Customer Reviews for

The Tenant of Wildfell Hall

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2008

    Excellent story!

    In simple words, this is a love story. Mostof the reviews were misleading to me,focusing too much on the unusual-for-its-time plot. It held my interest to the endand unfolds in a fresh way. Anne Bronte should have as much recognition as her twosisters. This particular edition is part ofthe Barnes and Noble Library of EssentialReading, which says it all. There is anintroduction by Deborah Lutz which althoughinteresting to me, is one to question Dr.Lutz and other feminist writers/teachers inmy opinion often read far too much into thewritings of women from past eras and theirconjecture becomes fact, which is misleadingand negative. Of course this makes forlively discussion and that's a good thing!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2008

    Amazing

    I love the Bronte's and have read all of their books. This one definatly is one of the best. Anne Bronte should be as well known as her sisters for this amazing novel. It was captivating and i could not put it down. Surprisingly enough, i read it in two days! It was so good, i can't even describe how wonderful it is!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2013

    Much better than Jane Eyre or Wuthering Heights. It's a shame t

    Much better than Jane Eyre or Wuthering Heights. It's a shame that Anne Bronte is not as well known as her sisters, Charolotte and Emily. I find her writing to be much less verbose and much easier to follow. Both this book and her previous book, Agnes Grey, are well written and engage the reader in the story and the characters. I felt like I got to know the characters much better than in Jane Eyre. If you must pick a Bronte sister, go with Anne Bronte and save the others for when you have absolutely nothing else to read. This book got a little "preachy" at times, but it is not overwhelmingly so. Maybe the subject matter was shocking at the time of the original publication, but certainly not in today's society. In fact, I thought it handled the subject matter very well and gave an insider's look at what it is like to love someone who is determined to destroy themselves.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    Ahead of its time

    In the introduction to this book the comment is made that if it had not been for the other two Brontes, no one would be reading this book today. I have to disagree.

    This book has a few issues (mostly there is some confusion about who the narrator is writing to ( a friend but if he is married to the narrators sister, why does the narrator mention his sister got married?) and why he has gone into the narrative in the first place), but the characters and the plot make it easy to overlook the issues.

    The themes covered in this book are relevant today.
    It covers the difference between love and infatuation, the effects substance abuse has on families, the courage born from the duty to protect ones child, and in short the refusal to be anyones victim.

    I felt we got to know the tenant of wildfell hall and observed through her actions and thoughts that she was remarkable and admirable, as opposed to being told by the author that she was such. It was as if we got to understand her, know her and like her they way the narrator did.

    She was a woman who had many reasons to be small - if she had let the cruel treatment of others, and her lifes disappointments change her. Instead she was remarkable by staying true to herself and to her moral compass. The circumstances in this womans life ,at a time when women had so little empowerment , were the makings of a tragedy. Instead we find a story and a character that was ahead of its time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2001

    THE BEST BRONTE SISTER!

    I have been a fan of the 3 Bronte sisters for more than a year now. I found Charlotte to be an adequet writer, but when I read The Tenant of Wildfell Hall, I knew I had found the best sister of all. Ann Bronte is the one whom little is known about, but she is definately the best writer, towering over her sisters with her masterpiece that I found so engrossing. The Tenant of Wildfell Hall was absolutely incredible, portraying evil being conquered by true love, and finishing with the happiest ending ever!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Exciting novel, one of my favourites, with a strong-willed main

    Exciting novel, one of my favourites, with a strong-willed main heroine and her wonderful story. "The Tenant" was praised before me, so I will write here only about this edition of it.
    1. The only good thing in this edition is an introduction by Dr. Lutz. Very helpful, well-written and informative.
    2. With exception of the aforementioned introduction this is copy of Progect Gutenberg edition which in its turn a copy of 1920 copy of 1900 edition of "The Tenant".
    3. It's an incomplete edition (see Wikipedia for more information about mutilated editions of "The Tenant"). The Prologue, some parts of the text and chapter headings are omitted. Complete novel begins with: "Dear Halford, when we were together last..."
    4. There is stupid out-dated and out of place introduction by M.A. Ward, sometime a renown anti-feminist writer. "The Tenant" is clearly a feminist novel, and you may guess what did she write about Anne and her novel. Ward's criticism is absolutely unjust.
    Below in my recommendations I've added the editions of "The Tenant" which I know to be complete. If you want to read the novel in its best, buy one of this editions.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    What a great read - Anne Bronte is the Best!

    I loved this book, it aroused all sorts of emotions in me. Set in the Victorian Era the heroine Helen Huntington Graham could easily be transported to today. Helen angered/frustrated me, puzzeled me and touched my sympathy as did other major characters in the book. It was fun to retire to my modern day garden, read this book and be transported to the Victorian era. It challenged me to think what could have informed Anne Bronte at such a young age and during her time in history of the themes of which she wrote: sextual inequality, feminism, domestic abuse, alcohol/drug addiction, marital infidelity. As I researched this I learned she saw and lived much of it within her own family. Anne earned her place as the best of the Bronte writers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2013

    Highly Recommended--the best of the Brontes!

    This is an amazing Gothic story. It is well-written with an intriguing plot and interesting sub-plots.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    Recommend

    Anne Bronte chooses to illustrate the truth of man's nature. That it is foolish to think that we can change a person, and that there will be some who never make right choices for themself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    slow start, but then a DELIGHT

    Slow to suck you in, but great character development and intense storyline. With less gothic tones than either of her sisters, Anne writes very realistically...even shockingly for the day. Smacks you in the face!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2