BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Sweetest Seduction

Average Rating 4
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

**I was given a copy of this book by the author for an hon






**I was given a copy of this book by the author for an honest review**

Lia Mantovani has created one of the hottest restaurants on Chicago’s Magnificent Mile, but all that could disappear if she loses her lease with Kelly Properties. Having had her dreams ripped ...





**I was given a copy of this book by the author for an honest review**

Lia Mantovani has created one of the hottest restaurants on Chicago’s Magnificent Mile, but all that could disappear if she loses her lease with Kelly Properties. Having had her dreams ripped away from her before, she’ll do everything in her power to keep her restaurant. Her fate hangs on the whims of the frustratingly handsome Adam Kelly.

Adam has spent years trying to convince world famous chef Amadeus Schlittler to open a restaurant in Chicago, but he wants the prime location held by Lia. Business has always come first… until sparks fly when Adam meets her. When things get hot outside the kitchen, though, they’re both in danger of getting burned.

I really liked this book. It reminded me of an updated harilquen story. The characters were normal everyday people. The situation was believable and possible. The heroine and hero were likable people that remain true to character throughout the story. I loved that Adam didn't just drop the idea, but tried to make it work for everyone involved. It didn't work but was more believable for the trying.

I found the story easy to read, and at the end of the book I was smiling

posted by Tadyena on January 8, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A quick, fun read

Lia Mantovani has poured every ounce of her heart into her restaurant, and it seems Chicago is giving her the success she’s always dreamed of. But while spending her life in the kitchen may make her happy, it doesn’t give her much opportunity for dating. Not that she’...
Lia Mantovani has poured every ounce of her heart into her restaurant, and it seems Chicago is giving her the success she’s always dreamed of. But while spending her life in the kitchen may make her happy, it doesn’t give her much opportunity for dating. Not that she’s all that interested in relationships since the last one nearly made her forget who she is. Determined never to become entirely dependent on a man again, she’s caught off guard by the instant chemistry she feels with the son of one of her mother’s bridge club friends. But surely she can have a little fun without derailing her career, right?

Adam Kelly isn’t expecting his mother to play matchmaker, but he’s not all that surprised when she does. He just doesn’t expect to be so immediately intrigued by the clearly talented woman at the stove in his mother’s kitchen. But he’s even more surprised when he discovers that his next big business deal depends on evicting the lovely chef and her restaurant from his building. He knows better than to mix business with pleasure, but even with the glaring conflict of interest, he just can’t help himself.

But...
While the characters are entirely likeable, it felt like some of their development was sacrificed in exchange for the chemistry and bedroom scenes. This would have been a huge issue if there had been any heavy angst or a situation where one acted abominably, but since aside from the requisite conflict, things were kept fairly light, it didn’t ruin the story. Still, two strong and fiery characters with such an intense attraction could have been so much more if we’d been given more insight into them as individuals half as much as we saw them in the bedroom.

The Verdict...
The Sweetest Seduction is more about the seduction than the sweet, with enough sex to toe the erotica line, but the story itself is light enough that it remains a fun and surprisingly quick read. Lia, an Italian American living in Chicago is refreshingly lacks the cliched character traits one might expect, though her heritage shines through in her love of cooking and kitchen. Likewise, Adam as the incredibly successful and handsome business man could easily have been a self-involved jerk, but aside from the initial eviction revelation, he’s flirty and genuinely good, wonderfully breaking what seems to have become the standard for rich leading men.

Their love story, despite its quick development, is easily believable, I’m sure in part because they both seem so open to the possibility and willing to take the chance. Add to that the focus on their relationship, without the usual overdone and often unnecessary drama so many other authors employ, and you’ve got yourself an extremely enjoyable read that will leave you smiling and reaching for the next Kelly brother’s story.

posted by ysar on April 5, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 8, 2014

    **I was given a copy of this book by the author for an hon






    **I was given a copy of this book by the author for an honest review**

    Lia Mantovani has created one of the hottest restaurants on Chicago’s Magnificent Mile, but all that could disappear if she loses her lease with Kelly Properties. Having had her dreams ripped away from her before, she’ll do everything in her power to keep her restaurant. Her fate hangs on the whims of the frustratingly handsome Adam Kelly.

    Adam has spent years trying to convince world famous chef Amadeus Schlittler to open a restaurant in Chicago, but he wants the prime location held by Lia. Business has always come first… until sparks fly when Adam meets her. When things get hot outside the kitchen, though, they’re both in danger of getting burned.

    I really liked this book. It reminded me of an updated harilquen story. The characters were normal everyday people. The situation was believable and possible. The heroine and hero were likable people that remain true to character throughout the story. I loved that Adam didn't just drop the idea, but tried to make it work for everyone involved. It didn't work but was more believable for the trying.

    I found the story easy to read, and at the end of the book I was smiling

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2014

    The Sweetest Seduction by Crista McHugh is the first book in her

    The Sweetest Seduction by Crista McHugh is the first book in her new series, The Kelley Brothers, which is a very sexy contemporary romance, using a modern day version of Seven Brides for Seven Brothers theme. However, make no mistake, other then seven brides, seven brothers, there is nothing remotely similar in this story. For one thing, the original brothers were tame, and in The Sweetest Seduction, if using the first book as an example, these brothers are totally hot, the romance is very steamy, and the storyline is damn good too.

    Lia, who is the chef/owner of a new successful restaurant in a prime location in Chicago, is our heroine in this book. She meets Adam Kelley when her mother auctions off a dinner at the Kelley’s house, which turns out to be a perfect match making opportunity engineered by both Lia’s mother and Adam’s mother.

    Adam immediately finds himself attracted to the beautiful Lia, who wants to finish the dinner, and go home to her restaurant. Nothing is ever easy in romance, as Adam is in negotiations to bring in a famous restaurateur, and unbeknownst to him, the property he is offering is where Lia’s restaurant is being sub leased. When Adam realizes his predicament, and having fallen hard for Lia, not to mention her place has become the hottest restaurant in Chicago, he must find a way to fix things.

    What follows is a fun and very erotic story of two people, both workaholics, who love what they do; with both falling totally in love with one another. The sexual chemistry between Lia and Adam was sizzling, with Adam always finding different places for them to act on their lust. But with the many issues facing them; the lease issue, a possible lawsuit, a previous bad relationship; the question always remains until the very end, if they will be able to get past this. The Sweetest Seduction was a fun, romantic and steamy story. I really enjoyed Lia and Adam together, loved the restaurant theme, and the many different foods on display. Crista McHugh has a wonderful writing style, and I cannot wait to meet the rest of the Kelley Brothers.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2014

    Sweetest Seduction is the first book in The Kelly Brothers serie

    Sweetest Seduction is the first book in The Kelly Brothers series by Crista McHugh. This story is about Adam, the eldest Kelly brother. He is a sexy, successful businessman who is too busy running the family's company to find time for love. Well his mother is wanting grandchildren and she partners up with her friend to set up at least one of her 6 sons.

    Lia is an up and coming chef who is finally starting to make a name for herself. Like Adam, Lia's mom is wanting hoping her daughter would take some time away from work to find love. Unfortunately Lia has already experienced heartbreak once in her past and she is wanting to take care of herself and is doing so with a passion for her cooking.

    The connection between Lia and Adam is rather instantaneous and moves at a quicker pace then I would have expected from an intimacy aspect. Troubles brew for the couple as Adam has to make some tough decisions. He is the landlord for Lia's restaurant and her lease is due to expire, and Adam has already made plans for the place. Unfortunately, he didn't know it was Lia's place.

    Despite their issues, the chemistry of the couple cannot be denied and feelings develop. McHugh does a great job with the intimate scenes, and let me say they are scorching hot. Trust me, you will love Adam's visits to Lia's workplace. I just can't decide which scene is my favorite.

    This book was a great quick read and I found the relationship to be sweet. I normally like a little more angst with the climax, but you still get enough drama to make the ending enjoyable. Unfortunately the story ends too quickly and you get very little after the HEA. I am hoping to get more of Lia and Adam in the upcoming stories. And in case you missed it earlier, I did mention there were 6 sons, all equally hot and successful so you know there will be more to come. As a fan of Bella Andre, I found this to be similar to her Sullivan's Series so if you have been a fan of those I am sure you will enjoy McHugh's new series.

    Thanks to NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Lia ¿ one of Chicago¿s hottest chefs and is running a successful

    Lia – one of Chicago’s hottest chefs and is running a successful restaurant in a building belonging to Adam, who is running his family’s real estate empire. They meet as his mother’s house where Lia is cooking for them, and it’s insta-lust.

    The next time they meet is when Adam tells her he is not renewing the lease on the restaurant. Uh-oh, NOT good would be an understatement.
    They move on to a first date where Adam assures her he will try and convince his client (Amadeus Schlittler) that was after the restaurant to accept an alternate property. That old insta-lust comes in to play again!

    Yes, this was a sweet, fun, easy read with no other men/women and over the top drama that I really did enjoy, with no unnecessary angst and no editing issues either. Sometimes you just need a read that is easy on the stress levels you know, and this was it.

    I am a huge fan of series and this one is an excellent start to a new series and can’t wait to read Ben's story

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I received a copy from the author in exchange for my honest revi

    I received a copy from the author in exchange for my honest review, so here it is. This is a great story. Lia is a chef in Chicago and is a workaholic. With her mom sitting beside her, they travel to her moms friend's cabin by the lake. Apparently her mothers friend won an auction to have Lia cook for them and her mom starts talking about all the sons of the friend. Lia knows what her mom is trying to do, she wants grandkids and keeps trying to set Lia up with a good man. Adam Kelly is a workaholic too, he is a property manager for his fathers company. He doesn't have time to date. When he walks into his mothers cabin, when he sees Lia, he is spellbound. There is electricity sparking between them. Lia and Adam see to drawn to each other. The story will have you glued just to see what happens next. This is the first for me by Crista McHugh and I can't wait for book 2.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2014

    nice book.

    I really enjoyed this book. Wish it was a little bit longer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2014

    the sweetest seduction

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2014

    I enjoyed this book a lot the characters were funny and cute the

    I enjoyed this book a lot the characters were funny and cute the story was not very long it could've ended better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2014

    Sweet love story, quick read.

    I enjoyed this book enough that I want to read the other brothers books. It is a stwnd alone but you will like it enough to read others, I think. A quick read without being a short story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2014

    Anonymous

    Adam and Lia are a passionate couple whom you can't help rooting for. I really enjoyed this book. Two thumbs up!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2014

    I thought it was a great read, clean!!! the way I like em!!

    I thought it was a great read, clean!!! the way I like em!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Iiked the love story

    A very good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Cute@

    Easy read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    A good quick read book.

    A good quick read book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Fun Story

    I had to read it when I read somewhere it was a twist on 7 brides for 7 brothers...the Kelly boys of Chicago.
    Mom Kelly wants grandchildren so she stages a dinner with her friend Emily's daughter Lia & 3 of the 7 Kelly boys. Adam & Lia have instant chemistry...but it turns out he's the landlord of her restaurant...the space he intends NOT to renew....fun story. Can't wait to read the rest of series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Good book

    You people should just read this novel yourselves and write your own review on this book. I really enjoyed reading this novel very much. ShelleyMA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    A great read

    Loved

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Lia is a workaholic. She has big dreams and is willing to sacri

    Lia is a workaholic. She has big dreams and is willing to sacrifice everything to make them come true. She refuses to sit on the sidelines and watch the world go by. Adam has the power to either make or break Lia. With just a word he can shut down her restaurant and her dreams. When the two first met, the chemistry is off the charts. Unfortunately, neither of them realized that theirs would be a working relationship.

    I was pleasantly surprised by The Sweetest Seduction. The characters were fun, the story sweet, and the connection between Lia and Adam was sizzling. The storyline itself was entertaining, and there was enough suspense to keep me wondering exactly how things were going to work themselves out.

    This is the first book I have read by this author, but I will be looking for more from her, and this series in particular. There was just enough of an introduction to each of the other Kelly brothers to make me curious to find out more about them. The writing style is easy and charming and makes for a fun, sexy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    Book exchanged for an honest review Lia Mantovani is executive

    Book exchanged for an honest review

    Lia Mantovani is executive chef and owner of La Arietta. Lia and her mom Emilia are going out of town to make special dinner for one of her mom's friend Maureen Kelly. Emilia and Maureen hope to match up Lia with one of Maureen Kelly's seven sons. Adam Kelly is eldest of the seven trying to keep his father's real estate business making a profit. Adam Kelly is stunned by the beauty currently cooking in the family lake house kitchen. Adam impressed with Lia's culinary skills would like to make time to get to know her personally. Adam is working on business proposal that will make him more money just one small problem~Lia. Adam is trying win famous chef and evict Lia. Will the famous chef or Lia win Adam's business proposal? Will either Adam or Lia admit their feelings? Your answers await you in The Sweetest Seduction.




    Lia is my favorite kind of character driven, smart, honest, and sweet. She knows exactly what she wants and more. Adam Kelly is too busy with all work and no play that he doesn't date neither does Lia. The complete misunderstandings by both Lia and Adam are sweet and poignant. I look forward to my next adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2