Customer Reviews for

The Sunday Wife: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A great read. Love her style and descriptions

Great characters, good story, but disappointed in lack of research; King placed Chapel Hill in the mountains of Western North Carolina.

posted by 1519304 on August 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Cliche, Cliche, Cliche

I wish I hadn't known she was Pat Conroys wife. I kept hoping her writing would be more like his. I found so much of verbage to be cliche. I guess she should write a sequel and maybe it will be better. I was going to have book club read it for discussion but decided it...
I wish I hadn't known she was Pat Conroys wife. I kept hoping her writing would be more like his. I found so much of verbage to be cliche. I guess she should write a sequel and maybe it will be better. I was going to have book club read it for discussion but decided it was not a good way to spend the money.

posted by Anonymous on July 24, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2003

    A Great Selection for Book Study Group

    The Sunday Wife is a powerful narrative depicting the trials and triumphs of Dean Lynch, a shy, middle-aged minister's wife, who must deal with her conflicting feelings of finding happiness or settling for what others expect of her. She is married to a dominating, self-absorbed, verbally abusive man whose piety is as shallow as his ambitions are great. With the help of a newly found friend, Dean discovers her true inner self and courage to make life-changing decisions that will turn her world and the church community upside down. This book is jam-packed with controversies concerning women's traditional roles in the church, bigotry, gay marriages and the sanctity of ministers. It has something to please and offend everyone. Cassandra King has suceeded in writing a novel that will incite heated discussions. A bit slow in places, but definitely a book to contemplate long after the final page is read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    One of the best books I've ever read. I loved it and would tell

    One of the best books I've ever read. I loved it and would tell anyone to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    highly recommend

    This book was referred to me by a friend. I would recommend it highly too. Although Dean gets into some "fixes" that most would not, the protrayal of the expectations of ministers' wives and the dangers and expectations of successful ministers was very well done. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Loved it!

    This is my favorite of Cassandra's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2006

    Great!

    I really enjoyed this book and would recommend to friends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2005

    Excellent Read!!

    I am not a dedicated reader & decided to try to make some time to read. I loved this book! It kept me on the edge. I never wanted to put it down. I stayed up late last night to finish it. I can't wait to start her next book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2005

    The Best Book I've Read In Ages!

    I picked this book up at the free paperback book swap at our local library, and I am so glad that I did! 'The Sunday Wife' has to be one of the best books I've read in a long time! At first I wasn't sure about it and even thought it might be a little boring, but I literally could not put this book down. It was interesting, funny, sad, and descriptive about the location, etc...It was a wonderful story and it's the kind that stays with you long after the book is finished. I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2005

    Enjoyable

    I loved this book. I don't think it was a slow starter at all but the author developing the characters. I loved this book and now want to read everything Cassandra King has ever written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2004

    CLERGY SPOUSES, PAY ATTENTION

    This book was so refreshing during times when religious extremism is ever on the rise. I think everyone should buy this book for their minister's spouse for Christmas. Of course, those are not the only readers who will enjoy this entertaining page-turner. The woman who found it a slow start lost be somewhere. I couldn't put it down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2004

    a true page-turner!

    when our book club voted to read this book, i wasn't sure I'd be interested in the life of a southern preacher's wife. however, once i started reading this book i couldn't put it down. then, i didn't want it to end. i just had to find out what happened to the sunday wife. i've never reviewed a book before but have told everyone i know to read this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2004

    A very good book

    I really enjoyed this book and would recommend it to anyone. Never a dull moment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2004

    I was in mourning when I finished

    I am lobbying for this to be our next book club title. I so enjoyed reading this book and want everyone I know to read it too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2003

    Is this her only book??

    I listened to this book on audio and couldn't get enough. She writes so much like my favorite author Anne River Siddons. Eagerly looking forward to the next novel she writes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2003

    Cassandra, please write a sequel!!

    I LOVED this book - I started to read slower during the last few chapters because I didn't want it to end!! I would like to see a sequel written - I want to know how Dean's life turns out and what happens to all the other characters. I can not wait for another book by Ms. King!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2003

    Excellent Start to Finish !!!

    I couldn't wait to get this book to read. I was in South Carolina this spring and saw Cassandra King on a local Television station there. Until that time I had not heard anyting about her but was truly intrigide by her interview and was waiting patiently to be able to purchase her book. I truly was not disappointed and must say that when I started this book, I read it all in three days. I loved it!!!! Characters were so familiar that I think we all probably have met one or many sometime in our life. You experienced so many emotions in this book while you are reading. I think this book would make a wonderful movie and I hope that someone will turn it into one. Looking forward to another novel soon by Cassandra King.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2003

    I couldn't put it down!

    I found some of the characters funny, some exasperating, but all true to life! I went through a lot of emotions, reading this book. I read it in one day, I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2002

    Destined to become a favorite

    This was the best book I have read in quite a while. There is never a lull in the story. The author's descriptions are so detailed you feel wrapped in the setting and the characters. I can't wait to share this book with friends and book club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2002

    A Must Read

    A book must really hold my interest before I finish it. Not only did I finish it, but was making time in my busy schedule to read, and am now searching the bookstore for more by this outstanding author. The characters are so real, you will step into the story and become Dean. The story is so moving, you will not want it to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2002

    a must read

    this an absolutely wondeful book- very touching, funny, truthful, and never a slow read. flows perfectly and i can be a picky reader!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1