Customer Reviews for

The Target (Will Robie Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 230 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(120)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Best-selling thriller writer David Baldacci is back in this acti

Best-selling thriller writer David Baldacci is back in this action-packed story with CIA assassin Will Robie heading the formidable cast of characters. The Target follows the trail of hit man extraordinaire Robie and his partner, Jessica Reel, who are on a secretive mis...
Best-selling thriller writer David Baldacci is back in this action-packed story with CIA assassin Will Robie heading the formidable cast of characters. The Target follows the trail of hit man extraordinaire Robie and his partner, Jessica Reel, who are on a secretive mission to North Korea with direct order from the President of the United States.

The Target is the third book in the Will Robie series, following The Innocent and The Hit. A top-level meeting between the president, CIA director and the national security adviser resulted in the order of a hit. The target: the reclusive leader of North Korea.

But the assignment is easier said than done. It must succeed at all cost. And the assassins must be untraceable, in other word, invisible. Will Robie and Jessica Reel are entrusted an almost impossible task. To make matters worse, there are some sinister forces at work willing to go to any length to make the dangerous mission their funeral rite.

In this riveting action-packed thriller, David Baldacci also weaves some human interest story especially with the deplorable conditions of the Korean concentration camps - specifically the notorious Bukchang labor camp. The scene is pathetic and the stories of the inmates are beyond human imagination. Baldacci has captured their plights in its totality, leaving us wondering if such camps exist in real life. It is gripping, compelling and a real thrill. Fans of David Baldacci won't want to miss this for anything in the world.

posted by Wildflowers on April 24, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed with Barns and Noble I've been a loyal custo

Disappointed with Barns and Noble

I've been a loyal customer for years....was one of the first to buy a Nook..now, I find paperback books are cheaper then Nook books and Kindle books are cheaper. The Target for Nook is $13.49, but Kindle is selling it $8.99. If...
Disappointed with Barns and Noble

I've been a loyal customer for years....was one of the first to buy a Nook..now, I find paperback books are cheaper then Nook books and Kindle books are cheaper. The Target for Nook is $13.49, but Kindle is selling it $8.99. If this is how BN is going to treat their customers, then it's time I UPGRADE to Kindle. Amazon, here I come!

posted by MelWilder on June 12, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    Have always loved all of Baldacci's books and this was no except

    Have always loved all of Baldacci's books and this was no exception. If I could have rated it 4.5 of 5 I would. I enjoyed the suspense and the way there were really three smaller stories woven into one. 
    I only wished for two things... Some of the descriptions of the activities in the Korean camps grew a bit repetitive, and I could have used another 200 pages.  Just didn't want it to end. Can't wait for Baldacci's next one.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Target

    The ending was predictable and the book is not up to David Baldacci's standard. However it is a good book but slow in places

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    Good, but not up to baldacci's usual level.

    Baldacci is my favorite author, but it seens to me that he is kind of phoning it in on this one. Plenty of action, but i could never feel any real suspense or the kind of connection with the characters that I feel in the king and maxwell or camel club series.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    Three stories in one

    This book did not go from beginning to ending, as most of the Will Robie books do. There seemed to be three separate stories, loosely strung together. Even the style seemed to slip from one to the other. It did keep my interest, however, and had some fine moments of suspense.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    The target

    Not as good as past books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2014

    a good action sequence that follows the Hit, but not great...

    The story-telling continues for the Dynamic Duo and this time dueling with a worthy ninja-skilled N Korean operative, and almost lost. The kicker here is the story within a story, so the reader will get a bonus short story on the background of Jessica and how the present has caught up with her. The characters and plots were well thought out and quite engaging, showing at times the human side of everyone, even for trained killers. And the writing includes some martial arts skills not typically seen in previous Baldacci thrillers, so it feels like reading a graphic comic book at times. It has the twists and turns of a top-notch thriller through out although the ending does not have a grand finale where an ultimate surprise is revealed, as typical of a Hercule Peirot, a Lincoln Rhyme or a Robert Langdon adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2014

    Sometimes a bit too much

    Once set up for failure and death by their own agency, Robie and Reel are tasked with completing the most sensitive mission a country can ask of their agents...the assassination of a foreign leader! But first, they must complete extensive training designed to test their ability, loyalty, and if possible, their death! But the plot is foiled before it ever gets off the ground and Robie & Reel are re-tasked to damage control and prevention of retribution.
    Baldacci sometimes takes his characters into the realm of superhero (or supervillian,) but aside from that, it's a very entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    What a great read!! Hard to put down, you want to turn the light back on and finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2014

    An interesting current world situation story; well done.

    Hypothetical Korean vs USA plot line that gives a real world framework to a somewhat thought provoking scenario. Characters are a bit over the top but fit the story line assumptions. Those who like a well written and suspenseful plot will enjoy this author's style and talent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2014

    Very Enjoyable

    I listened to the audio version of The Target, and at times I could hardly wait to get back in the car and listen some more. David Baldacci did a wonderful job of bring the story to life. I am looking forward to the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Robie + reel again

    First time with baldacci. Could hardly put it down. Great read. So, i purchased another baldacci!




    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Mission Impossible 3

    If you are a fan, you will enjoy this quick read. Not his most intricate effort, but is a page turner. He jumps back and forth between plot lines and settings every couple of chapters which keeps you engaged. A lot of twists and turns typical of a Baldacci book. Vivid description of North Korean society peaked my curiosity to a point where I engaged in an internet search to determine how factual the plot line details were. Fascinating and scary! Baldacci indulged a bit in a subplot which seemed distracting and didn't really add to the depth of the characters. It seems like lately he has been cranking out an awful lot of material in a short time frame. Here's hoping he doesn't get too formulaic to keep up with publisher demand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Highly Recommend

    Excellent book; entertaining and a page turner! Baldacci is good, very good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2014

    Highly Recommend. Fast reading and for those looking for high adventure.

    Another very good Baldacci novel. An international political quagmire, suspense and a good back story running parallel to the adventure. Story line is very good. The story could ease up on the super hero spies assigned to save the President and the world. If you're looking for high adventure and a lot of action... this is it.
    Bring back the Camel Club!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    very very good

    easy to read. hard to put down. the 2nd best mystery writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    A Must Read

    As usual, Baldacci is have to read. Another best seller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Highly recommended

    Typical Baldacci glad I wasn't disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2014

    Not Quite the Camel club but a good read and a good attempt by t

    Not Quite the Camel club but a good read and a good attempt by the author to critique and expose North Korean brutality and politics.  Again,strong women characters , a hallmark of Baldacci novels , even down to the children who were victimized. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    Hard to put down, love this author's books

    Hard to put down, love this author's books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Baldacci does it again!

    Builds on current interest in North Korea. Kept me quickly turning pages til the very end. Do it again Baldacci!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3