Customer Reviews for

The Surrendered Single: A Practical Guide to Attracting and Marrying the M

Average Rating 4
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wish I Had This Book a Long Time Ago

The tools in this book are so powerful. The first day I decided to try some of them, two different men approached me for dates. Wow! Maybe it just made me feel more confident and desirable to be reminded that what men like is a feminine spirit, mind and body...
The tools in this book are so powerful. The first day I decided to try some of them, two different men approached me for dates. Wow! Maybe it just made me feel more confident and desirable to be reminded that what men like is a feminine spirit, mind and body. This is a good approach for those of us who know how to succeed at work and still want someone to share our lives with. There's nothing in here that's disrespectful of women. I suspect that first reviewer didn't read the book, but has a bone to pick for some reason. Hey, you can be angry all you want, but I don't think it's going to get you any closer to finding romance. But this book will.

posted by Anonymous on May 31, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Never surrender!

This book might more aptly have been subtitled 'A Practical Guide to Becoming a Doormat.' Author Laura Doyle appears to be on a quest to oppose the most basic principles of feminism and common sense: that women are human beings, that they have as much right to assert th...
This book might more aptly have been subtitled 'A Practical Guide to Becoming a Doormat.' Author Laura Doyle appears to be on a quest to oppose the most basic principles of feminism and common sense: that women are human beings, that they have as much right to assert themselves as men, that a meaningful romantic relationship can only exist between equals. Doyle writes that 'control and intimacy are opposites,' but then she goes on to encourage women to allow themselves to be controlled by men in the name of intimacy. Doyle tells us that passiveness, femininity, and sycophancy are the proper means by which a woman gets her wish, and that what she should properly wish for is a man. If a woman surrenders to this atavistic recipe, she is setting herself up for an abusive and dysfunctional relationship; if a nation of women surrender to it, then we are headed for the Dark Ages.

posted by Anonymous on April 30, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2004

    Pass on this one ...

    I bought this with several similar-topic books, and this was the worst of the bunch. I don't think I'll even finish reading it. I did like the writing style, but I found it more of the 'be carefree, don't ask your man' drivel. For instance, the author recommends not bringing up the topic of children until you are engaged. Come on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2002

    This book works

    I have never had a problem getting dates...it was keeping the guys I liked around that was my issue. I read this book, and began to practice the techniques mentioned and I was astounded! IT WORKED. I have always been a controller...and the moment I let go of the control (which terrified me) my dating experience has dramatically changed. Now, I feel more feminine, as my dates are so much more attentive. GET THIS BOOK

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2002

    Wish I Had This Book a Long Time Ago

    The tools in this book are so powerful. The first day I decided to try some of them, two different men approached me for dates. Wow! Maybe it just made me feel more confident and desirable to be reminded that what men like is a feminine spirit, mind and body. This is a good approach for those of us who know how to succeed at work and still want someone to share our lives with. There's nothing in here that's disrespectful of women. I suspect that first reviewer didn't read the book, but has a bone to pick for some reason. Hey, you can be angry all you want, but I don't think it's going to get you any closer to finding romance. But this book will.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2002

    Never surrender!

    This book might more aptly have been subtitled 'A Practical Guide to Becoming a Doormat.' Author Laura Doyle appears to be on a quest to oppose the most basic principles of feminism and common sense: that women are human beings, that they have as much right to assert themselves as men, that a meaningful romantic relationship can only exist between equals. Doyle writes that 'control and intimacy are opposites,' but then she goes on to encourage women to allow themselves to be controlled by men in the name of intimacy. Doyle tells us that passiveness, femininity, and sycophancy are the proper means by which a woman gets her wish, and that what she should properly wish for is a man. If a woman surrenders to this atavistic recipe, she is setting herself up for an abusive and dysfunctional relationship; if a nation of women surrender to it, then we are headed for the Dark Ages.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Awesome book, I am beginning to realize the mistakes I was makin

    Awesome book, I am beginning to realize the mistakes I was making when it comes to men and I am a better person because of it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2005

    Another dating booki...

    This book is okay, not great - but hey, read it instead of going out with the wrong guy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2003

    Fantastic Point of View

    This book is great, easy to read, & tips you can put to use before you've even finished reading the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2003

    After reading this book I was married within 1 year!

    I don't remember what specifically made me buy this book, but I am so happy I did. I had become attracted to a regular customer at the coffee shop where I worked. We'd usually talk for a long time. Sometimes he'd even come in 2 or 3 times a day. I had tried many things to see if he was interested in taking things further but NOTHING worked. Then I read 'The Surrendered Single.' It changed my attitude and approach to men, dating and being single. Last August, things progressed and we started dating. Two months ago we were married. BUY THE BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2002

    SERIOUSLY - it works :)

    It was very funny - I put the book down, changed my attitude & approach slightly - and somehow I met the man of my dreams!!! I couldn't be HAPPIER and I believe, it really was my approach in the process that brought me to meeting him & the relationship flourishing!! It's the best $11 you can spend on YOURSELF.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2002

    IT WORKS!

    I may not agree with EVERY suggestion Doyle offers but I agree with many of them and have even began trying a few. And IT WORKS! As a matter of fact the book was recommended to me by a male friend. I read the book and passed it on to many of my single female friends who like me have 'trouble surrendering'. When I began reading Doyles book I almost didn't want to continue because it was about ME. It hurt to see myself that way. But in the end it helped more. I recommend this book to every single woman who thinks she has it all figured out, but has yet to make any progress in finding her soul mate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1