Customer Reviews for

The Temptation of Lila and Ethan

Average Rating 4.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

My rating: 4 of 5 ¿¿ Lila Summers learned a long time ago th

My rating: 4 of 5 ¿¿




Lila Summers learned a long time ago that as long as you have looks, the right presentation, the perfect package, what you carried around inside you mattered to no one. Other than the exterior that was carefully applied day after day for the ben...
My rating: 4 of 5 ¿¿




Lila Summers learned a long time ago that as long as you have looks, the right presentation, the perfect package, what you carried around inside you mattered to no one. Other than the exterior that was carefully applied day after day for the benefit of the outside world, Lila was as lost to herself as she was to anyone else. Every now and then, when her lack of caring would lead her too close to danger, she had only one person to call who would keep her safe.




Still young and already jaded by life, Ethan Gregory doesn't believe in relationships. He had a distorted view from childhood and had his own messed up attempt at one. Better to stick with no strings attached physical release and nothing else, which is why, although Lila tempted him plenty, he had never crossed that line with her. He doesn't want to mess up Lila's friendship, besides, she is too high maintenance for him.




The next time Ethan responds to a call and finds Lila in real trouble, unable to put her customary shields up, fully exposed to him. He comes to realize how little he really knows about her. She has far more darkness than the occasional glimpses she would show. Having turned his back once before, Ethan is determined to help her, whether she welcomes him or not. He just needs to be careful not to get drawn in to her anymore than he already is.




But an undeniably strong connection, explosive chemistry, increasing need and close proximity, make it impossible to deny themselves and each other what so clearly was what nature intended.




*****




Pretty heavy and heady stuff, but really good! 




The overall feel of the book is rather dark and messed up, but through the initial feel of depression and lost morality comes a thread of hope in the form of a pure emotion.....a selfless caring that breaks down walls and heals wounds. The rescue of another soul, and in doing so, saving one's own.




Lila doesn't know love, has never experienced the concept of unconditional anything. She has been taught that to be accepted in any form, one must fit a particular mold that is based on appearance only. Who you are is never important, what you represent is. Her individuality crushed her entire life, she has no clue of her own identity and is utterly lost. Despite that, pieces of a personality have managed to shine through and people have been drawn to that, people who started caring for the Lila who could be, like Ethan, who gave her the freedom and courage to just be.




Stuck in an unresolved tragedy in his past, Ethan never felt the need or the drive to move on. Convinced that relationships equalled pain, he would avoid involvement always. He had already turned away from a destructive path he had been on when he was younger, but had not healed emotionally. When his friendship with Lila intensified and he was forced to spend all his time with her to keep her safe, still not willing to cross the lines of friendship into a relationship, it was almost ironic. Whether a love relationship or a friendship relationship, when there is love involved, there is also the possibility of pain. Without realizing, he had already made himself vulnerable in a way he though he was avoiding.




The character development was interesting to witness, Ethan was further ahead in his growth than Lila, but his growth was more gradual. For Lila it was sudden, almost brutal, the way all her protective layers were stripped away, forcing her to stand exposed all at once. But she had Ethan at her back. 




A harsh, but quite beautiful coming of age story. Not for the faint of heart, due to the description of drug use, some sexual abuse and childhood verbal abuse. However, this is also a story of crawling out of the deepest and darkest of holes and finding yourself standing, for the first time, in the bright sunlight. 




Ms. Sorensen is able to turn a troubling and destitute tale into a story of victory. A reminder that where you come from should never be an excuse for where you are going.




¿Compelling, intense, raw and hopeful tale of becoming!¿




**ARC courtesy of NetGalley and Forever in return for an honest review.**

posted by RipeForReader on October 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Dont buy

Want to read about drug addicts? Couldnt even stomach the first chapter.

posted by 11588672 on October 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    My rating: 4 of 5 ¿¿ Lila Summers learned a long time ago th

    My rating: 4 of 5 ¿¿




    Lila Summers learned a long time ago that as long as you have looks, the right presentation, the perfect package, what you carried around inside you mattered to no one. Other than the exterior that was carefully applied day after day for the benefit of the outside world, Lila was as lost to herself as she was to anyone else. Every now and then, when her lack of caring would lead her too close to danger, she had only one person to call who would keep her safe.




    Still young and already jaded by life, Ethan Gregory doesn't believe in relationships. He had a distorted view from childhood and had his own messed up attempt at one. Better to stick with no strings attached physical release and nothing else, which is why, although Lila tempted him plenty, he had never crossed that line with her. He doesn't want to mess up Lila's friendship, besides, she is too high maintenance for him.




    The next time Ethan responds to a call and finds Lila in real trouble, unable to put her customary shields up, fully exposed to him. He comes to realize how little he really knows about her. She has far more darkness than the occasional glimpses she would show. Having turned his back once before, Ethan is determined to help her, whether she welcomes him or not. He just needs to be careful not to get drawn in to her anymore than he already is.




    But an undeniably strong connection, explosive chemistry, increasing need and close proximity, make it impossible to deny themselves and each other what so clearly was what nature intended.




    *****




    Pretty heavy and heady stuff, but really good! 




    The overall feel of the book is rather dark and messed up, but through the initial feel of depression and lost morality comes a thread of hope in the form of a pure emotion.....a selfless caring that breaks down walls and heals wounds. The rescue of another soul, and in doing so, saving one's own.




    Lila doesn't know love, has never experienced the concept of unconditional anything. She has been taught that to be accepted in any form, one must fit a particular mold that is based on appearance only. Who you are is never important, what you represent is. Her individuality crushed her entire life, she has no clue of her own identity and is utterly lost. Despite that, pieces of a personality have managed to shine through and people have been drawn to that, people who started caring for the Lila who could be, like Ethan, who gave her the freedom and courage to just be.




    Stuck in an unresolved tragedy in his past, Ethan never felt the need or the drive to move on. Convinced that relationships equalled pain, he would avoid involvement always. He had already turned away from a destructive path he had been on when he was younger, but had not healed emotionally. When his friendship with Lila intensified and he was forced to spend all his time with her to keep her safe, still not willing to cross the lines of friendship into a relationship, it was almost ironic. Whether a love relationship or a friendship relationship, when there is love involved, there is also the possibility of pain. Without realizing, he had already made himself vulnerable in a way he though he was avoiding.




    The character development was interesting to witness, Ethan was further ahead in his growth than Lila, but his growth was more gradual. For Lila it was sudden, almost brutal, the way all her protective layers were stripped away, forcing her to stand exposed all at once. But she had Ethan at her back. 




    A harsh, but quite beautiful coming of age story. Not for the faint of heart, due to the description of drug use, some sexual abuse and childhood verbal abuse. However, this is also a story of crawling out of the deepest and darkest of holes and finding yourself standing, for the first time, in the bright sunlight. 




    Ms. Sorensen is able to turn a troubling and destitute tale into a story of victory. A reminder that where you come from should never be an excuse for where you are going.




    ¿Compelling, intense, raw and hopeful tale of becoming!¿




    **ARC courtesy of NetGalley and Forever in return for an honest review.**

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Wow! I loved it. Cannot wait for the next Ella and Micha.

    Wow! I loved it. Cannot wait for the next Ella and Micha.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Dont buy

    Want to read about drug addicts? Couldnt even stomach the first chapter.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

     We first met Lila and Ethan in The Secret of Ella and Micha.  L

     We first met Lila and Ethan in The Secret of Ella and Micha.  Lila was Ella's best friend and roommate and Ethan was Micha's good friend.  The events in The Temptation of Lila and Ethan take place soon after the events that transpired in The Forever of Ella and Micha.  On the surface, Lila comes across as the spoiled little rich girl who attended boarding school, has an expensive car and expensive clothes, and is the life of the party.  Ethan, on the other hand, is from the wrong side of town, he's currently working in construction, tattooed, very hot, he's not into materialistic things at all, and is really the total opposite of Lila.  Somehow they hit it off and become really good "friends", a boundary that Ethan set in their relationship early on, though the underlying sexual tension is forever present, as hard as they try to ignore it.  Lila is slowly spiraling out of control as the past and its secrets consume her like a cancer that has been slowly eating away at her insides, leaving a huge empty cavern of nothingness that she attempts to fill in the most unhealthy ways.  Unable to hide behind the facade she has put up since she was fourteen years old, her world begins to crumble as everything begins to come to the surface, something no one has ever been able to see, no one that is except Ethan.  
     Lila and Ethan's story is emotionally raw and heart wrenching.  The truth of Lila's past and what has happened to her, how she has been treated, the things she has come to believe about herself because that is what she has been told by her family, will break your heart.  I thought poor Ella was a mess, but Lila's situation, coupled with the fact that she has hid it for so many years, is deep-rooted and almost more than she can overcome.  Thank God for Ethan.  If it wasn't for him, she wouldn't make it. Poor Ethan, I felt so bad for him also.  His abusive past has not only led him to steer clear of relationships, but the one relationship he did have has left him beating himself up for years, and though he has overcome some of the things he is now helping Lila with, he still has a lot to work through himself. The sexual tension and chemistry between these two is undeniable, and the more time they spend together, the more tense it gets.  As Ethan helps Lila to slowly heal, whether he realizes it or not, he is slowly healing as well.  He's not perfect by any means, and he manages to screw up to, but all in all, I was really impressed with him and with how he handled things with Lila.  I was also rooting for Lila as she learned to live in the "real world," apart from money and the things it provided, while Ethan helped her to learn how to take care of herself.  There were plenty of obstacles and dramatic events that these two encounter have to overcome in the process, but I loved seeing where Jessica Sorensen took these two characters and their relationship over the course of the novel.  I was sucked into the the story from beginning to end, and felt the gamut of emotions from one end of the scale to the other, right along with them.  I was really pleased with the ending, and with the fact that it also includes Ella and Micha, setting the stage for the next book in the series, while leaving you feeling really good about where things were between Lila and Ethan as it came to a close.  The Temptation of Lila and Ethan is an emotional, romantic, and really great contemporary romance that I thoroughly enjoyed and would definitely recommend.  

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Loved the story

    I'll be honest, this wasn't my favorite book in the series. I enjoyed reading about Lila and Ethan since they were always running off and being mysterious in the other books, so it was cool to read about their backgrounds and friendship.

    There were a lot of repetitive scenes/descriptions between the different point of views, so i found myself skipping over paragraphs at a time. Also quite a few spelling and gramatical errors that could have been caught with one more read through.

    Overall though, I was happy I read it because it's a great addition to the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    .

    .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    What a cute and sweet story! I adored Ethan and Lila

    What a cute and sweet story! I adored Ethan and Lila

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2015

    Lila & Ethan have been friends since they met a year ago whe

    Lila & Ethan have been friends since they met a year ago when Lila was in town with her college roommate Ella.
    Everyone thinks Lila has the perfect life. But what they don't know is that she has been using pills and sex for years to move through life numb....that is until she hits bottom. Ethan has been there to save her every time she's needed it. Ethan has his own secrets and has promised himself never to turn into his parents. The best way to do that?Meaningless sex and no relationships. While I absolutely love JS's Coincidence series, the last two books in this series have just been ok IMO. I liked this story, liked the growth both characters achieved but something was missing and I can't quite figure out what. I really hope the series picks up because I really like all the characters and know the potential is there.
    - I cry because Ethan's holding on to me and for the first time in my entire life, I feel like someone wants to hold me just as much as I want to hold on to them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2014

    This is the third book in The Secrets series. It can be read as

    This is the third book in The Secrets series. It can be read as a stand alone but it's so much better if you at least read The Secret of Ella and Micha first, where you first meet both Lila and Ethan. 




    Lila Summers is the definition of beauty. She is beautiful,  she comes from a very wealthy family, she loves beautiful things and gorgeous clothes. She is flawless, happy, and has a beautiful big smile. But that's all superficial and what is on the outside. But what is on the inside is dark, ugly, and broken. With a dark and devastating past, a troubled home life, and a very broken family, Lila will do anything to keep the darkness buried very deep. 




    "...Be flawless. Shine bright. Never, ever do anything less than excel..."




    "...We have expectations and standards to live up to. We must be perfect on the outside, despite what's on the inside..."




    "...She never does anything right.  I'm so sick and tired of the drama.  Either she needs to straighten up or she needs to go..."




    "...She forgot to tell me about the illusion of love and the darkness that comes with it. That eventually when the illusion is gone, the walls close in on you, crush you, and all you're left with is feeling more unloved, and worthless than you did before..."




    Ethan Gregory is a lot more than your typical bad boy. He may be sexy as all get out with his brown eyes,  black hair, holey jeans, and tattoos, but there is so much more to Ethan. Ethan also comes from a broken home that has left him with a fear if relationships.  He has a dark past as well that he is running from but not ready to let go of. So now he lives by a set of rules and keeps his friends at arms length. 




    "...A year ago I was an average guy going to school, and getting decent grades. Now I'm an almost seventeen - year - old high school dropout who's sitting in some druggies' house, unsure how the hell I got here..." 




    "...I'm trying to figure out why I'm still here. I know why I came here..."




    "...I've always secretly wished I could just leave all my stuff behind hitchhike across the country and write about what I see and feel and how much I hate being around people and the world and the constant chattering. It always feels like there's the rest of the world and then me..."




    Lila carries the image of the pretty princess and Ethan carries the image of the off limits bad boy, but these two opposites find that they share a deep connection and a friendship that outsiders can't make sense of. Can they find a way to deal with their dark pasts and move past? Can Lila finally let go of the emptiness and find self respect and self love? Can Ethan finally let go of his guilt and the past? Can they both pick up the pieces and move forward? Can they let go of the rules and reach out for what's right in front of them or is that risk just too much?




    "...I can see it in her eyes sometimes, when she gets really quiet. Sadness. Self - Doubt. Self - Torture, even..."




    "...I want someone who will love me like Micha loves Ella. I want someone - anyone - just to love me..."




    "...Break me. Throw me away. You don't want me. Of course you don't.  No one does..."




    "...And who knows, maybe we'll turn out to be one of the lucky ones. Either way it's worth the risk..." 




    Jessica Sorensen once again has completely captivated me. Lila's story is so dark and so beautifully sad that you will not want to put this book down for a single moment. And wait until you really get to know Ethan! He is a favorite on my list of book boyfriends now. He is a big delicious bowl of awesomesauce! This is truly a dark and sad story of two beautiful and broken people  and their struggles to finding themselves again. I love Jessica Sorensen and the magic her beautiful words create. This may be a bit of a darker story but it is moving and it plays itself out in an incredible and moving way. And the end..... oh the end, will leave you on your seat begging to have the next book at hand! I loved the story so much and am happy to give it a Nerd Alert A++ or 5 stars! Next book. ...here I come! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    If you read the first two why stop

    I LOVED Ethan! If you already read the first two books just keep going. It is worth is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Loved it!!

    I honestly didn't think I would like it, but never judge a book by its cover so I gave it a shot and OMG! One of the best books I've ever read! I seriously wish I would have been more thorough though :( I didn't know there where other books before it! All in all I will be reading those books as well. A+ for this book! I want more of Lila and Ethan! Made me tear up towards the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Great characters

    Lila and Ethan's struggles are very real and make their love story that much more poignant. Totally loved reading this book and their relationship could be a lesson for anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    Recommend

    I have always enjoyed the author. the story starts out slow but the character development is worth the read. I always like dynamic characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    There has to be more of lila and ethan

    I soo loved this book one of my favorits of all her books. I almost think its because i got to kinda read about them in two other books before we got a book for them i was just so stoked to see what they were all about and damn it was good i love all of her books and will read all of them to come as long as there will be more lila and ethan plz!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Great book

    I enjoyed the book, the author knows how to pull you in to the story... It is a book I would both read again as well as recommend to a friend...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Wow...

    I'll be honest, this one took me longer to read. Jessica's books are so dramatic that I have to be in the right mood and frame of mind to read them. This one, I started and then had to put down for something a little happier. But once I went back to it, WOW! Like all the others before this one, I couldn't put it down. I love that we get to see Lila and Ethan's story unfold. And the ending is a huge cliffhanger and I can't wait to get the next Micha & Ella book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Perfection!

    We get a closer look into the lives and heads of Lila Summers and Ethan Gregory. Lila has always lived a life of privilege with all the glitz and glamour. But behind her perfect hair, unblemished flawless skin, and expensive taste lies a trail of lies and raging monster clawing at her soul. From a young age Lila has been taught to hide her true emotions, and fake a big smile to cover up the misery that detains her. After Ella moving to San Diego, California Lila’s life takes a bigger leap toward the downward spiral that leaves her completely lost and reckless in the city of sin, Las Vegas, Nevada.

    Lila’s hidden addiction takes over her life as she hits rock bottom and has nowhere to turn to. With her parents completely disowning her because of her refusal to be their puppet and Ella living in a different state only one person can snap her out of her emotional rut. Ethan is the only person that doesn’t let Lila get her way, and gives her the wake up call she needs to live life.

    Ethan is the last person who would get involved with anyone because his troubled past. With his physically and emotionally abusive father he refuses to be in a relationship because he doesn’t want to end up like him. In addition to Ethan’s complex family dynamics he is haunted by his last relationship with ex-girlfriend London. The only time Ethan dropped his bad boy persona, and opened up to the idea of “love” he was burned and refused to get close to anyone and show his vulnerability ever again.

    Ethan and Lila have always fought to prove that their relationship is purely innocent and it is only a “friendship.” As the story progresses we see that there is an undeniable connection and attraction between the two. Despite being complete opposites with Ethan being a tattooed, carefree soul, who longs to live the simple life, and Lila a prissy princess who has never worked a day in her life find love in their chaotic world. Towards the end of the book we get a little teaser of what to expect in The Ever After of Ella and Micha

    Sorensen has true talent to capture you attention with each word written. She is creatively talented as she explores dynamics of broken and troubled characters. Through the mist of demons that consume the characters soul she manages to find beauty in their broken lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Meh

    Was okay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Fantastic!

    Five amazing stars! I honestly love Ethan and Lila's story more than Micha and Ella's. I could not put this book down! Nit what I was expecting, especially after reading the bits and and pieces of them in the other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4