Customer Reviews for

The Taming of Ryder Cavanaugh

Average Rating 4
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Loved it!  A fitting end to the entire series for this generatio

Loved it!  A fitting end to the entire series for this generation of Cynster's.  I am hoping the NEXT generation will be married off to various members of Stephanie Laurens' Bastion Club series.  How fitting it would be to see "Devil's" child married off to th...
Loved it!  A fitting end to the entire series for this generation of Cynster's.  I am hoping the NEXT generation will be married off to various members of Stephanie Laurens' Bastion Club series.  How fitting it would be to see "Devil's" child married off to the spy master, "Dalziel's" child - the offspring of a duke marrying the offspring of a duke (uniting two prominent Laurens families) and so on.  Laurens has NEVER mentioned the names and genders of the children of her members of her Bastion Club (the romance series that took place prior to the Cynster's).  Should be interesting to see what she has planned.  I've already fallen in love with Devil's children AND Scandal's children, and I'd love to see fantastic romances for them in the future.

posted by Travelover on July 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ms. Laurens' editor must have moved to Timbuktu! Had this book

Ms. Laurens' editor must have moved to Timbuktu! Had this book been whittled down from over 400 pages to 200, it might have been bearable! I liked her early books, but seriously, has she employed a sub-standard ghost writer. This book was painful.

posted by 1414014 on August 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 7, 2013

    An excellent addition to the Cynsters series

    I loved this latest addition to Cynster series. If you love the Cynsters, this is a must read. I thoroughly enjoyed this story. In Devil's Bride (the first book in this series), Mary Cynster was a toddler. Now she's all grown up and found her own true love with Ryder Cavanaugh. As always Ms. Lauren's has provided us with a beautiful love story with a little adventure and suspense thrown in. One of the positives that I love about this series is characters from the other books always are included and Stephanie brings us up to date with what's going on with the everyone. There are lots of teenagers and babies and that always means more are coming. I can't wait! This is a great read. Enjoy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Finding your hero is now as difficult as it might seem Mary Cyn

    Finding your hero is now as difficult as it might seem

    Mary Cynster may be the youngest but she certainly is not the one anyone would forget.  
    She has the bossy, take charge attitude of every family member before her and now that she wants
    a husband, a husband she will have.  Mary wants love and someone that will basically do whatever
    she says and that is a tall request.  With her sights set on one Cavanaugh brother it was amazing that
    Mary would fall for the least likely one, Ryder.

    A man with a reputation and pension for womanizing Mary is perplexed when it appears
    Ryder has set his designs on her.  Ryder has never felt the draw toward any woman like he does for
     Mary but he is convinced that she is the bride he desires and will have.  Mary fights off his overt affections
    but realizes that it is Ryder she needs.  The only problem is Ryder and Mary may see the perfection in their
    relationship, someone else does not want it is happen.  Accidents that cannot so easily be explained away
     seem to curse Ryder as much as Mary and without the good fortune of sensibility neither would have walked
     away from what could be called a fatal outcome.

    Ryder and Mary will uncover the culprit who is trying to destroy their relationship and make sure they do not succeed.  
    Ryder and Mary fit together so perfectly that it both alarms and entices their overall well-being.  

    Stephanie Laurens writes about the love and romance we all hope for and dream about with completely believable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    Love the Epilogue!

    Mary is sure she has found her hero before she has been able to claim the necklace that The Lady has provided to her (and her sister and cousins). Of course headstrong Mary is thrown off her game when she realizes that who she has chosen, is the one for her. Rather it is Ryder, a strong, arrogant and oh so not manageable older brother. Faith and The Lady have other plans for Mary and she learns to seize the moment knowing that she will not be steered wrong.

    Ryder is hunting for a wife and his eyes land on Mary Cynster. Not only is she the last of this generation’s of marriageable Cynsters, she is one of the few women who seem to be able to resist Ryder. When Mary saves him and Fate (or The Lady) intercedes to keep them together, Ryder realizes he has the chance to have what he always has desired—family. If only those working against them would let them be, they can claim the life that they are meant to have.

    Stephanie Laurens is one of my favorite authors of all time. She has once again transported me back into time to where I feel like I am living and breathing with her Cynster family and friends. This story also marks the end of a generation—Mary is the last unwed of the “older generation.” The lovely epilogue is so beautifully written and has me looking forward to the second generation of the Cynster line. I just love how Ms. Laurens has connected the first Cynsters’ summer gathering featured in the epilogue in All About Love back with this one by showing how the over the years the family has grown to include so many children, spouses and friends, but at the core of it still is family. That’s what this series is to me—family and no one does it better than Ms. Laurens. I will be looking forward to reading about the next generation’s escapades and how the first generation continues to grow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    It would have been perfect, perfect, perfect if they had more ti

    It would have been perfect, perfect, perfect if they had more time before they got married. I really would have loved more of a courtship with these two characters. Stephanie Laurens if an excellent author regardless and I recommend anyone who enjoys a nicely written romantic book with some steam to add this to their collection. It was a fun read and I continue to go back and read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    recommended

    great read! Stephanie Laurens never disappoints.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Very enjoyable

    Like all the Cynster series, this one leads to the ultimate conclusion for the family. Can't wait for the next generation.p

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    True to the Cynster Saga

    I love this series, cannot get enough of it. I wish I could read one right after the other. This family chapter was exactly what you have grown to expect. Bravo, please keep them coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Great Book.

    As exciting and well written as any and all the Cynster novels. Loved the suspense, and
    the growing love between Mary and Ryder. This, along with all Cynster books will always
    be on my constant re-read list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Loved the family aspect

    Fitting ending to this generation of Cynsters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Loved it

    The cyncters are my favorite family to read about. I can't wait to read more with the next generation.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ryder Cavanaugh is a Cynster in all but name. He is tall, blonde

    Ryder Cavanaugh is a Cynster in all but name. He is tall, blonde and handsome. He knows what he wants and he makes plans to get it. When he spies Mary Cynster at her sister’s wedding party, he is intrigued and when he realizes she is pursuing his younger brother, the game is on. She doesn’t have a chance…
    Mary is totally a Cynster. She is bossy and straightforward and convinced she has found her hero. With the help of the Lady’s necklace she has found Randolph Cavanaugh. She seems to keep running into his older brother, Ryder, every time she tries to make her move and gradually realizes that Ryder is making his move-on her. He manages to out maneuver Mary and she gradually realizes that she was going after the wrong brother.
    Ryder and Mary make a perfect couple and they are well matched in intellect and personality. I loved reading their back and forth conversations and all of the hidden meanings. I enjoyed watching Ryder outwit Mary when she thought she was able to keep him in his place. It was all perfect foreplay for when they finally came together. And wow, when they did!
    I loved this book. I have been a big Cynster fan from the beginning and this book fits into the series perfectly. There is just the right mix of romance and intrigue. What I especially enjoyed in this book was the emphasis on family and the importance of family connections. The strong sense of family and the love of one’s spouse has been a recurring theme in all of the Cynster novels but seemed particularly strong in this novel.
    *Spoiler alert* the epilogue in this book was very poignant. The whole Cynster family history is revisited and the strength of the family connections is highlighted. At first it seemed like an ending but I know that can’t be the case. The spotlight is on the younger Cynster members who will be the focus of future books. After all of these books, the characters almost seem like old friends and it was nice to “see” them again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2013

    I have read every book in the Cynster series, and The Taming of

    I have read every book in the Cynster series, and The Taming of Ryder Cavanaugh is now one of my favorites! I have also read all of her other series and I keep coming back for more. Mary and Ryder are both strong characters that know their mind but are willing to consider someone else’s opinion. I could not put this down. I adore how the romance unfolds for them. One of my favorite scenes in the book is the epilogue. We get to see the entire Cynster clan together and find out where they all are in their lives. I can't wait to see what happens with the next generation of the Cynsters, plus I would love to see something happen with Ryder’s siblings. Stephanie Laurens writes phenomenal romance novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    I WANT MY OWN LION!!!!!!!

    Wow I truly loved this story! It brings the Cynsters full circle. Steph you can breath alittle before you start on the next generation! Would love to see books on Ryder's half-sibs!

    Ryder and Mary are perfect! I laughed so hard, I teared up, and was also scared and shocked!!! It is really a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2