BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Sword and the Dragon (Revised): The Wardstone Trilogy

Average Rating 4.5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 3 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    Fans of Tolkien, George R.R. Martin and other authors of this ge

    Fans of Tolkien, George R.R. Martin and other authors of this genre should find this to be an enjoyable fantasy epic. This is book one of a trilogy, but it doesnt feel that way. Its definitely a whole tale in its own right. The ending was satisfying but did leave room open for a future, but didnt leave you with that cliffhanger that many book one of… tend to do. The story is a bit slow to build and there are a lot of people to try and keep straight, but I think the effort and patience is well worth it in the end.




    The story pretty much has it all. There are two brothers who find a magical ring and then have a hawk hatch and bring about the beginnings of a prophecy that will take the brothers on a course to battle evil and defend their world against darkness that was released by the designs of an evil wizard.




    They will find their fates entwined in a cast of characters that span the races and imagination. There are kings and lords. Elves and dwarves. Sprites and witches. There is magic both good and evil. This is a world where the animals have a voice of their own and again have a man to hear them.




    It was easy to see where the inspiration for this book came from and as a lover of the fantasy genre in general, I was pleased to see little snippets of familiarity but not so much so that the story didnt feel fresh and exciting. I really did enjoy getting to know Hyden, Gerard, Mik, Loudin, Vaegon, Talon, Willa, Grr and the rest of the cast both good and evil. Im looking forward to book two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    To be honest, I am use to reading from a girl's perspective in b

    To be honest, I am use to reading from a girl's perspective in books and, most of the time, from one point of view; it's just normal to me. Of course, this book is much different. I found the characters interesting and they entrapped me into their fantasy world. The world building is clear and wonderful.
    The flow of the story is well done; it keeps you moving forward at a steady pace. Did I mention that the editing on this is also great? Nothing is perfect, but this book was very well done.

    --Ashley M.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    Talk about a CLIFF HANGER!

    Title;The Sword and the Dragon (The Wardstone trilogy Book One)
    Author: M. R. Mathias
    Publisher: Self published
    Published: July 2010
    Genre: Fantasy/Mythology

    Rating: ZZZZ ( 4 stars)

    Startzz”s out with a “Cliff Hanger” and the crescendo does not stop till the last page that makes you want to read the next two books. It takes the reader on an adventure right along with the characters and completely engrosses your imagination so there is no way to figure out what is going to happen. It transports you into a world where dragons, wizards, giants and dwarfs dwell amongst the humans who are on a quest of their own. The vivid descriptions of the places and beings will stay with you long after you finish this book. You will cheer for the brothers Hyden and Gerard and feel as if you are right there with them as they conquer and complete their journeys.

    It does everything that a fantasy read should do.. Transports you.. to another time and… place that only exists in your imagination and takes you away on an exciting trip.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 3 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1