Customer Reviews for

The Tale Of Emma Ott

Average Rating 3.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Good read

Ran across this one, liked the cover art, looked interesting. It was a really good, quick read, the characters were fun, a different kind of story than I expected. I liked the relationship with Emma and Thomas, looking forward to the next one.

posted by mary-j-9891- on December 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

What????

The way the book starts makes you feel like you are reading the sequal to something instead of the first book...just NO..do not buy

posted by italianhomeslice on April 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    Good read

    Ran across this one, liked the cover art, looked interesting. It was a really good, quick read, the characters were fun, a different kind of story than I expected. I liked the relationship with Emma and Thomas, looking forward to the next one.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Great read

    Very good storyline. I enjoy fantasy novels and this book flowed nicely in that genre. I thought the author's story concept was well thought out. I felt that overall, this story could be further explored and developed and I look forward to Mrs. Taylor's next volume.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    A nice surprise!

    I rather enjoyed this book! There were some places in the book were...I don't know...maybe a little to detailed and the story seemed to drag on a bit. Overall, it was a new take on Merlin and Camelot that I have nver seen before. I couldn't stop reading until the end and now I am ancious for the second book so that I may continue the story!

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Chilvary has not died

    If you like camelot, merlin, time travel and chilvary with a love story you will like tthe begining of this series.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    What????

    The way the book starts makes you feel like you are reading the sequal to something instead of the first book...just NO..do not buy

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    High recommendation on this one

    If you are seeking a book to capture your emagination than look no more. You won't want to put it down.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Anonymous

    The end of the book tells us this is is the end of book one. Yes I would like to read the next. The last 100 pages of this 414 page book went on and on. What an imagination. I liked it.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    Really enjoyable read

    I really enjoyed this book and I will definately keep my eyes on this auther for future publications. Give it a go you will be glad you did!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Okay

    This was a bit far fetched but VERY LONG and does get boring. Dont get the $4 one if you do get one just buy the free version.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Dont do it

    This was the hardest book to read. Way too much describing and dragging the same info out. Awful book

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    TERRIBLE

    At first it started out to be a really good book. But as the more I got into it i disliked it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    this book is everything that is wrong with ebooks. just because

    this book is everything that is wrong with ebooks. just because anyone CAN write a book and put it out there for the world to read, does not mean that anyone SHOULD. don't get me wrong, i love my nook and my free ebooks. i have found many good series and some of my favorite authors that way. but for every one amazing book i read for free, there are ten others that make me want to tear my eyes out and throw them at the author. this is one of those books.
    i was literally in pain while reading this book. it gave me headaches. and stomachaches. i had to stop reading every 30 minutes to give myself a break.
    i don't even know where to begin with the things that are wrong with this book. in no particular order, here are the worst things about this book:
    1. the "slang." apparently this book starts out in 2011. when i first started reading it, i thought it was in the 1980s, possibly 1990s. obviously it has been decades since this author was a teenager as she has absolutely no idea how they speak. it was so horribly forced. "I'M GOING TO USE EVERY SLANG WORD I CAN THINK OF IN ALL THE SENTENCES THEN I'LL SOUND YOUNG." no. just no.
    2. random facts that have nothing to do with nothing. apparently the main character lived in hawaii at one point. does this have anything to do with the plot? nope. but she talks about it for a couple pages.
    3. rambling descriptions of crap and then skimming over the actually important plot points. she'll spend pages and pages and pages going on and on and on about the scenery or emma's hair or emma's conflicted feelings about thomas or the color of the sky. and during these endless pages, she'll reuse the same phrases over and over and over again until you start to panic because you think you're caught in a never-ending loop of horrible metaphors. eventually the cycle breaks and you actually get excited because something is happening and hey, maybe the author will choose to ramble about something important! nope. not even. "we fought against the evil creatures. we won. we walked back home." WHAT.
    4. the horrible, horrible, HORRIBLE typos. there is just no excuse for them. here's a couple of my favorites:
    "This had become scared ground." REALLY? that ground is scared stiff!
    "He cried out his innocents." NO! NOT THE INNOCENT CHILDREN!
    5. historical inaccuracies. really, if you're going to right a story about time-travel, TAKE THE FREAKING TIME TO DO YOUR RESEARCH.
    6. the fact that the entire time emma was stranded in a completely different century, instead of having a complete mental breakdown like a normal teenager, she's all "oh, well, i just won't think about it. OHEMGEE LOOK AT THE CUTE BOY."
    7. no 18 year old boy i have met would fall in love with a 15 year old girl. especially not after knowing her for 2 weeks. just...no.
    8. just the really, really awful writing. let me share my favorite passage.
    +Thomas rolled over, grabbing for me, tickling me, like he might his kid sister Anne. I moved around, laughing with Thomas, playing our little game, when he kissed me again and that time it tackled me, smacking me in the middle, my feelings.
    IT SMACKED ME RIGHT IN MY FEELINGS.
    don't read this book. for the love of all good literature, DO NOT READ THIS BOOK.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Superficial, Boring, Irrational, and Generally Bad

    This author could use several lessons in character development, how to pace a story, depth and detail, and all sorts of other things. It also wouldn't hurt to have an intelligent main character who picks up on clues without having things spelled out for her. Emma was irrational and logic-defying, and no other characters were worth knowing.

    The beginning was very compelling, leading me to hope, but that was soon crushed. I skimmed the pages for most of the first 100 but barely got past that before becoming so repulsed with the style of writing that I had to delete it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Needs editing

    This story idea was interesting, but the potential was not met. It contains plot inconsistancies and unneeded repitition as well as numerous spelling and gramatical errors. Overall, the story seems to have been written by a pre-teen who had a short attention span and needs a good editor.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Respond with BO REDP respond with 2 BOOK

    Where is the second book anyone knows

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Anonymous

    It was OK. The writing style was odd though. It was all narration with very little dialoge

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    *

    Very disappointed! The last 50 pages probablymore said the same thing over and over again. No point to read book two I lost interest,what a shame this could have been a really good book, however there was way to much left out in the open at the end.........

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Very good!

    "Be careful what you wish for" Oooo! The first sentence of this book pulled me in! This is very good! I totally recomend it. Also the first sentencr reminded me of BRAVE!!!:))

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Realistic much?!? Not!

    This bpoks dialoge and sentence wording are not very well writtwn, the first few chapters are not interesting at all and just feel like run ons. The book repeats itself... ALOT! Overall I say this books a 2.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Anonomous

    This was an overall good book, it jst draged on. I think that this book would have been better if it was divided into two books, instead of being a almost 600 pg. book. The Tale of Emma Ott had awonderful storyline and all, it just felt to long to read in one sitting. There were many places were it could have stopped and could have picked up in a 2nd book. I realy would recomend this book to everyone, as long as they have the time. :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3