Customer Reviews for

The Thief (Isaac Bell Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Book not yet available for reading. How does one write a review prior to the books availability?

Book not yet available for reading. How does one write a review prior to the books availability?

posted by davefrey on February 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Not up to Cussler standards

I have read all of Clive Cusslers books and this one was my least favorite. Sorry. The plot was thin. Too much time spent describing clothing. The historical locations are correct. Basically, too much filler and not enough substance.

posted by Threeaxel on April 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 9 of 10 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    Not up to Cussler standards

    I have read all of Clive Cusslers books and this one was my least favorite. Sorry. The plot was thin. Too much time spent describing clothing. The historical locations are correct. Basically, too much filler and not enough substance.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    Many Weaknesses, Falls Short

    As a devoted reader of Cussler novels, this review is difficult to write. Overall, the book rates a 2 because of the poorly developed premise of the plot, the breakdown or disconnect in Isaac Bell's character, and editing problems. I believe many readers will not understand why a senior German officer in the Kiaser's regime would go to the extreme in hopes of capturing technology that would open the door for talking movies. It is widely known that the Kiaser's Germany was highly focused on traditional military weaponry and the advances thereto. As for Mr. Bell's character development, all previous writings concerning him portray Bell as highly ethical, self-sacrificing, and completely in love with Marion. So why would a man of this caliber and inherent investigative.brilliance allow his new wife to become involved with the target of his investigation? Has he changed so much that he's willing to use his wife and knowingly risk her life? Or has he suddenly become incredibly chauvinistic and stupid? Last item, the editing of the manuscript could have been better. In one instance, the voice of Joseph Van Dorn was speaking yet the text referenced Mr. Bronson. There are other examples of similar mistakes.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    This book was the second one that I was terribly disappointed in

    This book was the second one that I was terribly disappointed in (Isaac Bell) the Race was the first one. I have read all of Cusslers books and the Race and current one, Thief did not sound like Cusslers writing. If anymore come out with the Isaac Bell series I will not waste my hard earned money to buy it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    An overall disappointing read

    I am normally a huge fan of Cussler's books and can't wait for his next release. Until now I've never been disappointed. I stuck this book out, returning to the pages several times after putting the book away. I'll consider and hope this was just a fluke. In my humble opinion, it is definately not a repeat read as so many of Mr. Cussler's other books are.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Fundamentally weak basic premise and lack of suspense. The plot

    Fundamentally weak basic premise and lack of suspense. The plot to keep an invention of nominal strategic value -a movie camera? C'mon!- from the Germans was almost ludicrous, not to mention that the action was not nearly as fluid as the other books in this series.
    Had the book made better use of the passenger ship, that might have worked better than the back and forth scenes in LA and NY. Historical events, such as Thomas Alva Edison's iron grip on technology, were interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 9 of 10 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1