BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Swarm

Average Rating 3.5
( 175 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Whoa...

I am so happy I didn't listen to the negative reviews, citing bad spelling and typos. Wow! If you like a good scifi/horror type book, this is a great read! Whoever called the writer illiterate is far too stupid to realize how good and powerful this book is. I also s...
I am so happy I didn't listen to the negative reviews, citing bad spelling and typos. Wow! If you like a good scifi/horror type book, this is a great read! Whoever called the writer illiterate is far too stupid to realize how good and powerful this book is. I also saw something on the author's website that offered a deeper insight into the book and the ending (i dont want to ruin it!), and wow, wow, I loved this! Even went back to re-read my favorite parts

posted by 10124564 on February 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

A Fair Attempt

It was in the end a fair attempt but all and all, unremarkable at best ... This said given that these are the initial efforts of an up and coming writer I do see promise of something better in future.

Regarding the story itself, I found the pacing rather mixed ... b...
It was in the end a fair attempt but all and all, unremarkable at best ... This said given that these are the initial efforts of an up and coming writer I do see promise of something better in future.

Regarding the story itself, I found the pacing rather mixed ... by this I mean to say that it was fast a points I would have prefered it to go slower and in turn slow at points I felt should have been faster. I found the detail lacking at points were I would have enjoyed a good measure more discription and by and large the characters were rather shallow and lacking on several levels.

The idea for the story itself was a good draw but the text fell short of the intended goal.

posted by 7194522 on February 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Paid for blank pages

    Not sure what happened but all the pages are blank. Not happy at this ripoff

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Sorry

    I really am sorry, but reading a book with multiple (and I do mean MULTIPLE!) spelling and grammatical errors is like listening to a CD with a deep scratch in it. Eventually the skipping sound is unbearable. Add to that an ill conceived story line, no real resolution to the "plot", and unmemorable characters, and you've got a whole lot of nothing. Far worse than Stephen King's worst, and not nearly worth the small amount of money I paid for it. I don't rate books very often, but this one drove me to it. You get what you pay for, and this book is no exception to the rule. Pay a couple of dollars extra and buy something actually worth reading!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    Poorly written by an apparent teenager

    I stopped reading this book after about 10 pages--too many egregious four-letter words and very immature style. No wonder it's self-published.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    Great Idea Poor Execution

    I can't believe I paid $2.99 to read a first draft. The idea is great, the execution is awful The word "had" appears in almost every sentence, sometimes twice, three times. The author shows potential but to compare him to Stephen King is complete fodder. Maybe a third-rate Brian Keene, but the Master of Horror? Don't be ridiculous.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Anonymous

    Don't read this dreck!

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Bad

    Lowsy storie not worth reading.

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Wtf

    Eww i bought this book hoping it wouldnt be an interesting scientific mystery thriller but instead i wasted money on a porno DONT BUY (UNLESS YHUU A PERV)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    DO NOT BUY

    This book was horrible. The author was awful at putting the story together and it was all together poorly written. You wait and wait for something to actually happen but it never does and you realized you wasted your time for absolutly nothing. The use of curse words had no strong affect on what the author was saying when he used them, you just felt like the author's vocabulary bank must have been lacking. The only time you could have actualy been on the edge of your seat was ruined because the author had already let you know the character was fine by telling his side of what happened before the life threatening scene took place. Don't waste your time or dollar!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    bizarre

    very strange, could not finish this

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    Amazed at the reviewers!

    I just finished reading through all the reviews that had prose content, and found myself amazed that at least 90% of the writers focused on errors in grammar and typos in the book, but could not write a sentence of a paragraph correctly themselves. I was especially surprised at the one who referred to him/herself as a writer. His review was overflowing with enough errors that I couldn't help but laugh at his criticism of Heinze's mistakes.

    Doesn't anybody learn to write properly these days? Or do they just not bother? Consider the review that included, "stephen king. Mr. King..." Since when is a person's name written in lower case letters. Do so many reviewers have such low self-esteem that they don't consider referring to themselves with an upper case "I"? How about run-on sentences, sentence fragments, improper use of punctuation? Rampant, and a sad commentary on American education.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Good premise but......

    Interesting concept, but the book felt rushed. Didnt care for any of the characters because of poor character development. If you dont care about the characters, the book suffers greatly.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Had enough

    Had, had, had, had, had . . . . . I had enough after 60 pages - mispelled words, run on sentences, disjointed thoughts, absolutely no flow & the total over use of the word had ( it will make you mad), just to name a few of the probs i have with this piece - i want my money back!!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Couldn't even make it through the free sample.

    Some people may enjoy reading books like this, and more power to them, but I refuse to waste my time with C+ College Composition material. If you appreciate well-crafted prose with any sense of style, this isn't for you. If you want an amateurish, simplistic story because well-crafted prose with a sense of style is too challenging for you, then knock yourself out. Best ninety-nine cents you'll ever spend.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Terrible

    How do i get my money back?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    Sorry I bought this book. The plot was lame and it was impossib

    Sorry I bought this book. The plot was lame and it was impossible to care about the characters. My only "dilemma" is whether or not to totally delete it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    Would not recommend! First book I ever deleted from my nook.

    Predictable story line. Poor grammer. Poorly written. I like to try authors I've not previously read. Will not likely read anymore from this one. Don't waste your money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    Junior High Mentality

    Rob spent a lot of time writing this, I spent a lot of time reading it - thinking it would get better - it didn't!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Keep your $.99 for a cup of coffee.

    Simple writing and terrible editing.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Deriative

    How is this guy the next stephen king or dean koontz. He doloesnt even come anywhere close to touchibg them. The only way i can see the comparisons is that this guy steals some of their best ideas and weakens them. The shamalayan comparissons are apt tho because this guys work is just as boring and deriative as his.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    sick minds

    The book was very disjointed and rambeling with no end. The story was shallow with no "I cannot put this book down" pages to hold your interest. On a scale of 1 to 10 it would get a 3 from me. I would call it gross fantasy, heavy on the gross. Don't bother.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2