BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Tales of Beedle the Bard (Harry Potter Series)

Average Rating 4
( 910 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(503)

4 Star

(198)

3 Star

(139)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

79 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

Loved it

For all the people who gave it negative reviews...I don't think that they understand that this wasn't meant to be a full on NOVEL like Harry Potter. IT'S NOT MEANT TO BE READ AS A FULL NOVEL. The point of the entire book was to allow people to get further glimspe into t...
For all the people who gave it negative reviews...I don't think that they understand that this wasn't meant to be a full on NOVEL like Harry Potter. IT'S NOT MEANT TO BE READ AS A FULL NOVEL. The point of the entire book was to allow people to get further glimspe into the wizarding world and to understand the types of fairy tales/ fables the wizards grew up with. She references the fairy tales/ fables so much in the last book...so it's nice to understand what she was talking about. I mean, you don't take Aesop's Fables or even traditional fairy tales that you grew up with and compare that to any full flegded series or even novel. The fairy tales and fables we grew up with are meant to be tradition just as these fables are "traditional" for the "wizards and withces".

posted by rnary on December 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

I Don't Think People Get It ...

I'm looking at reviews here and I'm seeing people complaining that it's not her usual writing style, or that there are so few regular characters mentioned, etc.

Has anyone here read the original Grimm Fairy Tales? Yes? Ah, then you see my point already! She is...
I'm looking at reviews here and I'm seeing people complaining that it's not her usual writing style, or that there are so few regular characters mentioned, etc.

Has anyone here read the original Grimm Fairy Tales? Yes? Ah, then you see my point already! She is mimicking the style of those German brothers, using various stories and an older, less entertaining/descriptive writing style. Go ahead, look up the original Grimm-Cinderella. Then compare it to JKs Hairy Heart. See the resemblance? Dumbledore's added criticisms at the end keep the book from getting too drab, throwing in a voice we recognize that adds flavor to the somewhat bland book otherwise. I don't think the book was supposed to be entertaining overall. Interesting, with hidden morals? Yes, of course. Again, it emulates the older style that was used to make children behave well or learn something.

I will somewhat agree on the price-to-length ratio. If they kept the price but had waited a bit longer, added a few stories ... I think that would have made a difference. I understand that, by buying the book you are contributing to an organization for the well-being of children (as with the Monster Book of Monsters or the Quidditch handbook) but the price makes it a drag, even for die-hard Potter fans (myself included).

I think this is best for people who really really REALLY love Potter, willing to shell out $13. It's best for learning a bit about the history of the Wizarding world, a bit. It also includes some drama and controversy such as books in the real world do (for example, The Hopping Pot, apparently, can be told with a different ending, depending on whether or not the parents support Muggles) and might be good for sharing with young kids as one might with the Grimm fairy tales.

Now, do you all understand? It's not supposed to be another adventure story. It's a spin off of sorts from the Grimm fairy tales, but in the voice of the wizards from Harry Potter's world.

posted by AmandaStockwell on January 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 910 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 46
  • Posted December 7, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it

    For all the people who gave it negative reviews...I don't think that they understand that this wasn't meant to be a full on NOVEL like Harry Potter. IT'S NOT MEANT TO BE READ AS A FULL NOVEL. The point of the entire book was to allow people to get further glimspe into the wizarding world and to understand the types of fairy tales/ fables the wizards grew up with. She references the fairy tales/ fables so much in the last book...so it's nice to understand what she was talking about. I mean, you don't take Aesop's Fables or even traditional fairy tales that you grew up with and compare that to any full flegded series or even novel. The fairy tales and fables we grew up with are meant to be tradition just as these fables are "traditional" for the "wizards and withces".

    79 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    J.k. Rowling has done it again!!!!

    This book is filled with fairy(wizard)tales that all have a good moral to them. I especially loved the notes on each tale from Albus Dumbledore. I also learned that the profits from each book go to the Children's High Group foundation, which enables young children to get a good education and so forth. J.K.Rowling is a brilliant, funny, and enticing writer, and I recommend this book to anyone.

    34 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2008

    Everyone Knows It's Going to Be Brilliant

    J.K. Rowling, the brilliant British woman who opened up a world of books for me has now written a book from inside a book! This brings the Harry Potter world a degree closer to being just as real as our own world. Honestly, this woman is fantastic. This book, along with her other two "extracted" mini-books (Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find them; Quidditch Through the Ages) show us just how talented she is. Very little people could create such a detailed and complex world on a four hour train ride. Moreover, even less could make that world into a seven volume BEST SELLER BOOK SERIES! We can only imagine how she did it and how her marvelous creative mind works. <BR/><BR/>This book, The Tale of Beedle the Bard, has immensely high expectations and surely has brought on a tad bit of pressure on Ms. Rowling from her fans. Yet, this book will undoubtedly prevail. Now we will know what exact information Hermione was given by the eccentric Albus Dumbledore to help the trio on their quest. We will be given a glimpse of what she was going through- and maybe we might find a bit of extra sense in the mysterious Deathly Hallows; because I know I was left a bit confused. With this story, more brilliance and fame will fall upon the genius author, and all will be overly deserved.<BR/><BR/>Thank you J.K. Rowling...<BR/><BR/>Cheers

    27 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Don't Think People Get It ...

    I'm looking at reviews here and I'm seeing people complaining that it's not her usual writing style, or that there are so few regular characters mentioned, etc. <BR/><BR/>Has anyone here read the original Grimm Fairy Tales? Yes? Ah, then you see my point already! She is mimicking the style of those German brothers, using various stories and an older, less entertaining/descriptive writing style. Go ahead, look up the original Grimm-Cinderella. Then compare it to JKs Hairy Heart. See the resemblance? Dumbledore's added criticisms at the end keep the book from getting too drab, throwing in a voice we recognize that adds flavor to the somewhat bland book otherwise. I don't think the book was supposed to be entertaining overall. Interesting, with hidden morals? Yes, of course. Again, it emulates the older style that was used to make children behave well or learn something. <BR/><BR/>I will somewhat agree on the price-to-length ratio. If they kept the price but had waited a bit longer, added a few stories ... I think that would have made a difference. I understand that, by buying the book you are contributing to an organization for the well-being of children (as with the Monster Book of Monsters or the Quidditch handbook) but the price makes it a drag, even for die-hard Potter fans (myself included). <BR/><BR/>I think this is best for people who really really REALLY love Potter, willing to shell out $13. It's best for learning a bit about the history of the Wizarding world, a bit. It also includes some drama and controversy such as books in the real world do (for example, The Hopping Pot, apparently, can be told with a different ending, depending on whether or not the parents support Muggles) and might be good for sharing with young kids as one might with the Grimm fairy tales. <BR/><BR/>Now, do you all understand? It's not supposed to be another adventure story. It's a spin off of sorts from the Grimm fairy tales, but in the voice of the wizards from Harry Potter's world.

    19 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    For the Haters

    I think this book will be wonderful. For all the haters, the Harry Potter books could not have gone crappy after the franchise 'took over.' J.K. thought it up almost completely when she thought of it! She has had notes on the whole series since that first train ride. The people who think she is trying to get attention, she said she wanted to do a book like this before she finished Deathly Hallows. For those who dropped it for Twilight, I love Twilight, but it is not written as well as these books.

    19 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    very good

    The book is definitely a must read. I have enjoyed reading it from start to finish.

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Not up to quality

    Having read all 7 Harry Potter books, this book wasn't anything like them. No characters you can relate to, nothing to pull you in, in short I'm bummed that I spend $10 on a book that took me an hour to read.

    17 out of 88 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2008

    Confidence In the Quality of J.K Rowling's Work

    I have not yet read the Tales of Beedle the Bard so I came onto this site to first read the synopsis and then to read any reviews that might further help me to understand what this book is about so that I know what I'm getting myself into when I buy it for Christmas. <BR/><BR/>After reading the synopsis and then the reviews (some of them very helpful, others unfortunately not) am I to understand that The Tales of Beedle the Bard really have little to do with the actual series? Did it not state within the summary that the book is comprised of fairy tales told to wizarding children as bedtime stories? Why are people reviewing the independent installment as if it were supposed to be the eighth book of the Harry Potter series? <BR/><BR/>Again, I haven't read this book yet but I expect when I do, I'll find within its covers fairy tale stories, Dumbledore's commentary, and further explanations about the Wizarding world, not about Harry Potter, Hermione Granger, or Ron Weasley as the main characters. <BR/><BR/>Through interviews and television appearances, J.K Rowling had stated many times over that she meant for this book to be published sometime after the end of the series. I even believe she said that it would be unlike anything the public has seen her write before. So, it baffles my mind to see people rating her book lower for something she warned them about an entire year earlier. <BR/><BR/>And as for people comparing the Harry Potter series to the new Twilight series, I don't understand. The two series (both great in their own ways) have nothing to do with one another. Harry Potter is set in a fantastical world, filled with many different creatures and characters and meanings. Stephanie Meyers' Twilight series wasn't meant to be that. It was meant to recount a timeless love story between a vampire and a human girl. While Harry Potter lacked that kind of breathtaking love story, Twilight lacks the genius of creating an alternative universe filled with its own laws and ways of living. Each has this strengths and weaknesses but neither author nor series have anything to do with each other. <BR/><BR/>I want to thank those reviews on the book (some positive, some negative) who wrote helpful reviews that stuck to what the book was supposed to be about and worked from there to correctly inform people like me iffy about buying the book. Thank you.

    15 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    The Tales of Breedle the Bard, written by J. K. Rowling

    I first purchased Breedle the Bard in the Atlanta, Georgia Airport, surprised to find it, for the release date was set to be December 4th, and, it being a Tuesday, read it nine days earlier! Not once did I pause to take a break--I was deeply consumed by the several stories, and I think you will be too. J. K. Rowling has certainly done it again!

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Tales

    I fully enjoyed The Tales of Beedle the Bard by J.K. Rowling. As a Harry Potter fan it was fun to see this "wizarding classic" produced for Muggles. I loved Dumbledore's commentary and the listing of Hermione Granger. I hope that more of Beedle's tales will be published in following years.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Perfectly perfect!!

    This book is really well-written and just PERFECT (unless you don't like reading about magic of course) It gives you more insight to the world of Harry Potter and is very interesting. I think it'll be a great read for a little kid or an older person. I'm glad JK Rowling called this book the good-bye with the world of Harry Potter because it's a great book. But of course, the world of Harry Potter will never end because it'll always be in your imagination. Wow, that just sounded really mushy. :):):):):)

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2008

    HARRY POTTER!

    Omg! i love the series harry potter and the 6th book. I knew this was coming out! i almost went to the auction! this book wont disappoint you!

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2008

    Woo Hoo.

    After the horrid let down of her last book, she decides to come out with a crappy little wizards fairy tale book. That is sad. It's like a small 'I'm sorry for rushing my last book so I could have a normal life again.'book. She doesn't need the money. Is it because she's worried people are talking more about the next Spiderman or Batman movie then her sad little books? I have read all her novels and seen the movies and eaten the Every flavor beans and the chocolate frogs. I liked the first 3 books. But then the franchise took the express elevator to manic depressive ville. The books became a let down the movies became horrid. I kept reading, hoping things would get better, that maybe she was having a crappy year or some form of slump. But no, she just started to write like crap. Face it, are you happy with how the last book ended? It's nice to have hope about her new little release. But I won't be holding my breath for it. If it's more then an inch thick I think you'll be lucky. But as for me, I'm done with reading her drivel.

    9 out of 100 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2008

    I just wish it was longer...

    These are excellent stories, but the book itself was so short that I was able to read through it in one sitting. I don't think it's really worth the list price, but if you're a die-hard Harry Potter fan, it's enjoyable.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    The Icing on the cake!

    5 parables that convey the moral messeges well.<BR/>These tales will be re-read and re-read for generations.<BR/>JK will live on through this.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    one amazing book

    thanks jkr for helping me dig out of a very very very very big hole all your books are amazing thanks to you i can act like a kid again you rock jkr people this book is going to be amazing i know their is going to be no midnight party for this harry potter book this book is going to rock and kick butt when its going to be released

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic

    The Harry Potter Books opened up the world of reading to me, when I was younger. Then, through these books, I showed my brother, and every child I tutored, this world. I'm incredibly greatful for the series. Another book coming out might help other children understand that reading isn't boring and can take you anywhere. Not only does it help with personal writing skills and the English language, it allows the imagination to flow.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2008

    A Letdown

    I utterly adore the Harry Potter Books and specifically requested the Beedle and the Bard book on my holiday wish list but was severly disappointed. The Dumbledore commentary was more like the critique of a sociologist and drab at that. I only managed to get to the third story about the Hairy Heart which I had to end because it was grotesque. I asked for this book because I expected it to be light-hearted and fun and it was really just melancholoy.

    6 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    It fills in holes in the main series

    Several times in the main series J. K. Rowling references the witch/wizard fairy tales. This book gives us some samples and the most important one for the last book of the series. Each tale shows the advantage of being kind to others who are not like you.
    I wish it were in paperback, but it is small enough that I was willing to buy the hardback version.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2008

    Really Great Book

    I really enjoyed the Tales of Beedle the Bard. It was fun, and easy to read. Anyone would like this book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 910 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 46