BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Thief (Isaac Bell Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Book not yet available for reading. How does one write a review prior to the books availability?

Book not yet available for reading. How does one write a review prior to the books availability?

posted by davefrey on February 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Not up to Cussler standards

I have read all of Clive Cusslers books and this one was my least favorite. Sorry. The plot was thin. Too much time spent describing clothing. The historical locations are correct. Basically, too much filler and not enough substance.

posted by Threeaxel on April 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    Book not yet available for reading. How does one write a review prior to the books availability?

    Book not yet available for reading. How does one write a review prior to the books availability?

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    This book contains more typographical errors than the sum of all

    This book contains more typographical errors than the sum of all other books I have ever read - and that is a very large number.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    Not up to Cussler standards

    I have read all of Clive Cusslers books and this one was my least favorite. Sorry. The plot was thin. Too much time spent describing clothing. The historical locations are correct. Basically, too much filler and not enough substance.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    Many Weaknesses, Falls Short

    As a devoted reader of Cussler novels, this review is difficult to write. Overall, the book rates a 2 because of the poorly developed premise of the plot, the breakdown or disconnect in Isaac Bell's character, and editing problems. I believe many readers will not understand why a senior German officer in the Kiaser's regime would go to the extreme in hopes of capturing technology that would open the door for talking movies. It is widely known that the Kiaser's Germany was highly focused on traditional military weaponry and the advances thereto. As for Mr. Bell's character development, all previous writings concerning him portray Bell as highly ethical, self-sacrificing, and completely in love with Marion. So why would a man of this caliber and inherent investigative.brilliance allow his new wife to become involved with the target of his investigation? Has he changed so much that he's willing to use his wife and knowingly risk her life? Or has he suddenly become incredibly chauvinistic and stupid? Last item, the editing of the manuscript could have been better. In one instance, the voice of Joseph Van Dorn was speaking yet the text referenced Mr. Bronson. There are other examples of similar mistakes.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    This book was the second one that I was terribly disappointed in

    This book was the second one that I was terribly disappointed in (Isaac Bell) the Race was the first one. I have read all of Cusslers books and the Race and current one, Thief did not sound like Cusslers writing. If anymore come out with the Isaac Bell series I will not waste my hard earned money to buy it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    An overall disappointing read

    I am normally a huge fan of Cussler's books and can't wait for his next release. Until now I've never been disappointed. I stuck this book out, returning to the pages several times after putting the book away. I'll consider and hope this was just a fluke. In my humble opinion, it is definately not a repeat read as so many of Mr. Cussler's other books are.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    Personally, the Isaac Bell series of my favorite of Clive Cussle

    Personally, the Isaac Bell series of my favorite of Clive Cussler's books. I found it very enjoyable, keeping a good pace.I like Isaac and Archie very much. This book has me looking up biographies of Edison, and histories of the motion picture industry. I still think the Chase and the Wrecker were the best of te series, but I do look forward to any of the Isaac Bell stories. Keep them coming, Clive!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    This book was a good example of "You can't judge a book by

    This book was a good example of "You can't judge a book by its cover". Very little about "The Thief", if there ever was one. The cover itself, and title were a bit misleading. The burning ship was really not the main theme of the book. Book is really about the early days of Hollywood, and the emerging talking pictures technology. It was a good story, and moved right along, and somewhat entertaining. A typical Isaac Bell adventure, even though he lost the guy he was supposed to keep and eye on. Almost like a failure of the Van
    Dorn Agency. My choice for a title would have been "The Monkey" or "Acrobat". Bell needs a long vacation and maybe come back renewed, or reinvented some other time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2014

    Great book by clive cussler

    These books never dissapoint the reader. I love every clive cussler book that he has ever writen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    I used to like Clive Cussler, and I was a big fan of the Dirk Pi

    I used to like Clive Cussler, and I was a big fan of the Dirk Pitt stories, written with sense of humor, a strong plot and fast pace. This book is slow and disappointing, and frankly I had to force myself to keep reading, hoping for a change. Which didn't happen.
    Looks like the writing has been outsourced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Very highly recommended

    Always been a fan of Clive Cussler and his Dirk Pitt character. Isaac Bell is no less fascinating. Great job by Cussler and Justin Scott.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    a guilty pleasure

    the characters have little depth, but I love this series for the historical detail and fast-paced action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Isaac Bell is the Dirk Pitt of this series!!!

    Let me start off by saying I LOVE DIRK PITT. But I have to say Isaac Bell is definitely a contender. I am enjoying this new CLIVE CUSSLER series immensely. Clive and Justin bring a bit of history of America into the mix and the story lines are great. THE THIEF is definitely a 'must read' and I will continue to get this series of books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Another Great Book.

    An invention that could change the world… A ruthless agent that could destroy it… Only Isaac Bell can save it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    A book to read in a day

    The storytelling of bell adv by Cussler/Scott. Is a book that is a page turner that you wont put down. Is action/adv at is best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Randomw E Random

    Just...no

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Good book

    I have been reading clive cussler for a long time i am a full time fire fighter with the reno fire department and i love to read it on brake or around the ststion,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    wow

    Stupid book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Fundamentally weak basic premise and lack of suspense. The plot

    Fundamentally weak basic premise and lack of suspense. The plot to keep an invention of nominal strategic value -a movie camera? C'mon!- from the Germans was almost ludicrous, not to mention that the action was not nearly as fluid as the other books in this series.
    Had the book made better use of the passenger ship, that might have worked better than the back and forth scenes in LA and NY. Historical events, such as Thomas Alva Edison's iron grip on technology, were interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Great Book

    I have just recently finished this book, and it was great. Sure, there are some things that are not one hundred percent accurate, but still totally believable. Another great book by clive cussler.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5