BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Tales of Beedle the Bard (Harry Potter Series)

Average Rating 4
( 911 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(504)

4 Star

(198)

3 Star

(139)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

80 out of 87 people found this review helpful.

Loved it

For all the people who gave it negative reviews...I don't think that they understand that this wasn't meant to be a full on NOVEL like Harry Potter. IT'S NOT MEANT TO BE READ AS A FULL NOVEL. The point of the entire book was to allow people to get further glimspe into t...
For all the people who gave it negative reviews...I don't think that they understand that this wasn't meant to be a full on NOVEL like Harry Potter. IT'S NOT MEANT TO BE READ AS A FULL NOVEL. The point of the entire book was to allow people to get further glimspe into the wizarding world and to understand the types of fairy tales/ fables the wizards grew up with. She references the fairy tales/ fables so much in the last book...so it's nice to understand what she was talking about. I mean, you don't take Aesop's Fables or even traditional fairy tales that you grew up with and compare that to any full flegded series or even novel. The fairy tales and fables we grew up with are meant to be tradition just as these fables are "traditional" for the "wizards and withces".

posted by rnary on December 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

I Don't Think People Get It ...

I'm looking at reviews here and I'm seeing people complaining that it's not her usual writing style, or that there are so few regular characters mentioned, etc.

Has anyone here read the original Grimm Fairy Tales? Yes? Ah, then you see my point already! She is...
I'm looking at reviews here and I'm seeing people complaining that it's not her usual writing style, or that there are so few regular characters mentioned, etc.

Has anyone here read the original Grimm Fairy Tales? Yes? Ah, then you see my point already! She is mimicking the style of those German brothers, using various stories and an older, less entertaining/descriptive writing style. Go ahead, look up the original Grimm-Cinderella. Then compare it to JKs Hairy Heart. See the resemblance? Dumbledore's added criticisms at the end keep the book from getting too drab, throwing in a voice we recognize that adds flavor to the somewhat bland book otherwise. I don't think the book was supposed to be entertaining overall. Interesting, with hidden morals? Yes, of course. Again, it emulates the older style that was used to make children behave well or learn something.

I will somewhat agree on the price-to-length ratio. If they kept the price but had waited a bit longer, added a few stories ... I think that would have made a difference. I understand that, by buying the book you are contributing to an organization for the well-being of children (as with the Monster Book of Monsters or the Quidditch handbook) but the price makes it a drag, even for die-hard Potter fans (myself included).

I think this is best for people who really really REALLY love Potter, willing to shell out $13. It's best for learning a bit about the history of the Wizarding world, a bit. It also includes some drama and controversy such as books in the real world do (for example, The Hopping Pot, apparently, can be told with a different ending, depending on whether or not the parents support Muggles) and might be good for sharing with young kids as one might with the Grimm fairy tales.

Now, do you all understand? It's not supposed to be another adventure story. It's a spin off of sorts from the Grimm fairy tales, but in the voice of the wizards from Harry Potter's world.

posted by AmandaStockwell on January 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2008

    Woo Hoo.

    After the horrid let down of her last book, she decides to come out with a crappy little wizards fairy tale book. That is sad. It's like a small 'I'm sorry for rushing my last book so I could have a normal life again.'book. She doesn't need the money. Is it because she's worried people are talking more about the next Spiderman or Batman movie then her sad little books? I have read all her novels and seen the movies and eaten the Every flavor beans and the chocolate frogs. I liked the first 3 books. But then the franchise took the express elevator to manic depressive ville. The books became a let down the movies became horrid. I kept reading, hoping things would get better, that maybe she was having a crappy year or some form of slump. But no, she just started to write like crap. Face it, are you happy with how the last book ended? It's nice to have hope about her new little release. But I won't be holding my breath for it. If it's more then an inch thick I think you'll be lucky. But as for me, I'm done with reading her drivel.

    9 out of 100 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2008

    A Letdown

    I utterly adore the Harry Potter Books and specifically requested the Beedle and the Bard book on my holiday wish list but was severly disappointed. The Dumbledore commentary was more like the critique of a sociologist and drab at that. I only managed to get to the third story about the Hairy Heart which I had to end because it was grotesque. I asked for this book because I expected it to be light-hearted and fun and it was really just melancholoy.

    6 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Nightowl

    I dont understand why it wont let me buy it! Help!!!!!!

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Anonymous

    How much does this book cost??

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2008

    Horrible Book

    This is the first of J.K. Rowling's books I thought was absolutely terrible. I couldn't get into reading it. I wish I had not bought it. This time it was a waste of the money I spent on it. <BR/><BR/>Sorry J.K. but this is not your best writing. In fact, it doesn't resemble the style of writing you used with the Harry Potter series.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2008

    Pathetic?

    First of all, let me just make a brief point. The book that we're talking about here, isn't even out! So...why leave a review? Second of all, wasn't seven books enough? I mean, can't we just be done with Harry Potter forever? With all due respect to every fan (because I know what it is to be an obessive fan, but for me, it's Star Wars) I think she realized that people were just about ready to forget Harry Potter forever, and decided to try and stroke her popularity just a bit ('cause you know she doesn't need the money) with a little less than less than terrible work. Because the original HP was less than terrible, but with a name like 'Bedde the Bard' this promises to take the cake. More like abduct the cake, and then sit on it. Let's face it, the HP series has never been extraordinarily imaginative, nor has it ever set any positive example for anyone who's read it. So, I ask you, what is the meaning of 'pathetic?'

    3 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Harry Potter Gone Bad

    It is horrible

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2008

    The Tales of the Beedle The Bard

    I am a very hardcore HP Fan. As other readers have indicated, I too did not expect this to be all HP, however I wasn't expecting what I read. I was very, very dissapointed and felt that this book was not for the faint of heart (younger readers). I give this a big "THUMBS DOWN"!

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Are you wacko, Jacko?

    Of COURSE there is going to be a midnight release. Just because it's a school night...what? You do realize that there are people who, you know, don't go to school anymore? Hell, I hate the Harry Potter books, but I'll guarantee my wife is going to drag me to the midnight release, even if I am working.<BR/><BR/>Seriosly. An off-shoot of one of the most sucessful book series in history, and there isn't going to be a midnight release? Who are you kidding?

    2 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    what?

    listen i love harry potter . its actually my favorite series but. the book has not even come out yet thats the only reason why im giving this book apoor rating =o

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Hated it

    Never read this book. First of all harry potter was the worst books after the dark is rising. Horrible

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    How much

    ????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    No free version

    Why is there now free version??!!!!!!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    How much does it cost

    ???

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Dumb (efyfhbfbhfvdvfh!!!!)

    NOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Ok i cant put ! All day just imagine 1,000000000 more ( whatever that number is )

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    Its a childrens book

    I own every Harry Potter book. When this came out I was excited to run out and buy it. When I got home and opened it up I found it was a childrens book. Huge font, basic words and a very small book overall. I wish someone had said in the beginning that this was a childrens book (found mine in the new and hot section as opposed to the childrens section) and I am kicking my own backside for not having opened the book to see that it was for kids. I did not even bother to read this book because I cannot read childrens books. They are too boring. I gave the book to my nieces (5 and 7) and they seemed to enjoy it. Just make sure you are not buying this for yourself if you are over 12.

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    If the money didn't go to a worthy cause I would want a refund.

    This book was just plain bad. It was boring and contrived. I would not recommend anyone wasting their money in buying it. I am sure someone would gladly give you their copy just to get rid of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2009

    plot

    plot

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    Disappointment

    Purchased for my son, a great Harry Potter fan, who immediatley panned it. Never got past the first page. Called it boring. I have to agree. Large printing seems designed to try and get a 100 page book out of 45 pages of story.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2