Customer Reviews for

The Sword (Sons of Destiny Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 136 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutely wonderful

    I would recommend this book and the whole series of 8. They were so wonderful that You should buy them all so that you can go from one book to the next.
    If this world was a true place I would definately want to live in it. The way they take other world magic and find ways to make the simplist of things from our time into their time is amazing. If you love time travel, suspense, thrills, chills, magic, and love stories then you will definately love the twists and turns and the stories of the eight sons of Destiny. Please Purchase the series and I guarentee you wont be disappointed

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Start!

    This book is a wonderful precursor to the rest of the series. The characters are lively and feisty, and you really get a sense of each of the brothers as individuals. The heroine is independent, witty, and smart, and she easily holds her own in a house full of men. The added intrigue of the mysterious attacks and the prophecy make this a titilating read. Very well written and vividly described. You are transported "through the looking glass" right onto the island along with the Sons of Destiny. I highly recommend that you start here and plow right through the rest of the series, as each book sets the stage for the following.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2009

    A must have book!

    I absolutely loved this book. Once I started reading it I couldn't put it down. The characters are all wonderful and interesting. I really like Jean's writing style. I will definately be reading this entire series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book.

    I only brought this book because it was a "bargain book". Wow, this is the best bargain I've gotten in a very long time. I was hooked from the first word until the last word. I enjoyed the writing style and character development. The world of Nightfall Island is a world I would love to visit!!!!!<BR/>I have already ordered the remaining books of this series and can't wait until this writer has more books released.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2008

    Great first

    So how do I get exiled to this nighfall island? Kelly seemed to be the right girl for the part, very funny, good personality, strong character. The sword is a good, entertaining book. Give it a read and see for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2008

    WOW!!

    Everything you need to curl up and have an out of this world blast, not enough stars here to give.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book was recomended to me by someone in Barnes & Noble, I was standing there looking for someting to read since I had gone through all of another Authors books, and this Woman came up to me and said I wouldn't be dissapointed. It wasn't in my usual interest, but I bought both the 1st and 2nd book, They ended up being very intertaining, I was glad I purchased both, because when I was finished with the 1st I didn't skip a beat reaching for the second. Now If Jean Johnson would get the others done quickly I would really appriciate it. Thank You to the woman in Barnes and Noble.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2007

    A Must Read

    Totally love this book! I laughed so hard and really enjoyed it. I can't wait for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2007

    Romance Fan

    AWESOME BOOK. A MUST READ for any romance fan. This is a laugh out loud, touching and sizzling book all rolled in to one. Can't wait for the next in the series. I cannot recommend this book enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2007

    Fantastic Book - A must read!

    This is a fabulous book. It is a mixture of fantasy, contemporary, and historical romance all in the same book. I found myself gasping and laughing out loud too many times to count. I can't wait to read 'The Wolf' the next in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fun romantic fantasy

    The eight brothers, four sets of twins, live in exile on an island where no one else resides. These powerful mages especially fear females for the prophecy claims if the eldest falls in love, the brotherly octet is doomed. Yet the most powerful of the siblings, the youngest Morganen has brought a woman from some remote dimension in his belief she is the one for the oldest Saber and will somehow turn the first omen on its head. --- American businesswoman Kelly Doyle cannot understand how she ended up a prisoner in the middle of a medieval reenactment when she was moments earlier caught in a deliberately set fire in order to kill her. The brothers free her and like any good drill female sergeant shaping up slovenly male recruits she soon takes over the island, forcing the guys to clean up the castle, the grounds and their act. Saber tries to avoid her out of his fear of what will happen, but Kelly confronts him. As they fall in love, seven of the brothers expect disaster with only Morg thinking otherwise even as an enemy plots to use the newcomer to destroy the eight. --- Enchantments, amusement, and eight hunks and one bewitching woman make for a fun romantic fantasy as Saber insists he¿s not in love while Kelly thinks about modern conveniences that she took for granted. The story line is humorous and magical as the lead pair falls in love while the ill behaved siblings anticipate the worst and an unknown adversary plots to do so. Jean Johnson opens her mini series with a delightful charmer. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2