BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Sweet Escape

Average Rating 3.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not Pleased

    I love Gwen, but I hate the way she sings...or does not sing on this album. I don't like her new style. I miss her in No Doubt. L.A.M.B. was better soley because she sang.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    please don't waste your money on this cd.

    please don't waste your money on this cd.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I love this!

    Omg i love this cd so much! Gwen's first cd was awesome, but it was just wild and fun. Sweet Escape is more meaningful and deep. Her vocals are amazing and the lyrics are amazing. Love love love her!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I got this CD for “wonderful life”- Martin Gore played guitar on the song, so I was curious.. I also noticed that it was used in the ad for her “L” fragrance. I love that song and the CD has several great songs on it as well. “Wind it up” would be better sans yodle, but I have gone back to songs that at first weren’t favorites but enjoyed them later. Everyone has a guilty pleasure- a CD that they love even though the critics trash it. Listen to a sample, because you might like it, or even love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Love Gwen Stefani!!

    I loved this CD! My favorites are:Wind It Up,Sweet Escape,Wonderful Life,Don't Get It Twisted... there are so many! I loved her 1st CD Love Angel Music Baby even more!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Horrible

    This album is really bad. Her debut album was a solid pop album with good songs. But this one is just embarassing. On some songs, Gwen is almost rapping (Yummy, Breakin' Up, Orange county girl), and she cant even rap! Shes tripping over her words and getting tounge-tied. Breakin' UP is probably the worst song on: theres no melody, the horrible "rapping", and the horrible lyrics. The only good songs are the pop-rock songs like Early winter, Wonderful life, Dont get it twisted, Now that youve got it. It's really hard to listen to the whole album because of the akward and embarrasing "rap" songs. Gwen needs to go back to No Doubt and actually write and SING great songs, not dumb little filler songs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AWESOME!

    I loved her new style. I really recomend this CD to anyone. She has a great style here on this CD. The best songs were "Wind It Up" and "The Sweet Escape".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Expected More

    L.A.M.B. was a great album, it was in my car CD player for quite a few months. But, Sweet Escape doesn't hold up. The songs are dull and they all sound alike. Sounds like it was pieced together and in the stores in time for the holiday shopping season! I'm a big Gwen and No Doubt fan but this is my least fave album she's done. At least I got it on sale for 9 bucks-not too much money gone. Hoping for better next time-hope she delivers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I'm feeling yummy head to toe

    this is a great C.D that you have to BLAST in your car. gwen is so fun, so inivative that your never thinking now where have i heard this beofre. shes original and relatable. and there is just so much variety within the album that you cant help but love it. gwen is about moving forward and whats new and the sweet escape is great. i love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    MORE GREAT TUNES FROM GWEN

    What can i say? i love gwen! i love this cd, i love love angel music baby and i love all the no doubt cds! she is great live both with no doubt and alone. This cd has not left my player for the last week and i am still groovin on it. Way to go gwen from another kid of the 80s!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Retro 80's Queen

    Gwen Stefani fits right there between Madonna and Nelly Furtado, with a style that pays tribute to the 80's. Although the songs on the "Sweet Escape" aren't spectacular, still Gwen won't have much of a problem keeping her head above water, especially with Fergie and Nelly Furtado hot on her heels. Good album, not as great as her debute solo Love, Angel, Music, Baby. Maybe that spell will be broken by the time the third album drops. It's hard to follow up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Gwen shows a Good balance in what she usually does.

    I thought that “L.A.M.B.” was a very solid debut for Gwen, and this sophomore effort doesn't quite disappoint either. Her first solo effort seemed to be consistent and well thought out, at first listen this just seems weak and rushed in comparison. Yeah, some of the songs are cool but there are definitely more tracks on here that are skip-worthy than on her first album. “The Sweet Escape” is definitely more R&B influenced, whereas “L.A.M.B” was more Pop/Rock influenced. But despite this difference between them, both albums have that eclectic and quirky diversity that we've come to expect from Gwen. After a few listens I come to realize that she does best (solo wise) when she's doing pop songs rather than when she's Hip-Hop/R&B. To me, the moments that give The Sweet Escape its sweetness as well as being the strongest are the title track, "4 in the Morning," " Fluorescent," "U Started It" and "Wonderful "life." All of these have great choruses. But "Early Winter" is the cream of the crop here she sounds like her old self on this track making you believe that she was back with No Doubt. I also like "Yummy" due to its sexy lyrics, "Sweet Escape," "Now That You Got It," and "Don't Get It Twisted" with its techno and dancehall vibe. “The Sweet Escape,” sounds like it’s aching to grab hold of her long-standing love of new wave pop. The production of this album is pretty creative. The reason it's a 3 and not a 4 is because the songs seem to clash a bit making it sound too much alike. But regardless, this is definitely one to pick up if you're interested or enjoyed the singles off L.A.M.B.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    so sad

    Save your money for a root canal, its just as painfull. I dont really understand why Gwen feels the need to "rap" when she can actually sing! This is just so sad to see...and hear. I miss NoDoubt. Now that was good music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Go Back To No Doubt

    LAMB was somewhat embarrassing, but at least it had a couple of songs on there that were catchy enough. The lyrics were insanely bad though, and on Sweet Escape it gets no better. This album though is even worse because there is not one song on here that doesn't sound like a pure mess with no direction. I don't know what Gwen was thinking with this album overall, but it sounds awkward, shallow and immature. I was hoping, at her age, something would change. But nope, still the same woman with no change or growth at all showing on this album. If LAMB is one of your favorite albums then you'll probably enjoy this album, and that's about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    NO!

    Gwen was wonderful in No Doubt, she was wonderful in L.A.M.B, she not wonderful now. Her music is horrible horrible horrible. She sold herself out. Gwen please go back to No Doubt and start making excellent music again!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    LOVE IT

    The album was overall great. I wasn't too sure about it when I first purchased it, because I heard of different opinions from different people. I listened to it on the way down to San Diego, and I fell in love with the CD. It has many up beat songs, and is similar to the first CD, but better. If you liked the first CD, you'll like this one. She does sing in the songs. There are just a few that she sing/talks in like "Wind It Up."] [Song Reviews: (Wind It Up - Good.) (The Sweet Escape - Cute song, weird noises for the "woohoo, yeeehoo.") (Orange County Girl - Alright..) (Early Winter - Great slow song.) (Now That You Got It - My favorite song. Really good upbeat song. The middle "rap" part is cute.) (4 In The Morning - Cute slow song.) (Yummy - Kinda crazy like "Wind It Up." I only like the chorus.) (Flourescent - It's alright. Kinda cute.) (Breakin' Up - LOVE IT! Listen to the lyrics, not just the chorus.) (Don't Get It Twisted - Interesting. Clown music in the background kinda. It's catchy though.) (U Started It - Adorable song! It's a slow song, but you'd love to listen to it with the radio on full blast.) (Wonderful Life - The dull song of the CD. It's a slow song, the chorus is good though.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome

    I love "Yummy" Gwen and Pharrell are the best together!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Give it a chance

    I wasnt too sure of this CD when I first listened to it but after a few plays I really love it. I dont know why the comment was made about her not singing. She sings on every song. It may be a different style of singing than you are used to but it is singing none the less. The ballads on this CD are beautiful as well. Early Winter, Florescent, 4 in the morning, and U started it are really great tracks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An acquired taste

    I love No Doubt and when I heard Gwen's first album, I was a bit taken aback on how different she took her taste in music. So, I am not surprised that she did the same thing again with her sophomore album. I can say that it is an acquired taste to some people. She is not predictable and that's a very cool thing. She is not afraid to take music into alternative paths and create something new and refreshing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wind it up

    I've been a Gwen fan for awhile, and i can seriously say that "Wind It Up" is just an awesome song! But, that is the only song on the album that really does it for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2