Customer Reviews for

The Tenth Saint

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Super recommended!

I loved reading "The Tenth Saint", a well written, intelligent, fast paced, historical novel set in the desert of Ethiopia. Archeologists, deaths, history and love kept me riveted and glued to my book. I loved it! It is a must read from a new author who, or so I am tol...
I loved reading "The Tenth Saint", a well written, intelligent, fast paced, historical novel set in the desert of Ethiopia. Archeologists, deaths, history and love kept me riveted and glued to my book. I loved it! It is a must read from a new author who, or so I am told, has a few more books coming out! I can't wait for the next one!

posted by victoriaamory on November 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Interesting combination of themes....

I'm still not quite sure what to make of this book. I enjoyed it, although it felt a bit disjointed. It was definitely NOT your typical "Indiana Jones" type of novel, but had a completely unexpected bent to it. I would recommend it, in that it has really good message, ...
I'm still not quite sure what to make of this book. I enjoyed it, although it felt a bit disjointed. It was definitely NOT your typical "Indiana Jones" type of novel, but had a completely unexpected bent to it. I would recommend it, in that it has really good message, (although a rather implausible way of presenting it).
It would be a good book for a readers group to discuss.
I would definitely read more by this author.

posted by susansews2 on April 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 17, 2011

    Super recommended!

    I loved reading "The Tenth Saint", a well written, intelligent, fast paced, historical novel set in the desert of Ethiopia. Archeologists, deaths, history and love kept me riveted and glued to my book. I loved it! It is a must read from a new author who, or so I am told, has a few more books coming out! I can't wait for the next one!

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Good Read.

    Well written novel. Held my attention throughout. Looking forward to the next one.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    A Must Read

    I didn't want to put this book down. The author combines the past, the present, and the future to create a mystery that reveals a WOW story. The reader becomes personally involved with the characters. I hope there is a sequel. I will definitely read more books by this author.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    Good read

    Interesting storyline incorporating religion, history, environmental issues, and a little futurism. Good read but could have been fleshed out a little into a great read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    I loved this book.

    Something different for a change.. hope there is a II

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    Good Adventure

    This writer is very knowledgeable, and very realistic, despite the fantastic nature of the mysteries at the center of the story.

    The eBook needs some editing. Some right-double-quotes where left-double-quotes should be and formatting errors. None of this makes the text at all unreadable, or gets much in the way. It just looks a little unprofessional.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    Highly recommended

    This is a real page turner in the archeological fictional thriller area. I'm waiting for Niko's next book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Excellent read -- great deal of research, exotic backdrops, adve

    Excellent read -- great deal of research, exotic backdrops, adventure and intrigue interwoven with history. I would definitely recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    recommeded

    I found this ebook a little hard to follow at times, for me a little boring as well, however you may find it enjoyable and its free

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    Interesting combination of themes....

    I'm still not quite sure what to make of this book. I enjoyed it, although it felt a bit disjointed. It was definitely NOT your typical "Indiana Jones" type of novel, but had a completely unexpected bent to it. I would recommend it, in that it has really good message, (although a rather implausible way of presenting it).
    It would be a good book for a readers group to discuss.
    I would definitely read more by this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2014

    I have to confess that I would have probably not picked up The T

    I have to confess that I would have probably not picked up The Tenth Saint (The Sarah Weston Chronicles #1) by D.J. Niko because it’s not the type of story that I am usually drawn too. But since I was given this opportunity to review it I’m very glad that I did! For me this story was a mix of Indian Jones meets Laura Croft. I absolutely loved Sarah Weston. To say that she is gutsy is an understatement! I was completely hooked when she had a scorpion crawling on her and she was calm and collected. As Sarah is leading an excavation for months, in Ethiopia, she has not had any success in finding anything relevant to the dig. One day a local directs her to a mysterious “cave”. Sarah has a lot to prove, she is running out of time and not having any success.

    Daniel Madigan provided the perfect balance to the story although he threatens to be a staunch representative of UNESCO he provides Sarah with a much needed ally. They both had a common goal, figuring out the symbols found on the “cave” and the identity of the person buried there. Their mutual dedication to archaeology was a huge push for the story. Both Daniel and Sarah cannot walk away without first finding out if the man buried in the “cave” is the lost Coptic Tenth Saint. Honestly, I couldn’t either! I wanted to know who was buried there?! Besides the amazing characters I thought the air of intrigue was fantastic, the idea of the finding the 10th saint provided a great air of mystery. I don’t know much about Ethiopia but the author was able to provide just enough information to make the story interesting and still informative.

    Many parts of the story felt like “The Da Vinci Code” the idea of tracking down the mystery behind the letter, for example. But the plot was very unique and very different. I definitely didn’t see Gabriel coming and he was a great inclusion to the story. As the story unfolded there were many twists and turns and we traveled from Ethiopia to Paris. I’m so glad to see that this is just on book in a series of chronicles, I would love to hear more about Sarah Weston’s adventures and where they will lead her to next. I thought that both the story and the characters were not only very interesting but very smart. I also like that this novel really pushes some of the stereotypes surrounding women and the field of archeology. Perfect blend of adventure, mystery and intrigue!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Good read

    Not fabulous but pretty decent. Intresting story but the characters left me cold and the dialogue could be better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    Awful!

    This book is just plain bad.

    Silly plot

    Dumb and predictable twists

    Lousy dialogue

    Big does of the authors far left politics

    All of which makes for a terrible book.

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Review

    It was ok. Hard to follow at times and diidnt make sense. What started out as archeology turned into something else so out there that it made no sense.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Mediocre - Dumb Ending

    This was a lot of writing for a weak ending.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Loved this book! Hard to put down once you start. Lots of twists and turns and surprises!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2013

    Disappointed

    I was disappointed that the book degenerated into a more worldly content. I liked the book to a point.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    FOREST FOR HUNTING AND PATROLS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Great historical read

    I need more books from this author :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    This book was a bit slow to get into but really ramped up and it

    This book was a bit slow to get into but really ramped up and it was hard to put it down. Great book and I hope to read more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4