Customer Reviews for

The Theory of Attraction

Average Rating 4
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

This story is funny, quirky, sexy and an outright blast I loved

This story is funny, quirky, sexy and an outright blast

I loved this story and could relate to it for so many reasons. Mostly because like the hero of the story, Ivan, is not unlike my husband brilliant but socially inept. And I like the heroine, Camillia, hung out w...
This story is funny, quirky, sexy and an outright blast

I loved this story and could relate to it for so many reasons. Mostly because like the hero of the story, Ivan, is not unlike my husband brilliant but socially inept. And I like the heroine, Camillia, hung out with the geeks despite not being quite so brilliant.
Camilla lives next door to astrophysicist Ivan. Recently she has discovered that he is something of a hunk underneath all that OCD and social awkwardness. They have been friendly since she moved in and she knows his routine down pat (think Sheldon Cooper from Big Bang Theory). But he knows he is out of his depth when it comes to social conventions and asks Cami to help him prepare for an important fundraiser where he is expected to mingle. (Think Penny). Now stop. This is where it deviates from any BBT analogy you might have. Because of her attraction to Ivan Cami has often wondered about Ivan’s sex life. She has never seen him with a date of either sex. Ivan is a detail oriented man and at some point he was introduced to BDSM and it appealed to him because there are rules and it requires upfront communication. After one of their socialization lessons where Cami has been more flirtatious than normal she finds out exactly what being with Ivan entails. The chemistry is nuclear.
This story is funny, quirky, sexy and an outright blast.

posted by In_My_Humble_OpinionDA on July 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Quick ending

While I did enjoy the read, be ready for a rather quick ending. I was reading, enjoying my time and all of a sudden the book is over. It left me feeling and literally saying out loud " oh...thats it? I expected much more" while it is hard to read books like this after m...
While I did enjoy the read, be ready for a rather quick ending. I was reading, enjoying my time and all of a sudden the book is over. It left me feeling and literally saying out loud " oh...thats it? I expected much more" while it is hard to read books like this after my run in with christian grey...the ending leaves something to be desired.....like 2 more chapters to at least finish the story. To me it feels like an unfinished book. Pleased all the way until the end. It will take me a while to recommend this book to anyone.

posted by 9752481 on July 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This story is funny, quirky, sexy and an outright blast I loved

    This story is funny, quirky, sexy and an outright blast

    I loved this story and could relate to it for so many reasons. Mostly because like the hero of the story, Ivan, is not unlike my husband brilliant but socially inept. And I like the heroine, Camillia, hung out with the geeks despite not being quite so brilliant.
    Camilla lives next door to astrophysicist Ivan. Recently she has discovered that he is something of a hunk underneath all that OCD and social awkwardness. They have been friendly since she moved in and she knows his routine down pat (think Sheldon Cooper from Big Bang Theory). But he knows he is out of his depth when it comes to social conventions and asks Cami to help him prepare for an important fundraiser where he is expected to mingle. (Think Penny). Now stop. This is where it deviates from any BBT analogy you might have. Because of her attraction to Ivan Cami has often wondered about Ivan’s sex life. She has never seen him with a date of either sex. Ivan is a detail oriented man and at some point he was introduced to BDSM and it appealed to him because there are rules and it requires upfront communication. After one of their socialization lessons where Cami has been more flirtatious than normal she finds out exactly what being with Ivan entails. The chemistry is nuclear.
    This story is funny, quirky, sexy and an outright blast.

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    Yes, Professor...I enjoyed that. Thanks to the publisher, Car

    Yes, Professor...I enjoyed that.



    Thanks to the publisher, Carina Press, and NetGalley for the chance to read this early!

    This is the first book by this author I have read but, based on her writing style and the great characters she created for this short story – I am hooked.

    Brilliant, but socially inept, rocket scientist Dr. Ivan Reynolds works at the local university. He becomes very anxious after discovering that he is required to attend a fundraiser and talk potential donors into funding his research at the university. So he approaches his neighbor Camilla Novak to tutor him in social anthropology. However, his empirical, literal view of the world causes friction with Camilla’s emotive, instinctive attitude creating a tension between them. (Imagine Brennan or Zack from Bones; or Sheldon from Big Bang Theory ~ brilliant but socially awkward.)

    Camilla is the only single female in a townhouse complex populated almost entirely by astrophysicists and computer scientists. She realizes that she is attracted to her reclusive geeky neighbor Ivan. He however doesn’t even seem to realize she is a female; let alone interested. Until he propositions her…NO…not that kind of proposition…he wants her to socialize him. He wants her to unitize her social anthropology degree to teach him how to socially interact with other professionals and potential donors.

    “I need you to help socialize me.”
    “To help socialize me. Make me more…social. I need you to show me how to do that.” Ivan’s proposition to Camilla.

    Ivan is not only the student but Professor. Apparently, Ivan aka Professor has some secrets that Camilla has observed; and she thought she knew everything there was to know about him. Ivan complete focus on a task is something that Camilla will never again complain about.

    The author infuses passionate lovemaking with raw, dirty mating that is so hot, you’ll require frequent breaks. This will be a repeat read for me.

    I have no knowledge whatsoever with regard to the BDSM lifestyle; other than what I have read in past books. Despite the heavy BDSM theme (which I typically avoid), I rather enjoyed this book--.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Cute

    I thought it was funny and read the reviews before I bought it. I knew the ending would come quickly and it did.
    Can be "wordy" in some areas, and I found myself skimming some areas that talked computer/science stuff to long.

    Never could get the Sheldon image out of my head from the reviews, so that messed it up for me a little.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    It was cute, good, funny... overall a good read.

    It was cute, good, funny... overall a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I just couldn’t resist this read. The synopsis sounded tha

    I just couldn’t resist this read. The synopsis sounded that good. I was intrigued to find out what this story was about and found out I did!

    First off this story is an erotica with BDSM in it. I personally don’t like BDSM and mostly because it’s not for me, I just don’t understand it AND it’s not for me. But hey, I won’t knock it and I’ll give it a chance every now and then (READING, that is). This would be one of those now and thens. I really enjoyed this story. It was cute, funny, mostly realistic and just plain fun.

    Camilla lives near a University, in a building occupied by mostly professors and employees of said University. Camilla has this HOT neighbor, Ivan, who she has been observing, analyzing and drooling over for a while now. Everyone in the building gets along and friendships have formed. They hang out with one another, cook together and are there for one another. So it’s no surprise when Ivan asks Camilla to help him out by prepping him for a fundraiser that’s coming up. Ivan is brilliant academically, not so much socially. After a few weeks of tutoring Ivan, one thing leads to another and Camilla finds out that there is more to Ivan than she’s ever observed.

    This was written well and I loved Camilla and Ivan. I even liked that the author didn’t just throw the BDSM in there like BAM in your face but actually weaved an explanation of what certain things mean. I.e. Blindfolding. It’s really about trusting that the other person won’t hurt you while enjoying the mystery and surprise of what’s happening around you. I get it… I can relate…in theory. :-)
    So, yeah, I liked that Professor Ivan let some of us in on the psychological workings of a BDSM mind.

    The only thing I had a problem with was the ending. Camilla had unrealistic expectations of Ivan. I would think she would know by now that he was going take things slow or not have a clue about what she wanted and thought. What she wanted or felt was realistic just how quickly she wanted Ivan to figure it out was not.

    At any rate read the book, because I think you should, so you can find out what I’m talking about and let the discussion begin!

    ARC provided by Carina Press via NetGalley.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2014

    The Theory of Attraction reminded me of The Big Bang Theory meet

    The Theory of Attraction reminded me of The Big Bang Theory meets Fifty Shades of Grey. This was a good book and a quick easy read.
    Ivan was a quirky character that I really enjoyed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2014

    This book is utterly charming. It is a opps I fell in the love w

    This book is utterly charming. It is a opps I fell in the love with the nerd/genius next door with great twists and erotic turns. 




    I love the BDSM done with a lighter side of romance touch. 




    This is a great friends to lovers romance.  The complexities of the social tutoring and the unexpected hobbies of the hero make this such a lovely, sexy, romp. 




    Good fun!  I love it when the characters are very much themselves and we get to see them each contend with that in the romance. 




    I wish for a little more of the HEA but we get enough and we see this couple in the rest of the books in this series. Yea! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    A must read!

    This author is right on tract with her theory.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Recommended

    Interesting characters. I good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Free

    This book is free on kindle for a limited time. I liked the book but only because it was free. I recommend getting the kindle app on your phone or tablet. Some books that are free on one provider aren't free on another and vice versa.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Definitely worth it!

    This book was a surprisingly touching exploration of nerds and dominance; I liked it a lot. I'll be reading more by this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Good

    I loved ivan even though he was sheldon from big bang. Lol. However i didnt like that the ending just fizzled out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Loved it

    I enjoyed the characters, and loved the bedroom scenes. I liked Ivan even if someone like the Professor is unlikely to exist, I mean handsome, sexy, awkard socially, very intelligent but amazing the bedroom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Very good

    Was really surprised by how much I enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    No complaints

    Good read overall

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Like this story!!!!

    This book was a breathe of fresh air for me. Once, i got past the 1st chapter, the story blossomed into a great read. The characters were more realistic than other writings i have read. They remind me of the engineers and scientists that i work with presently. As a former Houstonian, i loved the true detail of the area as well as the realism of the characters ...... I will say that i would be interested to see how this author continues to develop in future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Loved this book and I sincerely hope that we don't get to see th

    Loved this book and I sincerely hope that we don't get to see the last of Ivan. He is just too fascinating for a single book. A funny, romantic, and entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Fun

    .

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2