Customer Reviews for

The Tao of Daily Life: The Mysteries of the Orient Revealed The Joys of Inner Harmony Found The Path to Enlightenment Illuminated

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    You must read it

    You'll get enlightened by reading it. It's worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2010

    A great piece of Tao literature...

    Derek shows an understanding of the Tao that is rarely seen. As a regular subscriber to his podcasts and webcasts, he would also appear to live in accordance with the Tao. I am looking forward to his new book, the Tao of Success coming out in December. if you know the Tao, or are just curious, you can't go wrong with a Derek Lin book. Thanks Derek!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2008

    Inspirational and unexpectedly powerful

    I am writing in agreement with the other reviewer here at Barnes & Noble. In the field of Asian spirituality, it is rare to find someone who can create nearly perfect translations, AND also tell compelling stories. In fact I would have to say, looking across a crowded field, Mr. Lin is at the present time the only one who has elevated both kinds of writing to such great heights. Previously I contacted him with questions about his translation and he was very gracious in giving me an extremely detailed answer. I was impressed with the courtesy he showed me, a complete stranger. I look forward to the other books that I am sure we will see from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2008

    A reviewer

    I had previously read and enjoyed this author's Tao Te Ching translation and decided to give this book a try. It is very different in that the Taoist lessons are conveyed in a story format, followed by in-depth analysis. I am a couple of chapters from finishing this book, and so far I have found both the stories and the analyses to be of excellent quality. The stories are often funny and always filled with meaning. The analyses bring out many more facets of the story that would probably not occur to me otherwise. As an author, Mr. Lin has an absolutely unique gift. Not only is he closer to achieving the perfect score, in my opinion, than anyone else in creating accurate yet poetic translations, but also he demonstrates a remarkable ability as a storyteller. I am not aware of any other writer who has this combination. Most translators I have read are not storytellers, and those who have written stories, such as Deng Mingdao, simply do not possess Mr. Lin's extensive knowledge and translational ability. The only thing that is kind of 'bad' for me is that this author only has two books. I am almost hesitant to finish the last two chapters, because when I'm done I will have nothing more to read from this author. Here's hoping we have many more books from him in the future. To compare Lin with most other writers in the Asian spirituality genre is like comparing authentic Chinese food with chop suey. If you have never experienced real Asian cuisine, you simply do not know what you are missing. Once you've tried it and developed a more refined taste, it is basically impossible to go back to the westernized stuff. Reading this book is just like that. Its authenticity is obvious, and once you know what that is like, the standard fare simply won't be as appealing as before. So to everyone who has not yet encountered this well-kept secret, I say ready your chopsticks and dig in!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1