Customer Reviews for

The Terrorist

Average Rating 4.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    A very good mystery! I recommend it!

    The Terrorist is a fictional mystery/action and adventure novel which is about a girl named Laura who moves to England with her parents and younger brother Billy. After living there for a while they begin to like where they were living. But then one day Laura's younger brother Billy is killed by the explosion of a bomb that was given to him which was disguised as a package. All throughout the book after that Laura tries to find Billy's killer.
    I liked how the author revealed the characters throughout the book. The author was also very descriptive about the characters. I didn't dislike anything about this novel. I recommended this book to anyone who likes mystery novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    Good book if you like action/mystery books.

    The Terrorist is about a tragic terrorist attack that kills a young boy, and the quest of the dead boy's sister to seek revenge on the killers. The main characters in The Terrorist are Billy, Laura, their parents, Muhammed, and Jehran.
    I liked how the author kept dragging you along and made it hard to figure out who the terrorist was until you were near the end and by that time it was pretty obvious who the terrorist was.
    I didn't like how the terrorist attack happened at the very beginning of the story instead of more in the middle. I would recommend this book to people who like mysteries and action books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    It was good

    This story is about a tragic loss to a family from America. Placed in modern day London terrorists kill a young boy in a subway. Sister is set on revenge, but an ironic twist is revealed toward the end of story. Gripping and entertaining, The Terrorist is a good read. Billy will catch you heart with his business man ways and Laura may inspire with her devotion. I didn't like the lack of serious action. I would suggest this book to young adults who want to read an adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2007

    The best book ever

    The Terrorist is an amazing mystery by Caroline B. Clooney. This book is outstanding. It takes place in London where Laura and her eleven-year-old brother Billy live. There is an immense amount of action that keeps you on your toes wondering what¿s going to happen next. The book The Terrorist is based on Laura who is in devastation after her brother Billy is killed in one of London¿s subways by a package bomb. Laura¿s focus is on one question: ¿Who killed my brother?¿ Everyone of Billy and Laura¿s friends are a suspect to Laura. This book is really outstanding. It is always keeps you moving, making you want to read more. When you just want to stop you can¿t. If you get a chance to read The Terrorist, you should. I really recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    The Terrorist is a fictional novel by Caroline B. Cooney. The Terrorist was actually really good. It was filled with drama, and it keeps you on your toes. I thought that it was very informative and interesting. The setting is in the mid-90s in London, England. The major conflict of the book is a middle school boy, named Billy, is on his way to school in a train station in London and received a package. A stranger told him that one of his friends had dropped the package. Not thinking Billy ran off with package and then remembering that his friends didn¿t have a brown paper package, and then all of the sudden the package explodes killing Billy. After Billy¿s sudden death, his sister, Laura, who is in high-school is devastated and is determined to find the terrorist who murdered Billy. Laura was mind boggled that someone would want to hurt Billy. Laura then starts to think that maybe someone from her school had something to do with Billy¿s death. Caroline B. Cooney wrote The Terrorist is the third person point of view. She used a lot of dialogue during the whole book. She made the questions Laura asked people seem like a spy was asking the questions. Since the book was set in London, England, she made some people have an English accent in her dialogue. Even thought this book is pretty short I would defiantly recommend it for a book to read on your free time. You should especially get The Terrorist if you like drama, a little action, and suspense. You¿ll also learn a little bit about the different countries in the world and some of there history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2006

    It is so great!!!!!

    It is so great book for me to read. I really enjoyed the mystery/ action book. That book is full with suspense. Also it makes me to wonder what happened in the book and it makes me to wonder who kill Billy in the train.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2005

    A gripping drama that you cannot put down!

    The Terrorist by Caroline Cooney is an excellent story of an American teenager in London who's brother is killed by a package bomb in the London Subway. Throughout the novel, she goes through as many suspects as possible, including many at her own school. This is hands down one of Ms. Cooney's best works so far. There is just the right amount of suspense, and some juicy plot twists. The only small criticism is that the ending kind of leaves you hanging, ending with a sense of incompleteness. Other than that, this is a fasinating read. Bravo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2005

    Billy the brave and the remembered...

    Wow, really sad I still liked it though because he saved that babys life he was very brave. This whole book is about Billy's sister laura trieing to find Billy's killer. Theres times where things get hopeless and sad but then theres times where she gets a big clue.If you like sad storys with a happy ending then you'll love this book. Like i said theres a happy ending dont worry once you've read it you'll feel as if its complete and cheered up.So try this book.Every book should have a chance to shine. (kinda depends though^_^)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2005

    awesome for kids who like long chapter books

    This book is perfect for kids who like long chapter books, just like I said in the headline. This is one of my all time favorite books. If I could I would erase my mind and read it all over again. The first chapter is kind of boring, but from there on it gets really good. The last chapter would probably be the best because Laura thinks that... oh you'll have to read it if you want to find out! The very last sentence would have to be the best ending in any book I've ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2004

    awesome book

    No matter how bad you treat your friends if they are truly your friends they'll be there in the end for you. Con, Mohammed and Jimmy prove this to be true in this thrilling suspense. Laura is devistated about her brother billy being a victom of terrorism that she go to great lengths to find his killer. Including ditching her true friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2004

    spectacular

    laura is trying to find the terorists who were resposnible for her brothers murder and murderers.this is a awesome story were u learn about london and terorists.i hope u will read this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2003

    a readers wonderland

    This book was a must for young teens and adults alike. If you like a good book thats hard to stop reading you have to get this book. Caroline Cooney is one of the best writers there is, and in this book she let everyone else know that. I highly recomend this book to anyone and everone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2003

    The Terrorist review

    The book I read is called The Terrorist. The authors name is Caroline B. Cooney. I think the Genre is horror. The story took place in London, England. The main characters are Laura, Nicole (Laura¿s mom), Thomas (Laura¿s dad), Billy, Jehran, Con, Mohammed, Mr. Evens, Tiffany, and Jimmy. Laura¿s brother died when a terrorist handed him a package with a bomb in it and she is trying to find the person who killed him, and she is trying to get Jehran out of the country to NY. My opinion is that the book was OK. I think this isn¿t a good book for younger kids. I read have a text-to-world; it is The Terrorist and 9-11. My text-to-text is when I read the book the unprotected witness. A person got murdered and the dad saw it and latter got killed. The dad¿s sun found the killer. My text-to-self is when Laura felt like she was being fallowed I have felt like I was being fallowed many times when I¿m walking at night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2003

    Outsatnding!

    I loved this book. I don't usually read but I could'nt put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2003

    Not as good as her previous books....

    The Terrorist was a good book. It was not as good as any of her others. The end didnt meet my standards. I think she should have gone on to tell what happened after they found out who it was. She has done Much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2003

    Wow ! Amazzzing!!!!

    If you love a mystery this book is for you. Caroline's ability to capture the reader into its suspensful plot is amazing. She keeps you with your jaw dropped at all times! This book is excellent and is great to read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2002

    the greatest of them all!

    i think a lot of people should read this book. it is fabulous! You should read this fascinating story ! I love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2002

    great!

    it was a great book and i think this book had a lot of meanings. i think caroline cooney is very talented in writing. she sometimes drags though. it seems like the person has too many thoughts. i also disliked the ending, how the murderer got away... but overall, it was an excellent book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2002

    This book was so sad!

    This book was so sad, my heart was just breaking for Laura. Even though I knew who the bad guy was before half the book was over, I really, really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2002

    the worst caroline cooney book i've ever read!!!

    i usually love caroline cooney books, but in this one she kinda seemed to lose her talent! i dont know, but it seemed to me that she was implying that muslims are always the terrorists! i have a muslim friend, so i find that kind of discriminating. and while it has a gripping plot, it doesnt build up suspense or anything like in her other books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3