Customer Reviews for

The Tale Of Emma Ott

Average Rating 3.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Good read

Ran across this one, liked the cover art, looked interesting. It was a really good, quick read, the characters were fun, a different kind of story than I expected. I liked the relationship with Emma and Thomas, looking forward to the next one.

posted by mary-j-9891- on December 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

What????

The way the book starts makes you feel like you are reading the sequal to something instead of the first book...just NO..do not buy

posted by italianhomeslice on April 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    What????

    The way the book starts makes you feel like you are reading the sequal to something instead of the first book...just NO..do not buy

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Dont do it

    This was the hardest book to read. Way too much describing and dragging the same info out. Awful book

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    this book is everything that is wrong with ebooks. just because

    this book is everything that is wrong with ebooks. just because anyone CAN write a book and put it out there for the world to read, does not mean that anyone SHOULD. don't get me wrong, i love my nook and my free ebooks. i have found many good series and some of my favorite authors that way. but for every one amazing book i read for free, there are ten others that make me want to tear my eyes out and throw them at the author. this is one of those books.
    i was literally in pain while reading this book. it gave me headaches. and stomachaches. i had to stop reading every 30 minutes to give myself a break.
    i don't even know where to begin with the things that are wrong with this book. in no particular order, here are the worst things about this book:
    1. the "slang." apparently this book starts out in 2011. when i first started reading it, i thought it was in the 1980s, possibly 1990s. obviously it has been decades since this author was a teenager as she has absolutely no idea how they speak. it was so horribly forced. "I'M GOING TO USE EVERY SLANG WORD I CAN THINK OF IN ALL THE SENTENCES THEN I'LL SOUND YOUNG." no. just no.
    2. random facts that have nothing to do with nothing. apparently the main character lived in hawaii at one point. does this have anything to do with the plot? nope. but she talks about it for a couple pages.
    3. rambling descriptions of crap and then skimming over the actually important plot points. she'll spend pages and pages and pages going on and on and on about the scenery or emma's hair or emma's conflicted feelings about thomas or the color of the sky. and during these endless pages, she'll reuse the same phrases over and over and over again until you start to panic because you think you're caught in a never-ending loop of horrible metaphors. eventually the cycle breaks and you actually get excited because something is happening and hey, maybe the author will choose to ramble about something important! nope. not even. "we fought against the evil creatures. we won. we walked back home." WHAT.
    4. the horrible, horrible, HORRIBLE typos. there is just no excuse for them. here's a couple of my favorites:
    "This had become scared ground." REALLY? that ground is scared stiff!
    "He cried out his innocents." NO! NOT THE INNOCENT CHILDREN!
    5. historical inaccuracies. really, if you're going to right a story about time-travel, TAKE THE FREAKING TIME TO DO YOUR RESEARCH.
    6. the fact that the entire time emma was stranded in a completely different century, instead of having a complete mental breakdown like a normal teenager, she's all "oh, well, i just won't think about it. OHEMGEE LOOK AT THE CUTE BOY."
    7. no 18 year old boy i have met would fall in love with a 15 year old girl. especially not after knowing her for 2 weeks. just...no.
    8. just the really, really awful writing. let me share my favorite passage.
    +Thomas rolled over, grabbing for me, tickling me, like he might his kid sister Anne. I moved around, laughing with Thomas, playing our little game, when he kissed me again and that time it tackled me, smacking me in the middle, my feelings.
    IT SMACKED ME RIGHT IN MY FEELINGS.
    don't read this book. for the love of all good literature, DO NOT READ THIS BOOK.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Superficial, Boring, Irrational, and Generally Bad

    This author could use several lessons in character development, how to pace a story, depth and detail, and all sorts of other things. It also wouldn't hurt to have an intelligent main character who picks up on clues without having things spelled out for her. Emma was irrational and logic-defying, and no other characters were worth knowing.

    The beginning was very compelling, leading me to hope, but that was soon crushed. I skimmed the pages for most of the first 100 but barely got past that before becoming so repulsed with the style of writing that I had to delete it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Needs editing

    This story idea was interesting, but the potential was not met. It contains plot inconsistancies and unneeded repitition as well as numerous spelling and gramatical errors. Overall, the story seems to have been written by a pre-teen who had a short attention span and needs a good editor.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Excuse my rating...

    I guess il try it!!!

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1