Customer Reviews for

The Taken (Celestial Blues Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 315 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(95)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(67)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

61 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

I'M A SUCKER FOR A SEXY GUMSHOE I received an ARC of this book

I'M A SUCKER FOR A SEXY GUMSHOE

I received an ARC of this book from the Publisher in preparation for an Event that LITERAL ADDICTION was doing with Vicki in mid-June 2012. I'm a fan of Ms. Pettersson's, and seeing that this was the first in a new series I was seriously...
I'M A SUCKER FOR A SEXY GUMSHOE

I received an ARC of this book from the Publisher in preparation for an Event that LITERAL ADDICTION was doing with Vicki in mid-June 2012. I'm a fan of Ms. Pettersson's, and seeing that this was the first in a new series I was seriously intrigued. Not to mention that the blurb was original and that peaked my interests even more.

In preparation of the read I did a little research and saw that the pre-release reader reviews were quite low rated. While I didn't let that impact my decision to start the book or my thoughts, it was always in the back of my mind. After finishing, I have to say that I'm very shocked at the low reviews. I REALLY enjoyed it!

It was a heart pumping mystery with intense action, old fashioned romance, and just enough of the preternatural to keep it in my 'usually preferred' genre, and while it's a long book, I read it in 3 sittings.

I adore Grif. Maybe because I've always been an absolute sucker for the dicks & gumshoes of the past - the Humphrey Bogarts and Dick Tracys of the world. Those smart, sexy, intense, standoffish, sleuthy men who could solve a crime by finding a book of matches. Those that while maybe not classically handsome could still make your heart swoon with just their smarts, a cock-eyed fedora and a trenchcoat. *sigh* Grif is all that and a bag of chips! LOL. He's uber sexy, tortured, haunted, smart (and smart-a**), plus... he's an angel (literally).

Kit is an amazing heroine as well. She takes on the world with a smile, all the while staying true to herself despite what others think. She's also strong, smart, and compassionate and an incredible investigative journalist (a profession I thoroughly enjoy in my fiction).

Together, these two are the ultimate pair, yet their relationship is tragically flawed and utterly doomed from the start. It made you cheer them on and wish for the best even more, and made my heart swell anytime anything did go their way breaking through Grif's ice and bringing one of those wide smiles to Kit's face.

I loved the book and I'm really looking forward to the sequel!

I have to say that while I enjoyed the action, mystery and romance, my favorite part of the book was the underlying message - that life is meant to be lived, enjoyed one day at a time to its fullest, and that death shouldn't be feared, because dying means you were once truly alive.

LITERAL ADDICTION gives The Taken 4 1/2 Skulls and would recommend it to all Urban Fantasy and Mystery lovers, especially those with a penchant for vintage PI and Detective work.

posted by LITERALADDICTION_MLO on June 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

TO BN

CANT YOU PUT SOME OTHER KIND OF BOOK AS FREE FRIDAY? OR ATLAST DO DIFERENT THEMES FOR FREE FRIDAYS? LIKE HAVE FOUR FREE BOOKS? FICTION OMANCE FANTASTY HORROR?

posted by Jason2 on March 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Good beach read

    Good beach read

    9 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    To hello please read

    I would not have liked this when I was 14. And I would not want my 14 year old reading it, if I had one, but I am rather old fashioned. Hope this helps you.

    6 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Won't download

    How can i solve the problem? Please help, i want this book today without any problems.

    3 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    So-so

    Griffin Shaw is a Centurion - an angel who takes newly-dead souls to the Everlast. He takes pity on a newly-dead woman, Nicole, and brings her back to life so she can change her clothes (because, of course, you spend eternity in te clothes you die in). This makes his superiors angry, so they transform him into a living human, where he meets Nic's best friend, Kit Craig. Journalists Kit and Nic were working to uncover a prostitution ring and Nic was killed because of their work on the story. Kit is next to die, but Grif has a hard time carrying out his orders. The storyline revolves around their sleuthing attempts to discover Nic's killer and their growing attraction to each other, which Grif resists because of his need to discover how his wife was killed - and the fact that, as an angel, he doesn't want to get involved with a human. I was tired of the plot by the time the novel ended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    No stars

    Starts ok runs down hill quickly. Thinly veiled smear of the LDS faith of wich the author seems clueless.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    The taken

    Free friday book will not down load, please fix the problem, Henry

    2 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    The only saving grace was that it was free...

    I understand why they were offering this book for free. While I give credit to the author for coming up with an interesting take on the supernatural theme - the story did not work for me. It was too jumbled without enough information or back story to make sense of the characters and the world they lived in. I did like Griffin, but felt the angel world was too bizarre in a way that made no sense. I wouldn't read another story in this series again.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Reader

    Not worth you time.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Can't download - repeatedly tried

    Too bad- it sounds like a fun read.

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Won Will not download :-(

    Would like to read it.

    1 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Kindle

    Wish I had Kindle. Nook highly disappointing. Poor apps, poor free books. Amazon has tons of free books, not just one, one day a week. Would get a Kindle if I had to do it over again. Nook is an also ran. When my friends ask me. I say get a Kindle. I regret my choice.

    1 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Couldn't finish

    I hated this book, Sorry but I couldn't even finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    I'm disappointed that I was disappointed

    I really wanted to like this; I loved the premise and the writing was very good. What I couldn't get past was the author's use of rockabilly as a lifestyle. It's a music genre, not an actual lifestyle. She describes a retro/noir lefestyle, utterly fifties. I think that's great and could totally go with that but to constantly refer to it as rockabilly just grated on me. I lasred until page 50, then gave up. Silly, I know, but there you are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Don't be Taken by this book!

    I think this book was one of the free Friday selections from Barnes and Noble. It was trash all the way through, but I had to finish it. It's about an angel who goofs up and has to take a human form in order to fix his mess. Somewhat similar to the HBO tv series, Dead Like Me. I really liked that show by the way. The Taken is the start of a new series by this author. There were too many different elements that were thrown in to this book that it was hard to follow. It was like the author felt that in order to sell this book she had to include all of these other sidelines. So you have angels, murder, rockabilly lifestyle (that was a new one for me), incest/prostitution, Mormon polygamy, dirty cops, betrayal, oh, and it's a love story. It is a stupid story and I'm embarrassed that I finished this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Just couldn't read it

    I usually love all of Vickie's works, but this was just too slow and hard to follow. 60 pages in and just had to quit. Just not my cup of tea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Ca Wont dowm Wont download!!!

    Cant read what you cant get!!

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Book wont download!

    Book will not down load! Whats up with that! Frist time this happen to me and my nook table! Can some one fix this,it seem like a great read.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Wont download

    Grrrr

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Virus

    No

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Will not download

    O well theres always next friday!

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2