Customer Reviews for

The Templeton Twins Have an Idea: Book One

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Great!

This is for anyone between 7 and 107. It is a great book, and the "narrarator" reminds me a lot of Scott Kelby, another humorous writer. However, he writes computer books, not realistic fiction. This book is funny and has a ton of action! It so has some creativity in i...
This is for anyone between 7 and 107. It is a great book, and the "narrarator" reminds me a lot of Scott Kelby, another humorous writer. However, he writes computer books, not realistic fiction. This book is funny and has a ton of action! It so has some creativity in it ... thats also funny. At one point in the book, the narrarator almost completely randomly introduces a recipe for meatloaf! If the father hadnt given someone a failing grade, none of this would ever have happened.

posted by Spencer-F on November 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun read I think my nephew would love it.

A great funny read.

posted by gettin_picky on February 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    Great!

    This is for anyone between 7 and 107. It is a great book, and the "narrarator" reminds me a lot of Scott Kelby, another humorous writer. However, he writes computer books, not realistic fiction. This book is funny and has a ton of action! It so has some creativity in it ... thats also funny. At one point in the book, the narrarator almost completely randomly introduces a recipe for meatloaf! If the father hadnt given someone a failing grade, none of this would ever have happened.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2012

    THE TEMPLETON TWINS HAVE AND IDEA by Ellis Weiner and illustrate

    THE TEMPLETON TWINS HAVE AND IDEA by Ellis Weiner and illustrated by Jeremy Holmes starts a creatively new way for middle school kids to love reading an adventure with humor, while learning all kinds of things without feeling 'schooled'!  As an educator, I was told that ALL children's books should be interesting to adults or kids won't like them either.  Well, I started reading this book last night, and laughed my way completely through it in no time!  Know just the kids who'll love this book, and plan to share it immediately!

    The 'Narrator' of this book 'talks' to the reader as though they were side by side and just conversing as friends.  The 12 year old Templeton twin, John and Abigail, their dog and widowed dad share thrilling adventures with the reader---in this case kidnapping.  But at the same time, the reader gets intelligent and numerous lessons in vocabulary, idioms, cryptic crosswords, cooking, reading charts, how to cook a meatloaf, and even how to handle many emotions.  But most importantly, all this is done within an excellently constructed laugh out loud mystery for kids!!!

    This is the first in this Templeton Twins series for middle schoolers.  I believe these books may well be the next great kids book craze.  With great illustrations, thrilling fun adventures, and a 'Narrator' to become the readers new BFF.  Actually seems possible to read this book as though 'texting through books'----texting in a way parents and kids will both approve of doing, while having fun with learning!!!  

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    How could you hate it????!!!

    I did not get this book on here but i got it on paperback. This seems to be that best book in the whole wide world! Its interesting, funny, and also mysterious. If yiur parents are letting you buy a book, I RECOMEND THIS ONE! IT IS JUST SO GOOD!!!!!!
    -Hope yiu love it!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    I read this in one night. Funny, hilarious, and unique!


    I read this in one night. Funny, hilarious, and unique!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    The Templeton house is a sad place. The Templeton twins, John an

    The Templeton house is a sad place. The Templeton twins, John and Abigail are dealing with the death of their mother. Their father, Professor Elton Templeton was depressed and didn’t want to work on his inventions anymore. Things got a little brighter when the twins convinced their dad to get a “ridiculous” dog named Cassie. One day, Professor Templeton goes to work and when he comes home, he announces that they are moving to Tick-Tock Tech so he can work and invent there. The one problem is that a former “F” student of the professor is out for revenge and hatches a plot to kidnap the twins and the dog. It’s a good thing the twins are as smart as their dad!

    Fist off, I loved the narrator of the book. He is sarcastic and funny (he really dislikes Cassie too, that’s why she’s a “ridiculous dog”). The book is narrated kind of like Lemony Snicket, but I think it is also different enough. I like how the narrator kind of quizzes you at the end of each chapter. The twins have good personalities and are likeable. I really like the illustration style in the book. I thought it was very unique.

    templeton3The chapters are short and with all the illustrations, I think it would be a good read for younger kids or reluctant readers. There is enough action, mystery and humor to keep me turning the pages. I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series.

    **NOTE I got a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    The Templeton twins

    This book is enthralling and nicely done. Ellis Weiner reminds me of Lemony Snicket. My only complaint is that the illistrations were to small for a nook book.
    OVERALL,GREAT BOOK!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Read me!!

    TOTALLY BOSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Great book

    This book was outrageously funny. My little bro said it was dumb, but me and my sis laughed for hours. I especialy liked the Narrator.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Fun read I think my nephew would love it.

    A great funny read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    SUUUUUUUUUCKS!!!!

    DO NOT READ THIS BOOK! IT TOTALLY SUCKS! IF I COULD,
    I WOULD GIVE IT ZERO STARS!

    -LMS

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Nice quick read and fun too.

    Nice quick read and fun too.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Very amusing and unusual!

    As a grandmother, I am not exactly the target audience for this book, but I loved it anyway. It's a good story that keeps moving with a sly wit that draws the reader in very skillfully.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Cute idea

    This book was a cute idea. I think at times the narrorator did get a little annoying but the idea and story was fun. I am a 27 year old so I'm sure kids would probably love it. I would read other books in this series if the author continues to write it, andididfind the story to be a light hearted not too much thinking type of story. Easy read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book and I think my students will love it as much a

    I loved this book and I think my students will love it as much as I did.  In an age where we test our students to death, any book that throws jabs at testing is going to be loved.  The narrator in this story reminded me of the narrator in "A Series of Unfortunate Events", one of my favorite series.  John and Abigail are the children of an inventor.  Their mother is dead.  They are kidnapped by another set of twins.  The "evil twins", Dean and Dan want an invention their father have created.  They got the bright idea of getting their hands on it by kidnapping Abigail and John.  They didn't really know what they were getting themselves into by kidnapping these two kids.  You'll have to read the book to see what I mean.  The book also contains questions "for review" at the end of each chapter.  They contain clues to help you as well as letting you KNOW how great the narrator is.  This seems to be a recurring theme throughout the book.  I have to say he was my favorite character.  This is a terrific middle grad book and one I can't wait to put on my shelves at school.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    The Templeton Twins

    This is a awesome book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Pedantic, long-winded and dull

    Definitely intended for children; the reviewer who wrote that this book is great for all ages was simply wrong. Even as a child i would have been bored. The author attempts to be original through use of an atypical narrative voice but it drags down the pace of the story to match a slug's. Dont waste your money here. Sorry to be harsh, but I read because I admit I am no creative writer, and I wish the author had recognized this and spared the world. The only bright point was the illustrations, which injected a bit of fun.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Could have been funny

    The narrator is intrusive and really breaks upthe flowof the story. Also the layout doesn't work well for the e-book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012


    1 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2014

    Could there be a better book? I think not.

    The narrator had me laughing my head off but dont worry im still alive. Somehow. I really have never read a book more hilarious. It was really good though really short and i loved the illistrations. Im excited theres more!! :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2