Customer Reviews for

The Thirteen Hallows

Average Rating 4
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A fast fun ride reminiscent of The DaVinci Code

This review is from an ARC (Advanced Reader Copy) I received. I loved this book. It is a wonderfully paced, interesting story filled with compelling mythology. Yes, there is a great deal of violence in this book, but it's a horror/fantasy book so there is bound to be vi...
This review is from an ARC (Advanced Reader Copy) I received. I loved this book. It is a wonderfully paced, interesting story filled with compelling mythology. Yes, there is a great deal of violence in this book, but it's a horror/fantasy book so there is bound to be violence. Frankly, I really appreciate how the authors didn't sugar coat the murders. This is clearly not a YA book as the sex and violence put it in an adult category. I particularly liked the elements of dark magic and thought it was a nice layer, which played against the plight of the protagonists Sarah and Owen as they tried to find the mystery behind the Thirteen Hallows. It's definitely a cat and mouse chase and, despite the somewhat inept cops, who were always 'just' minutes behind, I was riveted. This book reminded me a little of The DaVinci Code as the combination of nonstop action and unraveling the mystery of the ancients secrets leaves little 'down time'. The entire time I was reading, I thought this would make a cool film. A fast, fun, engaging read. Definite page-turner.

posted by CannonballSH on November 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fantasy Comes to Life

When I received this book for review I started by showing it to my son and making the ooohing and aaahing sounds he detests. Come one, this is Michael Scott, author of one of his favorite series (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel), he was bound to be jealous. ...
When I received this book for review I started by showing it to my son and making the ooohing and aaahing sounds he detests. Come one, this is Michael Scott, author of one of his favorite series (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel), he was bound to be jealous. Then I read the first 20 pages and felt bad for my actions because this is NOT a kid¿s book. So, no, my son won¿t be picking this one up. I¿m not familiar with Freedman (the other author), but Scott has a way with making fantasy come to life in our own world. This was no exception. While the book steered into violence, sometimes mixed with sex, I felt that it was too much and unnecessary, particularly the sex portion. I¿m all for the character having a good romp in the sack, but it has to be justified. The sex in this book was mostly done for a specific reason (no¿not the ones you are thinking of), but it¿s never explained why it was so ¿ which made it feel gratuitous to me. The violence was often harsh as well and again, over the top.

Having read the synopsis of the book I was unaware that this book was based around demons and religion. The religion aspect isn¿t a huge part and doesn¿t come full frontal until the end, but the demons are a big aspect of the story. Still, the story didn¿t seem far fetched, so long as you let it take you with it. There are a number of characters that enter the story, both bad and good, and all of them fit their niches perfectly. My favorite character wasn¿t around nearly enough and I hope that in the continuation of the series he will get to shine a bit more.

Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.

posted by BookSakeBlogspot on December 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Highly recommend

    I just raced through an ARC of The Thirteen Hallows. I was fascinated by the mythology and enjoyed the roller coaster ride the authors took me on. I had heard of the hallows from Harry Potter; however, Scott and Freedman's Hallows were far more comprehensive and made me want to discover even more. I loved how Sarah and Owen raced through London to try to stop the killers...and were always just one step ahead of the police and the evil Vyvienne and Saurin. As the book went on, the chapters got shorter and shorter... almost propelling me towards the end. This is a fast and furious read with terrific villains and a 'unique' portrayal of a young Jesus. I highly recommend this cross of horror and fantasy.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    A fast fun ride reminiscent of The DaVinci Code

    This review is from an ARC (Advanced Reader Copy) I received. I loved this book. It is a wonderfully paced, interesting story filled with compelling mythology. Yes, there is a great deal of violence in this book, but it's a horror/fantasy book so there is bound to be violence. Frankly, I really appreciate how the authors didn't sugar coat the murders. This is clearly not a YA book as the sex and violence put it in an adult category. I particularly liked the elements of dark magic and thought it was a nice layer, which played against the plight of the protagonists Sarah and Owen as they tried to find the mystery behind the Thirteen Hallows. It's definitely a cat and mouse chase and, despite the somewhat inept cops, who were always 'just' minutes behind, I was riveted. This book reminded me a little of The DaVinci Code as the combination of nonstop action and unraveling the mystery of the ancients secrets leaves little 'down time'. The entire time I was reading, I thought this would make a cool film. A fast, fun, engaging read. Definite page-turner.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    "THE THIRTEEN HALLOWS" (GMTA REVIEW)

    Book Title: "The Thirteen Hallows"
    Author: Michael Scott & Colette Freedman
    Published By: Tor Forge
    Age Recommended: 18 +
    Reviewed By: Kitty Bullard
    Raven Rating: 5

    Review: This book completely knocked me for a loop. By far one of the best modern fantasy books for adults I have ever read. The story revolves around the Keepers of the Thirteen Hallows, all of which are elderly having guarded these Hallows for generations after they were passed down from son to son and daughter to daughter, and so on. The Hallows are the most prized possessions of Great Britain and have seen much history in various fashion. They are potent and if brought together could cause untold damage to the world. There is just enough history mixed in with the modern world in this book to keep you interested in finding out exactly how these Hallows were used and how they came to be. The background of these objects is astounding and are linked to some of history's most notable people and you'll never believe just how far back the history of the Hallows goes.

    This book may sound like something a child could read, but do NOT be fooled. This book is for adults and has scenes in it that should not be read by the faint of heart. The adventure to keep these Hallows safe and not allow them to fall into the wrong hands is one you will not soon forget. Murder is the hub of this novel and it's not what you'd expect at all.

    If this book is destined to become a series, I'm in all the way. The collaboration of Michael Scott and Colette Freedman is astonishing and amazing, nothing short of perfection. Get this book! You will not regret it and if you enjoy it even half as much as I did you'll be clamoring for more!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Highly Recommend for Adults

    Having read other books by Michael Scott, I came to this book expecting the world of mythology to collide with the modern world...and I wasn't disappointed. Although this is a fast paced thriller full of plot twists and turns, it is also a cleverly crafted fantasy, creating a view into a world that lurks just beneath the surface of our every day existence. When the heroine of the story, Sarah, who is a work-a-day bank clerk, is pulled unwillingly into this fantastic world, I understood her disbelief and felt her pain and frustration as she watched this murky world encroach on her well ordered life. When she discovered the meaning of the Hallows and sought to keep them safe I was pulled into the fantastic world with her, and couldn't put the book down until I finished it in the wee hours of the morning. This is not a book for the faint of heart, and definitely not a book for children. However, I would highly recommend it for anyone who enjoys a thriller where things are not always black and white, but where good is vindicated in the end.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2011

    Loved it!

    I read this book in one night as I could not put it down. Now I only did not have to put it down but have to wait patiently for the sequel. It is very tightly written by two masterful writers and it is also very suspenseful.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    I love this book. Not one to read this genre often, I was so engrossed.
    The fast pace, mythology and juicy characters kept me turning page after page. Totally satisfying! I am ready for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Hope this book is good

    This author is amazing so i hope this book is too

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Jason

    Waits

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Truly one of the best books I have ever read!

    Truly one of the best books I have ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Great story!

    I love this genre, and this book definately did not disappoint! Could not put my nook down! Hope there is more to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Two strangers Sarah Miller and Owen Walker are thrust together i

    Two strangers Sarah Miller and Owen Walker are thrust together in the battle for their lives as an ominous evil tries to reunite the fabled Thirteen Hallows and bring forth hell on earth.

    THE THIRTEEN HALLOWS is a fast-paced, scary and thrilling romp through the streets of England and the countryside of Wales. Anchored with appealing young leads and incorporating historical fact and mythology, the story whizzes along with plenty of scares and non-stop action. The entire novel unfolds over the course of a week, all leading up to the exhilarating climax on the spooky All Hallow’s Eve, when the veil between worlds is at its most vulnerable.

    The story succeeds on the strength of its appealing lead characters Sarah and Owen. Sarah is a relatable character – a young woman living an extremely ordinary life – until the day she decides to play Good Samaritan. Over the course of the novel, she reveals an inner strength and heroism. Owen provides the story a much-needed lightness, courtesy of his wry sense of humor and his sweet attraction to Sarah. As the two of them come to rely more and more on each other, their growing chemistry develops into a romantic relationship. My one complaint would be that I would have liked the two of them – and in particular, their relationship – to have more page time, but hopefully, that will happen in the sequel.

    Don’t be put off if you’re not a horror fan – I’m certainly not. Yes, the horror elements are certainly frightening and gruesome, from the tense opening scene of an actress concerned she is being stalked in the streets of London, only to find the true danger in her neighbor’s flat to the gory scenes of decapitation and dismemberment of the Hallow Keepers. There are plenty of scares and bloodshed for ardent fans of the horror genre. But for non-fans, the story has a thrilling action/mystery story reminiscent of THE DA VINCI CODE or NATIONAL TREASURE, albeit with a British/Welsh setting. There is also a touching romance between the two leads.

    Although a satisfying read on its own, the novel leaves the door open for a sequel, making me wonder how long we’ll be left waiting on pins and needles for the story to continue!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    Read this book!

    A well written, entertaining read

    I was actually blown away by this book. It’s incredibly well written for a horror book and the pacing is probably the best I’ve ever enjoyed. I sat down to read one chapter and the next thing I realized, eleven chapters had flown by. I am not a fast reader; however, I finished this book in three days.

    I’ve actually enjoyed reading the various reviews on the book and find it amusing that people are so vociferous in their distaste for the gore. This is a horror/fantasy, WHAT DO YOU EXPECT? Yes, it’s violent. But this is a violent genre and the graphic violence served the story perfectly. Reviewers are obsessed that only people in their seventies are killed. HELLO, that is the major plot of the book… the septuagenarians are targets because they were in single digits when they received the blessed hallows during WWII, OVER SEVENTY YEARS AGO.

    I enjoyed Sarah and Owen as the protagonists, especially Sarah. I related to her strength and determination, but also her vulnerability and fear. She was a complex character who was nicely developed. I also really enjoyed Robert Elliot and one of my favorite chapters was the one where he is introduced.

    This is a lot like The DaVinci Code; however, I enjoyed it even more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Mason

    To Serpentfang: Um... I'm NOT inactive so I know you're inpostering cuz i have no idea what the hail the twilight saga is. :P AND i'm not in a clan. Wolf: Ouch. Mason: AND my sister always posts with me. Or zac. Who are sleeping right now...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    ARC?

    How do you get these advanced reader copies? Are you just chosen to read these books or can you sign up to be placed on a list to read these books? I have like over 580 books on my Nook color and depending on the book, I usually finish them within a day or 2. So, if anyone has info on this, I'd really appreciate the info on it and if they want consumer feedback. Atleast honest feedback...I'm not an asskisser and I definately always give an honest review on any book I read! So love all the great reviews on the books I have bought...thank you!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Harefoot

    Harefoot: Umm... it starts with a D and ends with a J. Jessica: lol Austin: I love you wayyyyyyyyy more, Violet. :P Mason: WHOO! Austin has a gf finally xd!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Connor

    ;) lol

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Connor

    Hallo. What is upz? I'm cutting class :P Waiting for the others to get homez. :P booooorrrrrrrrrrrrrreeeeeddddd outta my mindz.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Connor

    cuz I'm he//a bored. :P

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Connor

    I'LL HUG YOU!!!! *hugs Rylie* XD! What's wrong? Brandon: He's always hugging people. :I It's weird. Austin: lol Connor: :I What? I hugged Jess when she was crying, and Alea when what's-his-c r a p p y -face broke her headwhatever. Everyone hugs in this generation. Right? XD! Zachary: This generation? You talk like you're thirty or something. Connor: Half of that actually :I WHY THE HECK ARE THE PCD PLAYING????!!!!!! SEE THEY'RE WHAT'S THIRTY YEARS OLD BRO!!!! NOT COOL!!! IT'S JUSTIN BIEBER'S GENERATION!!!! WHOOP WHOOP! XD jk. Yea, so Rylie what's wrong? Austin: Oh and Mason's beating the s h i * out of Wolf right now. They're like pounding each other :I It's sooooo funny. Wolf is like a foot smaller than him. XD!!! LOL!!! In the living room. Jessica: Watch. The couch will tip over in five....four...three...two... BAM! LOOOOLZ!!! Poor Wolf. No I take it back. GO MASON!!! WOOT FOR BIG BROTHER!!!! Connor: :I Okie then... I don't enjoy seeing people get beat up unless it's by me soooooo... Alea: *rolls eyes* Connor: :P Where's my girl at??? Zachary: Dunno. Connor: Gawd I hate that girl. Dumping her right now. BRB

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Zachary

    This book is the park. okie? Since Jackolyn obviously doesn't live here anymore. Logan: Haha! Mason flinches. Ciana: The park? Why can't it be like a fro-yo place? That's more of a hangout place now than a park. Jessica: WHOOP FOR FRO-YO! :D :D :D Logan: lol Jessica: :P Wolf: Okay, well you can't kill me so live with it. I'll always be around Jess anyway and you can't do anything about that either. Jessica: Ignorez the creep. :P Austin: lol

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3