Customer Reviews for

The Taken (Celestial Blues Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 315 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(96)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

61 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

I'M A SUCKER FOR A SEXY GUMSHOE I received an ARC of this book

I'M A SUCKER FOR A SEXY GUMSHOE

I received an ARC of this book from the Publisher in preparation for an Event that LITERAL ADDICTION was doing with Vicki in mid-June 2012. I'm a fan of Ms. Pettersson's, and seeing that this was the first in a new series I was seriously...
I'M A SUCKER FOR A SEXY GUMSHOE

I received an ARC of this book from the Publisher in preparation for an Event that LITERAL ADDICTION was doing with Vicki in mid-June 2012. I'm a fan of Ms. Pettersson's, and seeing that this was the first in a new series I was seriously intrigued. Not to mention that the blurb was original and that peaked my interests even more.

In preparation of the read I did a little research and saw that the pre-release reader reviews were quite low rated. While I didn't let that impact my decision to start the book or my thoughts, it was always in the back of my mind. After finishing, I have to say that I'm very shocked at the low reviews. I REALLY enjoyed it!

It was a heart pumping mystery with intense action, old fashioned romance, and just enough of the preternatural to keep it in my 'usually preferred' genre, and while it's a long book, I read it in 3 sittings.

I adore Grif. Maybe because I've always been an absolute sucker for the dicks & gumshoes of the past - the Humphrey Bogarts and Dick Tracys of the world. Those smart, sexy, intense, standoffish, sleuthy men who could solve a crime by finding a book of matches. Those that while maybe not classically handsome could still make your heart swoon with just their smarts, a cock-eyed fedora and a trenchcoat. *sigh* Grif is all that and a bag of chips! LOL. He's uber sexy, tortured, haunted, smart (and smart-a**), plus... he's an angel (literally).

Kit is an amazing heroine as well. She takes on the world with a smile, all the while staying true to herself despite what others think. She's also strong, smart, and compassionate and an incredible investigative journalist (a profession I thoroughly enjoy in my fiction).

Together, these two are the ultimate pair, yet their relationship is tragically flawed and utterly doomed from the start. It made you cheer them on and wish for the best even more, and made my heart swell anytime anything did go their way breaking through Grif's ice and bringing one of those wide smiles to Kit's face.

I loved the book and I'm really looking forward to the sequel!

I have to say that while I enjoyed the action, mystery and romance, my favorite part of the book was the underlying message - that life is meant to be lived, enjoyed one day at a time to its fullest, and that death shouldn't be feared, because dying means you were once truly alive.

LITERAL ADDICTION gives The Taken 4 1/2 Skulls and would recommend it to all Urban Fantasy and Mystery lovers, especially those with a penchant for vintage PI and Detective work.

posted by LITERALADDICTION_MLO on June 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

TO BN

CANT YOU PUT SOME OTHER KIND OF BOOK AS FREE FRIDAY? OR ATLAST DO DIFERENT THEMES FOR FREE FRIDAYS? LIKE HAVE FOUR FREE BOOKS? FICTION OMANCE FANTASTY HORROR?

posted by Jason2 on March 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good start to a series. I was impressed with this book and will

    Good start to a series. I was impressed with this book and will be watching for the next in the series. The private investigator angel trying to do his job by collecting a journalists soul. I am curious where the series will go. I like the private investigator/mystery feel to the book. There was some good ground work for developing characters that will bring me back to the series.

    22 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    50s noir in modern times Rockabilly lifestyle, angelic hosts, an

    50s noir in modern times
    Rockabilly lifestyle, angelic hosts, and a murder mystery combine to create interesting characters and complex plots in a manner we've come to expect from author Vicki Pettersson. To fans of her Zodiac series, do not expect more of the same. While the world she crafts in Celestial Blues is every bit as intricate and novel as in the Zodiac series, the fantastical elements are much more subdued in The Taken. Subdued, however, does not mean nonexistent and the elements of paranormal add to the overall flavor of the book without wholly overwhelming it as so often happens in Urban Fantasy.

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    There is a lot to enjoy in The Taken. The two main characters,


    There is a lot to enjoy in The Taken. The two main characters, Griffin 'Grif" Shaw and Katherine 'Kit' Craig, are wonderful. I love Kit. She's an interesting mix of incurable optimist and pit bull. She tries to live life beautifully, adopting a Rockabilly aesthetic, while at the same time relentlessly pursuing stories as a journalist. She will not stop until she gets the truth. Griffin Shaw, Grif, is the real noir deal. An authentic P.I. from the 50s who was violently killed and has a chance to find out what happened 50 years ago. He is the epitome of tall, dark, and silent with a little grumpy thrown in. He definitely sees things differently than Kit. The dance of their relationship is one of the highlights of The Taken.


    What draws Kit and Grif together are 2 murder mysteries set 50 years apart - what happened to Grif and his wife and what is happening now. While working on solving the mysteries we see what makes both Kit and Grif tick. Ms. Pettersson does a terrific job of giving us information about both of them over the course of the novel to show how they became who they are now. Because of the difference in eras in which the murders were committed we get to see into Las Vegas of 50 years ago and Las Vegas now. I like how Rockabilly ties Grif's era with Kit, who embraces the Rockabilly lifestyle in the present day.


    Another highlight of The Taken is the angelology. Ms. Pettersson's take on angels, the heavens, and what happens after death iss outstanding. This also is nicely doled out over the course of the novel.


    My only quibble with The Taken is the slow going in the beginning. The Taken picks up steam, however, and is well worth the read. I must also point out that Ms. Pettersson slings descriptive phrases with the best of them. I can't tell you how many times I noted a phrase from the novel that delighted me.


    Bottom Line: Ms. Pettersson combines the celestial, the underbelly of Las Vegas, Rockabilly, noir, and mystery, mixes in some wonderful characters, and delivers a great read. The Celestial Blues series is on my must buy list.


    I give The Taken 4 1/2 Qwills. Review Copy: ARC from Publisher.

    8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    I STAYED UP ALL NIGHT READING THIS ONE! I don't understand why

    I STAYED UP ALL NIGHT READING THIS ONE!

    I don't understand why some people are giving it "one star" with no real critique. If it's not your type of story, don't read it and don't rate it!

    Pettersson has created a story that is well written and very engaging. Her characters are colorful, and the plot flows smoothly. I don't normally have time to read leisure material, but this is one Free Friday story that immediately piqued my interest. Highly recommended!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Fun to read.

    This was a fun and entertaing book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Enjoyed this book. Characters are compelling even if they are to

    Enjoyed this book. Characters are compelling even if they are tormented. Minor characters are interesting too. Good start to a series,  because it left me wanting to see what comes next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Great story

    Really enjoyed this story! Can't wait to read the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Good

    Was a good book. Very exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    B+

    I enjoyed reading this book. It did not bore me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    wow! couldn't put this down

    i love strong female characters and the men that can handle it. this story kept moving and provided some surprises. the supernatural was well explained and created a different look of the afterlife. thoroughly enjoyable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Refreshing yet confusing

    Takes some getting used to but worth it for its originality

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Very different from what I usually read (mainly the angel aspect

    Very different from what I usually read (mainly the angel aspect) but it was very good. Hope to get more answers in the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Angels & Rockabilly Babes & Vegas PIs, oh my!

    This book combines some elements that I have never seen combined before. It's a romance, murder mystery, corruption scandal tale with angels, a Vegas PI, a rockabilly subculture, Mormon polygamists, and much more. Quite enjoyable, and definitely not for the kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Great read

    One of the better books I've read in a long time. Once I got hooked, I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Solid story

    Solid story. Nice finish. Read in two days. Would recommend and look forward to reading sequal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2013

    Good reading

    Story of an angle that comes to earth to take people who have passed away to heaven. He soon takes on flesh so he can find out who killed his wife. He soon has to protect a reporter who is helping him as someone is trying to kill her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    very interesting

    I enjoyed this book. didn't like the dirty side of Vegas & of the rich & powerful, but I did enjoy the romance & story otherwise. I'd recomend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Good read

    Couldnt wait to buy the secon one i enjoyed them boh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2013

    It wasn┬┐t love at first sight. No, it was more like casual curio

    It wasn’t love at first sight. No, it was more like casual curiosity in a sea of strangers where one stood out a little more than all the rest, wearing a tailored suit and an upturned do whereas the other women wore red dresses and spiked heels. But I was intrigued enough to continue the flirtatious glances, and she was inviting enough to offer up those baby blues and batted eyelashes and slight smiles when I least expected them, and before either of us realized it, the glances led to a conversation and the conversation led to dancing, and ultimately to a night neither of us would ever forget.

    And it would be easy to classify Grif and Kit in a similar fashion, as their relationship started off rockier than a wooden rollercoaster in the middle of a windstorm. But there was a spark, a flare, and a need inside of them that had more pull than an undertow. Grif’s hard-boiled voice carried this story to new heights, while Kit proved every bit as tough as her pencil skirts and sharp tongue, and her milky skin was as pure as a fresh snowfall.

    THE TAKEN took me for a ride I won’t soon forget, and I’m more than a little intrigued to discover what happens next for Grif and Kit. In a sea of books that sometimes strive to be more alike than they are different, I’m always delighted when I find a fresh voice, a fresh twist, or a combination of factors that individually aren’t any different than what I’ve already discovered so far, but when combined create a brand new element.

    This novel offered me a glimpse behind a curtain, and I want to peel back the rest of the red velvet and discover what other joys wait for me on the other side.

    Robert Downs
    Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2013

    Pettersson's Vegas: I want to go to there

    4.5 stars - just the right book at just the right time for this reader. Pettersson once again sets an Urban Fantasy in her hometown of Las Vegas, but this one is lighter in tone than her Zodiac series (according to an interview with her, I haven't read those - yet). I'm looking forward to reading the next book in the Celestial Blues series, The Lost, and also planning on going back to try out the Zodiac series, starting with The Scent of Shadows.

    Griffin "Grif" Shaw is a Centurion, an angel who helps souls cross into the Everlast, especially those who died violently - just as he did fifty years ago. Grif still wants to find out who killed his wife, Evie, the love of his life. His superiors keep telling him to let go of the past and to be more sensitive toward the sould he's assigned to help. One day he comes to collect the soul of a news photographer posing as a prostitute, and against his better judgement he grants her a brief couple minutes of life again before taking her away. That was enough time for her to leave a message pointing to her killer and endanger her best friend's life.

    Katherine "Kit" Craig is a newspaper reporter for her family-owned paper who dresses and lives the rockabilly lifestyle. She is full of life and always in search of the truth. She's waiting outside the motel where her best friend has gone undercover to help expose a prostitution ring when she sees a man dressed as if her were one of the Rat Pack staring out the window. Within mere hours she would be brutally attacked - with the intent to rape and kill - in her own her home.

    Griffin Shaw is right there, in Kit's bedroom, when the attack comes. He's also supposed to collect Kit's soul before leaving earth. Fortunately for Kit, Grif acts on impulse and appears out of nowhere to save her and beat up her attackers. Now Grif's in some real trouble with the heavenly host, and has been banished to earth to once again don weak and sinful flesh until he is able to let Kit Craig die and bring her soul home. Only he can't because he decides to protect her and help her figure out who murdered her best friend and uncover what's going on with forced prostitution in exchange for the ace reporter's help in solving his wife's fifty year old murder case.

    Reason's I really liked this book: the characters are fully drawn and believable and provide some great dialogue, the world building of Sin City and the rockabilly culture played against that of the actual 1950's from Shaw's point of view and some old timers who are still around, the whole angel / urban fantasy set up and the story itself was gripping and kept me turning (electronic) pages. *Warning though, there are some slightly disturbing scenes involving forced prostitution of underage girls and there's a fair helping of violence toward women (by the bad guys) and violence in general. Still, very enjoyable and highly recommended for fans of Jim Butcher, Laurell K. Hamilton, or Tad William's newest Bobby Dollar series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5