Customer Reviews for

The Tale Of Emma Ott

Average Rating 3.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Good read

Ran across this one, liked the cover art, looked interesting. It was a really good, quick read, the characters were fun, a different kind of story than I expected. I liked the relationship with Emma and Thomas, looking forward to the next one.

posted by mary-j-9891- on December 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

What????

The way the book starts makes you feel like you are reading the sequal to something instead of the first book...just NO..do not buy

posted by italianhomeslice on April 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Anonymous

    It was OK. The writing style was odd though. It was all narration with very little dialoge

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Anonomous

    This was an overall good book, it jst draged on. I think that this book would have been better if it was divided into two books, instead of being a almost 600 pg. book. The Tale of Emma Ott had awonderful storyline and all, it just felt to long to read in one sitting. There were many places were it could have stopped and could have picked up in a 2nd book. I realy would recomend this book to everyone, as long as they have the time. :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    interesting spin

    Not bad for a free book. Was kinda slow in my opinion and ended right when it finally was getting good.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Read this if u want the truth

    This book was a three star book bc oof its lack of interest the book didnt really catch my attension as ell as someboois might have i would recomend it if u like books where u cant decude whether u should keep reading it or not bc it has some really really boring parts which u think the authoor needs to work on how to make the book they righting interesting

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2012

    I really want to give this a good review, because I think the au

    I really want to give this a good review, because I think the author has real potential...but, it needs work. The concept is great, Emma is intriguing (when she's not wallowing in teenage angst, or overreacting verbally - you want her to just get a clue and think before she starts blathering about something), the research the author did was probably quite extensive. The one glaring annoyance that jerks the reader away from the story is dialogue between Thomas and Emma. Thomas' language was SO far out of his time it was very jarring and would jerk me out of the story. I thoroughly enjoyed how when the story calls for action and threat to the characters, the author is marvelous - the reader is pulled along, reading as fast as possible. But there are WAY too many pages of the same descriptions of surroundings, over and over, and wrestling with the same feelings and concerns, over and over (as someone else said, the last 100 pages need to be deleted). Very good effort and a rewrite would make this a book to highly recommend.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Confusing.

    Easy to read but the book almost seemed as if it couldn't make up it's mind what kind of genre to be. At times seemed like a fanatasy, but other times seemed like verging toward romance. The timeline aspects were too confusing to sort out.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Interesting

    I enjoyed it. It was a little slow to start and there are some typos but all in all a good read. :-)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1