Customer Reviews for

The Sweetness of Forgetting

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 10, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book. My mother suffers from dementia, s


    I really enjoyed this book. My mother suffers from dementia, so I could relate to the feelings of the main character when dealing with her grandmother's "good" and "bad" days. I've also spent many years on the Cape, so I enjoyed the setting. I thought the premise was great. Imagine discovering a completely different family history than the one you grew up believing? What feelings of loss would you feel? What would you feel you'd gained? I've read other books by this author and I'm glad she's been able to branch out into another genre. I think you'll like this book (and the food)!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Worth it!

    Won this book before it came out. Its a must read! If you liked sarahs key..you will love this one!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    Had a hard time putting this one down!  It is a fantastic book o

    Had a hard time putting this one down!  It is a fantastic book of life loved and lost and found again!  Very well written.  Best book I have read in ages.  If you need soul searching, pick up this book.  Pass it on to everyone you know!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Love!!!!!!!!

    By far the best ive read in a loooonnngg time! I recommend this book to everyone!! Absolutely loved it! It was so heartfelt!..need tissues!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2012

    AMAZING!! As I write this review, I find myself overwhelmed in h

    AMAZING!!
    As I write this review, I find myself overwhelmed in how to describe "The Sweetness in Forgetting" by Kristin Harmel. It is such an amazing read and there are so many aspects of the story that I want to share, that I feel entirely incapable of doing it justice.

    The book cover and the synopsis, give you the feeling that this is a just another story of a divorced single mother going through "stuff " and, would not have ever been a book I would be interested in if not recommended by author, Sarah Jio. In this case, please don't judge a book by it's cover, although it is beautiful, it is not a good representation of the novel.

    This is a love story but one of great magnitude and on so many levels...For your fellow man, mother for a child, between man and a woman, for traditions, for family, for your hometown, for the legacies left to you by generations previous and for your faith.

    It is a story of overcoming the odds and yet losing yourself in the past. It is a story of horrific tragedy and one of sweet saving grace.

    Words cannot describe the impact this book had on me. I learned so much and it gave me a great many things to really reflect upon....all the makings for a great novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Best book ever! What a wonderful story and the recipes were an added bonus. Could hardly put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    10 stars

    The Sweetness of Forgetting moved me to the core. This is probably one of the best books that I have read in well over a year. Harmel is a gifted storyteller that weaves an amazing story with treads of love, hardship, secrets, second chances, heartbreak, baked goods and history. This story will urge you to learn your family's story, to embrace your family's history. I felt like I was on the journey with Hope to help uncover the truth of the past before it was too late. Harmel gives a voice to Alzheimer's through Rose's voice which is an amazing element to this novel. I absolutely loved EVERYTHING about this novel; the title, the cover, the story, the characters and the ending. This story has become a new favorite, by a new favorite author. If I could I would rate it 10 stars!!! I highly recommend it to EVERYONE, especially book clubs!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Wonderful story.

    Made me fall in love with this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    very good book

    this was a good book, very touching book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    A novel rich with insight on the plight of those of the jewish f

    A novel rich with insight on the plight of those of the jewish faith in occupied France during WWII as told through the research and discovery of a woman tracing her grandmother's roots. Hope McKenna-Smith is an extremely well developed character struggling to balance the aftermath of divorce, an adolescent daughter, a struggling business, and her grandmother's dementia. In less than 400 pages, the author packs in sorrow, joy, mystery, revelation, and profound wisdom.
    I have enjoyed previous books by Kristin Harmel, but this heads the list as being a compelling read and a story of substance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Loved it!

    Had me at the very beginning. A good mix of humor, intrigue and romance. Was one of those books that you just can't put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Wonderful.

    Perfect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    A Must Read Book!

    This is a well written novel uncovering the truth about the journey of a Parisian immagrent through the eyes of her American Grandaughter. It is filled with twists and turns, love and shocking details that encompasses the true spirit of what it means to be an American. The strength and endurance of love bridge the generations of a strong woman who now has Alzheimer's disease, but feels the need to look back once more to see if she can find what happened to those she loved and had to leave behind seven decades ago.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Tessas mom

    I LOVED THIS BOOK you have all the drama and heartache of "sarah's key" combined with an amazing love story What a great story .... I didnt want it to end I will recommend this bookto all my friends WOW !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Great Story!

    I read this book because of Emily Giffin's facebook recommendation. It was a wonderfully written story of one woman's quest to know her family's story. I really enjoyed the way the author weaved the story between present day and Paris during World War 2. If you liked Sarah's Key, you will enjoy this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Beautifuilly Engaging!

    Touched upon many of the things I am most passionate about (love, God, older adults- esp. Those suffering from Alzheimers, baking, foreign language an travel). Loved the characters and enjoyed the recipes threaded throughtout the book. Couldn't put it down!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2012

    Kristin delivers a beautiful and insightful story that takes you

    Kristin delivers a beautiful and insightful story that takes you on a journey through Holocaust history, family and love from the past and present. The story draws you in as Hope uncovers generations of her family's history and how their loss and struggle brought them to where they are today. The Sweetness of Forgetting is a book you won't forget!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2012

    One of Kristin Harmel's best books yet, The Sweetness of Forgett

    One of Kristin Harmel's best books yet, The Sweetness of Forgetting takes you on a reflective journey filled with hope, discovery, sadness, love and a strong sense of family and the role that a family's history has on a person's outlook on life. The book also touches on the effects that Alzheimer's has on an individual and their loved ones and sheds new light on a part of Holocaust history that many are unaware of.

    It is clear that the author has spread her wings in the literary sense without losing the essence of what makes her books loved by her readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2