Customer Reviews for

The Thirteen Hallows

Average Rating 4
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A fast fun ride reminiscent of The DaVinci Code

This review is from an ARC (Advanced Reader Copy) I received. I loved this book. It is a wonderfully paced, interesting story filled with compelling mythology. Yes, there is a great deal of violence in this book, but it's a horror/fantasy book so there is bound to be vi...
This review is from an ARC (Advanced Reader Copy) I received. I loved this book. It is a wonderfully paced, interesting story filled with compelling mythology. Yes, there is a great deal of violence in this book, but it's a horror/fantasy book so there is bound to be violence. Frankly, I really appreciate how the authors didn't sugar coat the murders. This is clearly not a YA book as the sex and violence put it in an adult category. I particularly liked the elements of dark magic and thought it was a nice layer, which played against the plight of the protagonists Sarah and Owen as they tried to find the mystery behind the Thirteen Hallows. It's definitely a cat and mouse chase and, despite the somewhat inept cops, who were always 'just' minutes behind, I was riveted. This book reminded me a little of The DaVinci Code as the combination of nonstop action and unraveling the mystery of the ancients secrets leaves little 'down time'. The entire time I was reading, I thought this would make a cool film. A fast, fun, engaging read. Definite page-turner.

posted by CannonballSH on November 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fantasy Comes to Life

When I received this book for review I started by showing it to my son and making the ooohing and aaahing sounds he detests. Come one, this is Michael Scott, author of one of his favorite series (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel), he was bound to be jealous. ...
When I received this book for review I started by showing it to my son and making the ooohing and aaahing sounds he detests. Come one, this is Michael Scott, author of one of his favorite series (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel), he was bound to be jealous. Then I read the first 20 pages and felt bad for my actions because this is NOT a kid¿s book. So, no, my son won¿t be picking this one up. I¿m not familiar with Freedman (the other author), but Scott has a way with making fantasy come to life in our own world. This was no exception. While the book steered into violence, sometimes mixed with sex, I felt that it was too much and unnecessary, particularly the sex portion. I¿m all for the character having a good romp in the sack, but it has to be justified. The sex in this book was mostly done for a specific reason (no¿not the ones you are thinking of), but it¿s never explained why it was so ¿ which made it feel gratuitous to me. The violence was often harsh as well and again, over the top.

Having read the synopsis of the book I was unaware that this book was based around demons and religion. The religion aspect isn¿t a huge part and doesn¿t come full frontal until the end, but the demons are a big aspect of the story. Still, the story didn¿t seem far fetched, so long as you let it take you with it. There are a number of characters that enter the story, both bad and good, and all of them fit their niches perfectly. My favorite character wasn¿t around nearly enough and I hope that in the continuation of the series he will get to shine a bit more.

Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.

posted by BookSakeBlogspot on December 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Highly recommend

    I just raced through an ARC of The Thirteen Hallows. I was fascinated by the mythology and enjoyed the roller coaster ride the authors took me on. I had heard of the hallows from Harry Potter; however, Scott and Freedman's Hallows were far more comprehensive and made me want to discover even more. I loved how Sarah and Owen raced through London to try to stop the killers...and were always just one step ahead of the police and the evil Vyvienne and Saurin. As the book went on, the chapters got shorter and shorter... almost propelling me towards the end. This is a fast and furious read with terrific villains and a 'unique' portrayal of a young Jesus. I highly recommend this cross of horror and fantasy.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    A fast fun ride reminiscent of The DaVinci Code

    This review is from an ARC (Advanced Reader Copy) I received. I loved this book. It is a wonderfully paced, interesting story filled with compelling mythology. Yes, there is a great deal of violence in this book, but it's a horror/fantasy book so there is bound to be violence. Frankly, I really appreciate how the authors didn't sugar coat the murders. This is clearly not a YA book as the sex and violence put it in an adult category. I particularly liked the elements of dark magic and thought it was a nice layer, which played against the plight of the protagonists Sarah and Owen as they tried to find the mystery behind the Thirteen Hallows. It's definitely a cat and mouse chase and, despite the somewhat inept cops, who were always 'just' minutes behind, I was riveted. This book reminded me a little of The DaVinci Code as the combination of nonstop action and unraveling the mystery of the ancients secrets leaves little 'down time'. The entire time I was reading, I thought this would make a cool film. A fast, fun, engaging read. Definite page-turner.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    "THE THIRTEEN HALLOWS" (GMTA REVIEW)

    Book Title: "The Thirteen Hallows"
    Author: Michael Scott & Colette Freedman
    Published By: Tor Forge
    Age Recommended: 18 +
    Reviewed By: Kitty Bullard
    Raven Rating: 5

    Review: This book completely knocked me for a loop. By far one of the best modern fantasy books for adults I have ever read. The story revolves around the Keepers of the Thirteen Hallows, all of which are elderly having guarded these Hallows for generations after they were passed down from son to son and daughter to daughter, and so on. The Hallows are the most prized possessions of Great Britain and have seen much history in various fashion. They are potent and if brought together could cause untold damage to the world. There is just enough history mixed in with the modern world in this book to keep you interested in finding out exactly how these Hallows were used and how they came to be. The background of these objects is astounding and are linked to some of history's most notable people and you'll never believe just how far back the history of the Hallows goes.

    This book may sound like something a child could read, but do NOT be fooled. This book is for adults and has scenes in it that should not be read by the faint of heart. The adventure to keep these Hallows safe and not allow them to fall into the wrong hands is one you will not soon forget. Murder is the hub of this novel and it's not what you'd expect at all.

    If this book is destined to become a series, I'm in all the way. The collaboration of Michael Scott and Colette Freedman is astonishing and amazing, nothing short of perfection. Get this book! You will not regret it and if you enjoy it even half as much as I did you'll be clamoring for more!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Highly Recommend for Adults

    Having read other books by Michael Scott, I came to this book expecting the world of mythology to collide with the modern world...and I wasn't disappointed. Although this is a fast paced thriller full of plot twists and turns, it is also a cleverly crafted fantasy, creating a view into a world that lurks just beneath the surface of our every day existence. When the heroine of the story, Sarah, who is a work-a-day bank clerk, is pulled unwillingly into this fantastic world, I understood her disbelief and felt her pain and frustration as she watched this murky world encroach on her well ordered life. When she discovered the meaning of the Hallows and sought to keep them safe I was pulled into the fantastic world with her, and couldn't put the book down until I finished it in the wee hours of the morning. This is not a book for the faint of heart, and definitely not a book for children. However, I would highly recommend it for anyone who enjoys a thriller where things are not always black and white, but where good is vindicated in the end.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2011

    Loved it!

    I read this book in one night as I could not put it down. Now I only did not have to put it down but have to wait patiently for the sequel. It is very tightly written by two masterful writers and it is also very suspenseful.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Good Read!

    Initially, I expected a slower novel with a more complex story line. What we get is quite the opposite. The story is fast paced and easy to follow.

    The authors slowly reveal character details and the meaning of the "hallows" and the "keepers" as the heroes are constantly chased for the objects they posess. The protagonists (Sarah and Owen) keep one step ahead of the villains (Vyvienne and Ahriman) and the police.

    Will definitely purchase the follow-up. Enjoyable read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2011

    Percy Jackson for Adults

    I'm a mythology junkie and loved the depth of historical references in this fast-paced thriller. I may be forgetting some obvious examples, but I feel like Scott & Freedman have developed a new genre here - R-rated YA fiction. All the fantasy elements we love in Percy Jackson mixed with gory violence and hot sex. Definitely adult fiction. I sped through the book so fast I was relieved to find the set-up for a sequel in the well-crafted finale to this fun read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fantasy Comes to Life

    When I received this book for review I started by showing it to my son and making the ooohing and aaahing sounds he detests. Come one, this is Michael Scott, author of one of his favorite series (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel), he was bound to be jealous. Then I read the first 20 pages and felt bad for my actions because this is NOT a kid¿s book. So, no, my son won¿t be picking this one up. I¿m not familiar with Freedman (the other author), but Scott has a way with making fantasy come to life in our own world. This was no exception. While the book steered into violence, sometimes mixed with sex, I felt that it was too much and unnecessary, particularly the sex portion. I¿m all for the character having a good romp in the sack, but it has to be justified. The sex in this book was mostly done for a specific reason (no¿not the ones you are thinking of), but it¿s never explained why it was so ¿ which made it feel gratuitous to me. The violence was often harsh as well and again, over the top.

    Having read the synopsis of the book I was unaware that this book was based around demons and religion. The religion aspect isn¿t a huge part and doesn¿t come full frontal until the end, but the demons are a big aspect of the story. Still, the story didn¿t seem far fetched, so long as you let it take you with it. There are a number of characters that enter the story, both bad and good, and all of them fit their niches perfectly. My favorite character wasn¿t around nearly enough and I hope that in the continuation of the series he will get to shine a bit more.

    Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    The graphic description of torture caused me to throw the book i

    The graphic description of torture caused me to throw the book in the trash 1/3 of the way through. The story still intrigues me and I would love to read a cleaner copy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2013

    I picked up on "fantasy" and the Michael Scott who wro

    I picked up on "fantasy" and the Michael Scott who wrote the Alchemyst series, and had high hopes. I should paid more attention to the Kirkus review and read others here. This is HORROR first and foremost, and after about the 4th brutal, sickening murder I renewed my determination not to read horror. There is way too much of this in the real world, and it is no escape for me to read "inventive variations" on the same.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Not what i was expecting

    I read th Nicholas Flamel series and was expecting another mythical adventure...not an unecessary graphic depiction of sex throughout the novel that almost made it literary pornography. It really took away from the story for me because i don't like that sort of thing, and I wasn' t expecting it from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    fascinating fantasy

    Reviewed by Alice D. for Readers Favorite

    The Horn of Bran, the Mantle of Arthur, the Chessboard of Gwenddolau, the Knife of the Horseman, The Crimson Cloak of Feathers, and Dyrnwyn, the Sword That is Broken are, at story's ending, the only ones remaining of the original Thirteen Hallows, ancient powerful artifacts that go back two thousand years and must be kept separate from each other. At the beginning of "Thirteen Hallows", a group of children evacuated to Madoc, Wales, from England during World War II are elderly, not expecting the horrific deaths they begin to suffer, one by one, as the individual Hallows each one has possessed since that time in Madoc are stolen from them. The old man with the long white beard had entranced them back then with his folklore and he had given them each a particular Hallow to keep. One of those "Keepers", Judith Walker, is rescued on the streets of London by twenty-two year old Sarah Miller and before dying, gives Sarah a bag containing Dyrnwyd with instructions to get the ancient broken sword to her American nephew, Owen, now living in England. And so begins this tale of otherworldly powers of both evil and protection from evil.

    "The Thirteen Hallows" is an extremely well-written and fascinating fantasy that creates effects and forces outside normal human experience as well as totally believable scenes of gore and dismemberment. Ambrose,the Dark Man, and his sidekick Vyvienne,Robert Elliot and his druggie skin-heads are memorable characters, to say the least. Main characters Sarah Miller and Owen Walker will carry the reader through this novel's pages and beyond, to the next book in this series that should not be missed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    I love this book. Not one to read this genre often, I was so engrossed.
    The fast pace, mythology and juicy characters kept me turning page after page. Totally satisfying! I am ready for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Hope this book is good

    This author is amazing so i hope this book is too

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Great Read

    I was surprised that free Friday Nook Book would be such a great book. The characters became real and I pictured their faces as I read. I don't like spoiler alerts, but if you like syfi mystery with characters who really come to life, READ THIS BOOK. If you don't, but still like intrigue and adventure, READ THIS BOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Jason

    Waits

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    an ancient battle between good and evil

    Ok, so many killed this book. Of course, people would be shocked by the use of the sex and violence. However, you have to understand what is being unleashed here, demons which are fueled by the energy of pain and misery. The energy that helps them to connect into the realm of the Astral has to be highly charged. Sex and violence are too highly emotional states which could sensibly bring them to this plane. Only thing which bothered me is the relationship between Sarah and Owen. I did not feel as if they were connected via emotionally. Sure they had sex but it seemed as casual as having breakfast or going for a walk. I will probably read the next book but I won't be eagerly awaiting as if I couldn't wait for the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2013

    Not what I was expecting. I bought the name Michael Scott after

    Not what I was expecting. I bought the name Michael Scott after reading the Nicholas Flammel series. I too tossed this out about a third of the way through. And I almost never stop reading a book. The graphic description of brutal murders and sex games just isn't my idea of an enjoyable read. Although there are those out there that like sex and graphic horrid details.
    I also found the plot as far a I read much more predictable than his usual fare.
    The sex and brutality added nothing to the story line.
    Lesson learned: read all the reviews. I would not have wasted my money if I had. I won't go looking for Michael Scott books again. This was a

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Truly one of the best books I have ever read!

    Truly one of the best books I have ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Harry Potter

    I havn't read the book but i would like to say that i am a bit suprised that the book title uses a major element of the harry potter and the deathly hallows like the in some of his other novels.
    I am still sure that this book is good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4