fun Reading!

    It's not rocket science, but it is chock full of great southern descriptions. King definitely keeps the action moving in the story. It is a great way to put on your southern charm and walk down Romance Lane; course, be prepared for that preacher husband. He is a bugger!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2003

    Great Book for a Book Club

    After reading the last chapter I couldn't wait to send it to a friend so that we could talk about it together. I thought it said so much. I thought it would lead to a great discussion in a bible study or any book club. I too read the last chapter slow just so it wouldn't end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2002

    hated to see this book end

    I had a hard time putting this book down. I loved the characters--all except the husband of Dean--I wanted to slap him a few times. But he was interesting--I am sure many wives can relate to his behavior and moods. I only wish I could have known for sure what happens to Dean's husband at the end. I know what I WANTED to happen to him. I loved this book.!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1