Customer Reviews for

The Telling Room: A Tale of Love, Betrayal, Revenge, and the World's Greatest Piece of Cheese

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

This is a remarkable book that goes deep into the secrets of a s

This is a remarkable book that goes deep into the secrets of a small Spanish village. It swings from memoir to travelog to history. It details love, friendship, betrayal. It is a darn good book!

posted by EG678 on July 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Aggravating

I love the premise of this story; it's got geat bones. But I am really struggling to read the whole thing because of the incessant superfluous footnotes. It's like the author had a bad break up with his editor and chose everything s/he edited out over their partnership ...
I love the premise of this story; it's got geat bones. But I am really struggling to read the whole thing because of the incessant superfluous footnotes. It's like the author had a bad break up with his editor and chose everything s/he edited out over their partnership and shoved it back in the story as footnotes. It's a rare four uninterrupted paragraphs you can get through before being directed to some tangent that pulls you out of the story at hand for, every time, no worthwhile reason. None of this "bonus" info is making me feel the story any more fulky, nor do they help build the characters. Which feel underdeveloped: the main character is a sanctimonious blowhard I'm having a hard time feeling sympathetic for and the narrator is about as interesting as untoasted wonderbread. Story feels like it could really go somewhere but the language is just not taking me there.

posted by 12898484 on August 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a remarkable book that goes deep into the secrets of a s

    This is a remarkable book that goes deep into the secrets of a small Spanish village. It swings from memoir to travelog to history. It details love, friendship, betrayal. It is a darn good book!

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a very interesting book about a small village and the tr

    This is a very interesting book about a small village and the truths, lies, and myths that unfold in the Telling Room.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Aggravating

    I love the premise of this story; it's got geat bones. But I am really struggling to read the whole thing because of the incessant superfluous footnotes. It's like the author had a bad break up with his editor and chose everything s/he edited out over their partnership and shoved it back in the story as footnotes. It's a rare four uninterrupted paragraphs you can get through before being directed to some tangent that pulls you out of the story at hand for, every time, no worthwhile reason. None of this "bonus" info is making me feel the story any more fulky, nor do they help build the characters. Which feel underdeveloped: the main character is a sanctimonious blowhard I'm having a hard time feeling sympathetic for and the narrator is about as interesting as untoasted wonderbread. Story feels like it could really go somewhere but the language is just not taking me there.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I found this to be a very interesting book. The author brings to

    I found this to be a very interesting book. The author brings to life far more than the story of a fine cheese. He goes in depth about a special "Telling Room" in a small village in Spain where villagers go to confess and share stories. From this Telling Room research the author manufactures a vivid look into the village.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    A wonderful read

    I thought that this book, this story was enthralling. I was just as caught up in the story telling of Ambosio and was a little disappointed (and intrigued) that there were other sides of the story.

    The author painted a vivid picture of this little Spanish town and its environs, I felt like I was there - I could smell the sheep, see the surnsets, hear the wine being poured into the porron and yes! even taste the cheese.

    The story didn't progress as I expected, but it was very much like life itself.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2014

    I struggled with this novel, trying to like it. It had a great

    I struggled with this novel, trying to like it. It had a great premise/story line. However, the foot notes were annoying and did not add to the context of the book. The entire book could have and should have been written as a short story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    The story of Ambrosio, Guzman and the cheese is quite fun. But

    The story of Ambrosio, Guzman and the cheese is quite fun. But the author throws in so much other seemingly irrelevant information not to mention the footnotes (which i can understand a bit since it is meant to be a true story, plus you can totally skip them if you want) that it is hard to read and stay engaged in the story. This would have gotten 4.5 stars had it been about 150+ pages shorter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2013

    This book is wonderful. It does read like a novel, yet it's a me

    This book is wonderful. It does read like a novel, yet it's a memoir or a non-fiction history/story. I love Spain, and the history and peoples of Spain as it evolved and the places and foods and wines, etc., are wonderful. The story of the cheese, the wonderful/best in the world cheese, from a small town in Castile, is a great story. The writer becomes a character in the story as he meets the cheese maker and his family and townsmen and builds the narrative. I loved learning so much about Spain, cheese, and this wonderful group of miscreants who made it. The writer and his family are just great as they bring us this story by living it. There are many footnotes in the book and they are valuable. Be sure to read the footnotes as you go and you will learn much about the history of this great country and this special region and this town and the making of cheese. The footnotes are as much "literature" as the rest of this fascinating book. You may need to be a bit intellectual to love this book. So be it. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Telling Room is a very good read. I would recommend it for b

    The Telling Room is a very good read. I would recommend it for book clubs. It combines history, mystery, and food with great precision and gusto. The Telling Room is a non fiction book that reads like a novel. There are a bit too many footnotes; otherwise, this is a fanstatic find and a book that I will be telling people about for a long time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    I did not care for this book at all. Archaic word choice as well

    I did not care for this book at all. Archaic word choice as well as writing style lead me to believe Paternini wrote this for an elite academic audience in mind with the sole purpose of showing off. It didn't engage me enough to finish it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Give me my chese woman give me my chese

    I love cheses

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Princess payton to silver and Medow

    I mean res 4!

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Interesting and Amusing

    Michael Paterniti leaves no detail uncovered. While at times his footnotes within footnotes can be a bit daunting, his story is heartwarming, amusing, interesting and brings the reader into the experience of rural Spanish life. I highly recommend it for readers who enjoy traveling outside the big cities and getting to know the region and its people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Brendan

    Super bad lag so super sorry.

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    Kara

    *laying on the couch watching movies* no problem

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1