Customer Reviews for

The Sweetness of Forgetting

Average Rating 4.5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    Had a hard time putting this one down!  It is a fantastic book o

    Had a hard time putting this one down!  It is a fantastic book of life loved and lost and found again!  Very well written.  Best book I have read in ages.  If you need soul searching, pick up this book.  Pass it on to everyone you know!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book. My mother suffers from dementia, s


    I really enjoyed this book. My mother suffers from dementia, so I could relate to the feelings of the main character when dealing with her grandmother's "good" and "bad" days. I've also spent many years on the Cape, so I enjoyed the setting. I thought the premise was great. Imagine discovering a completely different family history than the one you grew up believing? What feelings of loss would you feel? What would you feel you'd gained? I've read other books by this author and I'm glad she's been able to branch out into another genre. I think you'll like this book (and the food)!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    A novel rich with insight on the plight of those of the jewish f

    A novel rich with insight on the plight of those of the jewish faith in occupied France during WWII as told through the research and discovery of a woman tracing her grandmother's roots. Hope McKenna-Smith is an extremely well developed character struggling to balance the aftermath of divorce, an adolescent daughter, a struggling business, and her grandmother's dementia. In less than 400 pages, the author packs in sorrow, joy, mystery, revelation, and profound wisdom.
    I have enjoyed previous books by Kristin Harmel, but this heads the list as being a compelling read and a story of substance.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2012

    AMAZING!! As I write this review, I find myself overwhelmed in h

    AMAZING!!
    As I write this review, I find myself overwhelmed in how to describe "The Sweetness in Forgetting" by Kristin Harmel. It is such an amazing read and there are so many aspects of the story that I want to share, that I feel entirely incapable of doing it justice.

    The book cover and the synopsis, give you the feeling that this is a just another story of a divorced single mother going through "stuff " and, would not have ever been a book I would be interested in if not recommended by author, Sarah Jio. In this case, please don't judge a book by it's cover, although it is beautiful, it is not a good representation of the novel.

    This is a love story but one of great magnitude and on so many levels...For your fellow man, mother for a child, between man and a woman, for traditions, for family, for your hometown, for the legacies left to you by generations previous and for your faith.

    It is a story of overcoming the odds and yet losing yourself in the past. It is a story of horrific tragedy and one of sweet saving grace.

    Words cannot describe the impact this book had on me. I learned so much and it gave me a great many things to really reflect upon....all the makings for a great novel.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Best book ever! What a wonderful story and the recipes were an added bonus. Could hardly put it down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Worth it!

    Won this book before it came out. Its a must read! If you liked sarahs key..you will love this one!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    10 stars

    The Sweetness of Forgetting moved me to the core. This is probably one of the best books that I have read in well over a year. Harmel is a gifted storyteller that weaves an amazing story with treads of love, hardship, secrets, second chances, heartbreak, baked goods and history. This story will urge you to learn your family's story, to embrace your family's history. I felt like I was on the journey with Hope to help uncover the truth of the past before it was too late. Harmel gives a voice to Alzheimer's through Rose's voice which is an amazing element to this novel. I absolutely loved EVERYTHING about this novel; the title, the cover, the story, the characters and the ending. This story has become a new favorite, by a new favorite author. If I could I would rate it 10 stars!!! I highly recommend it to EVERYONE, especially book clubs!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2014

    Great Story

    I read six to eight books a month and have never taken the time to rate a book That's how good this book is--worth every page!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Love!!!!!!!!

    By far the best ive read in a loooonnngg time! I recommend this book to everyone!! Absolutely loved it! It was so heartfelt!..need tissues!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Tessas mom

    I LOVED THIS BOOK you have all the drama and heartache of "sarah's key" combined with an amazing love story What a great story .... I didnt want it to end I will recommend this bookto all my friends WOW !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2012

    One of Kristin Harmel's best books yet, The Sweetness of Forgett

    One of Kristin Harmel's best books yet, The Sweetness of Forgetting takes you on a reflective journey filled with hope, discovery, sadness, love and a strong sense of family and the role that a family's history has on a person's outlook on life. The book also touches on the effects that Alzheimer's has on an individual and their loved ones and sheds new light on a part of Holocaust history that many are unaware of.

    It is clear that the author has spread her wings in the literary sense without losing the essence of what makes her books loved by her readers.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book!!! The story will stay with me for a very long

    I loved this book!!! The story will stay with me for a very long time. Loved the love story and history lessons that were given throughout this book. I now want to go out and buy more of the authors books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2015

    One of the best books I have read in years! There are so many st

    One of the best books I have read in years! There are so many stories revolving around Rose that you completely get lost in this book and don't want to put it down. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2014

    A book for every one.

    One of the most touching, & interesting books I have ever read I would recommend this to all my friends & anyone looking for a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2014

    Excellent!!!!!

    I loved this book! The story is so well written. The characters are woven so well into the story. This is definitely a book worth buying!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2014

    wonderful story

    This is a wonderful story with great characters. There are many quotes which really strike a cord with your heart. Basically, it's a tale of love, sacrifice, loss, and discovery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2014

    Must read.

    This was an amazing heartwarming story. Must read!!! You won't regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2014

    Ms

    Really loved reading this book even though i didn't agree with her philosophy on "religion".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2014

    A beautiful story you must read!

    A lovely story about 4 friends who have been together since childhood. As grown adults, their daily lives have grown apart and they have their ups and downs with one another. But their strong friendship keeps on bringing them back to each other. And all the while, the grandmother of one of the characters somehow cements their relationships as she comes to the end of her life. You will definitely shed some tears:o)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2014

    Highly recommend it!

    I loved the story line. All the facts about the history were awesome! Good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3