Customer Reviews for

The Third Bullet (Bob Lee Swagger Series #8)

Average Rating 3.5
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Stayed up all night reading, then read it again. My eyes are ble

Stayed up all night reading, then read it again. My eyes are bleeding, but it was worth it! Terrific story, except for Hugh Meacham's motivation. Hunter forgot about National Security Memorandum No. 263 -- JFK's decision to pull all American ground troops out of Vietnam...
Stayed up all night reading, then read it again. My eyes are bleeding, but it was worth it! Terrific story, except for Hugh Meacham's motivation. Hunter forgot about National Security Memorandum No. 263 -- JFK's decision to pull all American ground troops out of Vietnam, issued Oct. 11, 1963. It hadn't been publicly announced, but as a CIA operative, the fictional Meacham would have known about it. I wonder if Meacham (a fake name for someone who was very possibly a real person) wasn't unknowingly being played by his CIA mentor. In reality, Kennedy had recently fired CIA Director Allen Dulles -- is that the equivalent of the fictional cuckolding? The Dulles brothers, Allen and John Foster, were dirty enough to not only plot and carry out a murder at the Executive Level, but then get away with it.
Hunter's assassination theory is spot-on with possible reality, and makes more sense than anything I've read. He even gives a nice wave to Stephen King's 11/22/63. But Bob Lee Swagger's injuries and age push the limits of story believability when he's forced into a savage physical confrontation. I loved the book and don't want Swagger retired, but the poor guy can't keep going on this way.
I recommend readers buy the book, enjoy the story, then make sure you know the actual details of this grimmest moment in American history. Hunter knows his guns and his plot line answers most of the sad old questions we've kicked around for 50 years.
"Who" is explained. "Why" is still kicking around out there.

posted by KrisfromRockdale on January 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I have been a Swagger fan for a long time. king This book was du

I have been a Swagger fan for a long time. king This book was dull and boring. I could not even finish it. Far too much side tracking and little Swagger action. Hope the next one is more like the "old" Swagger.

posted by Anonymous on February 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    Stayed up all night reading, then read it again. My eyes are ble

    Stayed up all night reading, then read it again. My eyes are bleeding, but it was worth it! Terrific story, except for Hugh Meacham's motivation. Hunter forgot about National Security Memorandum No. 263 -- JFK's decision to pull all American ground troops out of Vietnam, issued Oct. 11, 1963. It hadn't been publicly announced, but as a CIA operative, the fictional Meacham would have known about it. I wonder if Meacham (a fake name for someone who was very possibly a real person) wasn't unknowingly being played by his CIA mentor. In reality, Kennedy had recently fired CIA Director Allen Dulles -- is that the equivalent of the fictional cuckolding? The Dulles brothers, Allen and John Foster, were dirty enough to not only plot and carry out a murder at the Executive Level, but then get away with it.
    Hunter's assassination theory is spot-on with possible reality, and makes more sense than anything I've read. He even gives a nice wave to Stephen King's 11/22/63. But Bob Lee Swagger's injuries and age push the limits of story believability when he's forced into a savage physical confrontation. I loved the book and don't want Swagger retired, but the poor guy can't keep going on this way.
    I recommend readers buy the book, enjoy the story, then make sure you know the actual details of this grimmest moment in American history. Hunter knows his guns and his plot line answers most of the sad old questions we've kicked around for 50 years.
    "Who" is explained. "Why" is still kicking around out there.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    I have been a Swagger fan for a long time. king This book was du

    I have been a Swagger fan for a long time. king This book was dull and boring. I could not even finish it. Far too much side tracking and little Swagger action. Hope the next one is more like the "old" Swagger.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Interesting theory

    The second person format for much of book was different than I expected and it was slower reading than other Swagger Series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2013

    My husband and I are big Stephen Hunter fans. As soon as one of

    My husband and I are big Stephen Hunter fans. As soon as one of his books come out we can't wait to get our hands on it to read. So of course we were ex cited  for The Third Bullet. However, I couldn't even make myself finish this book. The book was too wrought with details and other information that made the story boring. I hoped that as I continued through the book that it would get better but it didn't. I finally started reading the book from the back to the front to try and get myself engaged. Didn't happen. 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Huum

    Mediocre ... Unfortunately..the pace was to slow and conclusions easily derived at. Moreover..there was far too little action to keep my interest. I hope Swagger has one more good adventure left in him.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2013

    I gave up after 70-80 pages. Had no clue where the story arc wa

    I gave up after 70-80 pages. Had no clue where the story arc was or where it was going. Couldn't keep the characters straight. The premise had me very interested, but the writing never pulled me in enough to finish the book. Maybe his other books are better, but this one didn't work for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    One of the worst books Hunter has written.  Slow and boring. He

    One of the worst books Hunter has written.  Slow and boring. He must have had a contract to produce a book or he got paid by the word. 
    Too many words, running on and on and on.  I'm a Bob Lee fan and this did not do him justice.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2014

    I have read sixteen of Hunter's books and highly rate most of th

    I have read sixteen of Hunter's books and highly rate most of them. This was a total disappointment. I quit a little after half way - little of Swagger, dull and boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Loved this book!

    This book captured my imagination and presented a well thought out new idea concerning the biggest conspiracy theory of all time . I thought it was brilliant. My only point of contention is Bob Lee is ageing so quickly but I guess we all are :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    ???

    Hi sun (dissapers)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Sun

    Laughs. "Okey."

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Bob Lee !!!

    Very thought provoking. Put aside that these books are just awesome! tHIS ONE JUST GETS YOU THINKING!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Swagger?

    Definately a Swagger story that you would ever recognize if you have followed his exploits through the years. A good story noless. I had problems keeping it straight, written in the first person and the third person narrative. New for Hunter. A good twist on the thousands of ideas of what really happened in Dallas so many years ago. Actually a small part for Swagger till the end. Readable but lets get Swagger back to what we know him best for, whopping the bad guys, bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Very Highly Recommended

    I have not read any of the Bob Lee Swagger Series before reading The Third Bullet, but am going to read all. Reading them prior, in order, before this book may be helpful but not required. If you're an amateur Kennedy assasination sleuth you'll really enjoy reading this. Hunter brings a whole new perspective on the shooting, that of a sniper, and brings up points that I don't believe have ever been considered. It may not change your thinking about LHO being the lone gunman, but it has supported my belief that he could not have been the only shooter.You decide.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    Love the Stephen Hunter books

    With the whole JFK business, I was prepared for this to be even more bizarre than the Samurai one. Pleasantly surprised. Very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    An imaginative and sort of plausible take on the Kennedy assassi

    An imaginative and sort of plausible take on the Kennedy assassination and among Hunter's best.  Lots of ballistic related
    technical stuff, which was fun, and a description of the Dallas scene of the crime, then and now, which put you there perfectly.  I favor
    the Earl Swagger stories a bit more than the Bob Lee ones but like them all, a lot.  This didn't disappoint. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Very Plausible and Well-Crafted Assassination Plot. The rest o

    Very Plausible and Well-Crafted Assassination Plot.


    The rest of the book ... plodding and self-serving.
    This book would have been a 5-star if it had just been 200 or so pages, "written" by the mastermind of the plot.  The theoretical assassination plot was very well thought-out, completely plausible and a great read.   All the Swagger portions were bloated, plodding, self-indulgent, uninteresting and could at least for me, have never appeared.  But because they do, I rated this book 3-stars.   If you're interested in the conspiracy portion, just start at page 193 and just follow the trail of the plotter throughout the remainder of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Really enjoyed reading this book. I had a hard time putting it down. The only down side to it, is that I am a woman and all the gun and bullet info in the story was way over my head. It was a well put together JFK conspiracy story. I love mysteries and I love the Bob Lee Swagger series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    Good bookto scan as it is way too wordy and redundant---I wish I

    Good bookto scan as it is way too wordy and redundant---I wish I had read the abridged version as the unabridged drags on and o n at tinmes, going nowhere. The villain isthe most ineteresting character in the book and it becomes more his storythat is told --As revealed at the end,





    Swagger, the hero, has a much sumlar motivation is his pursuit of resolving the plot.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    Great Book, Stephen hunter is a great writer.

    As always, when it comes to guns and bullets, Hunter is the expert. Very intriguing book, very believable snd scary,too. If you read any books on JFK, this one is a must, and makes more sense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4