Customer Reviews for

The Time Between

Average Rating 4
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Eleanor Murray is a dutiful daughter and sister. After working a

Eleanor Murray is a dutiful daughter and sister. After working all day, she comes home to cook and take care of her sister who has paralyzed.Eleanor carries the weight of her sister's accident on her back, because the accident was her fault. Not only was she to blame fo...
Eleanor Murray is a dutiful daughter and sister. After working all day, she comes home to cook and take care of her sister who has paralyzed.Eleanor carries the weight of her sister's accident on her back, because the accident was her fault. Not only was she to blame for her sister's fall, but Eleanor is also in love with her sister's husband. Her boss offers Eleanor a part-time job to be a companion to his elderly aunt on the island of Edisto. Edisto, is where Eleanor grew up and she very much so missed her childhood island. 




Eleanor takes the job and comes head to head with Helena. Helena isn't happy with Eleanor, something about her reminds her of herself and her sister she just lost. Eleanor doesn't plan on going anywhere and her seemingly weak personality must find strength in dealing with Helena. As the two women spend time together, Eleanor begins to question the older woman's past. As Helena begins to bring Eleanor in, Eleanor begins to realize she has the power to decide what future she wishes to have. 




I very much enjoyed THE TIME BETWEEN. Like Karen's other books, there is a bit of a mystery to the story. Helena is clearly hiding something big. I can't say the mystery in this book was as shocking or as large as some of Karen's other books. However, I would say this was an amazing book on character development. Both Eleanor and Helena have a past with their sisters, how they have dealt with their guilt is examined. Where guilt takes you and where it can leave you. 




I really enjoyed watching how Eleanor seemed sort of mousy at first, but once in Edisto it was like she found her center again and began slowly allowing "Ellie" to come out again. The more time she spent with Helena and away from her family you really got to see her grow. I really felt White did a great job of making Eleanor's whole family broken. Even Helena is broken. When Eleanor comes to the house and the curtains are closed, it was like Eleanor couldn't live in the dark while in Edisto. 




I don't want it to come across, as I didn't enjoy the mystery of Helena's past. I really did. I had expected it to turn out a little different. I liked that the mystery aspect of the story really enhanced the character development. When I finally learned the whole story of what Helena's was keeping I just sat there crying. It was so heartbreaking. 




A wonderful story, with even better characters! I am definitely recommending THE TIME BETWEEN.

posted by anovelreview_blogspot_com on June 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

?

Two reviews and both plot spoilers, both revealing the entire book. If you want to talk about the entire contents, go to your blog site, but please stop revealing every detail on here. You ruin the book for readers who like to read a book and be surprised by what they r...
Two reviews and both plot spoilers, both revealing the entire book. If you want to talk about the entire contents, go to your blog site, but please stop revealing every detail on here. You ruin the book for readers who like to read a book and be surprised by what they read. You ate rude and inconsiderate. Please bn, put a stop to these plot spoilers.

posted by 8888649 on June 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    ?

    Two reviews and both plot spoilers, both revealing the entire book. If you want to talk about the entire contents, go to your blog site, but please stop revealing every detail on here. You ruin the book for readers who like to read a book and be surprised by what they read. You ate rude and inconsiderate. Please bn, put a stop to these plot spoilers.

    15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Eleanor Murray is a dutiful daughter and sister. After working a

    Eleanor Murray is a dutiful daughter and sister. After working all day, she comes home to cook and take care of her sister who has paralyzed.Eleanor carries the weight of her sister's accident on her back, because the accident was her fault. Not only was she to blame for her sister's fall, but Eleanor is also in love with her sister's husband. Her boss offers Eleanor a part-time job to be a companion to his elderly aunt on the island of Edisto. Edisto, is where Eleanor grew up and she very much so missed her childhood island. 




    Eleanor takes the job and comes head to head with Helena. Helena isn't happy with Eleanor, something about her reminds her of herself and her sister she just lost. Eleanor doesn't plan on going anywhere and her seemingly weak personality must find strength in dealing with Helena. As the two women spend time together, Eleanor begins to question the older woman's past. As Helena begins to bring Eleanor in, Eleanor begins to realize she has the power to decide what future she wishes to have. 




    I very much enjoyed THE TIME BETWEEN. Like Karen's other books, there is a bit of a mystery to the story. Helena is clearly hiding something big. I can't say the mystery in this book was as shocking or as large as some of Karen's other books. However, I would say this was an amazing book on character development. Both Eleanor and Helena have a past with their sisters, how they have dealt with their guilt is examined. Where guilt takes you and where it can leave you. 




    I really enjoyed watching how Eleanor seemed sort of mousy at first, but once in Edisto it was like she found her center again and began slowly allowing "Ellie" to come out again. The more time she spent with Helena and away from her family you really got to see her grow. I really felt White did a great job of making Eleanor's whole family broken. Even Helena is broken. When Eleanor comes to the house and the curtains are closed, it was like Eleanor couldn't live in the dark while in Edisto. 




    I don't want it to come across, as I didn't enjoy the mystery of Helena's past. I really did. I had expected it to turn out a little different. I liked that the mystery aspect of the story really enhanced the character development. When I finally learned the whole story of what Helena's was keeping I just sat there crying. It was so heartbreaking. 




    A wonderful story, with even better characters! I am definitely recommending THE TIME BETWEEN.

    5 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    One of her best! Great characters and beautiful writing.

    One of her best! Great characters and beautiful writing.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Another great read

    I adore Karen White's novels and this is no exception! The characters come to life with each word, their stories captivating and heartwrenching. It took me less than 24 hoursnto read this book - not being able to stop once I started. I found myself experiencing the emotions the writer so talently portrayed. I highly recommend this book!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Hint to ?

    If the review is longer then a couple paragraphs Do Not Read! You can tell usually by the first two sentences because the reviewer is so very detailed! Just s Suggestion... ;)

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2013

    very good read a lot of twists and turns to keep interest

    I do recommend this book. Has a feel of mystery,history and love story. well written

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Definitely recommend

    Good story of sibling rivalry & forgiveness.

    First time I've read anything by Karen White. I enjoyed her writing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Karen White is an author who always delivers a great book. I finished this is 3 days - I couldn't put it down. Her language is so vivid, you really feel like you are in the Lowcountry. I recommend all of her books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    Karen White does it again- great read

    I loved this story. You could feel the love, pain, sadness and joy. Definitely a great summer read. Thank you Karen White- you always take me to another place in your wonderful books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Couldn't put it down

    Loved it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Awesome

    Loved the book awesome just a kick ass book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    Great Read!

    I have not enjoyed any books from this Author but I will be following this one from here forward. This book had a great plot and story amazing ending!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Another fabulous book from Karen White!

    I'm always confident that I will love Karen White's new releases and this book certainly didn't change that! Great story, great well developed characters! My only disappointment was that it ended!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2013

    If you've never read a Karen White book, you are missing out! Sh

    If you've never read a Karen White book, you are missing out! She blends a little mystery with a little romance 
    and creates a wonderful story!!  You will not be disappointed!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    I always know when a book has gripped me when I both laugh and c

    I always know when a book has gripped me when I both laugh and cry out loud. This book did both. I place every one of Karen White's upcoming books on my wish list as soon as I see it and have never been disappointed. I would recommend this book to everyone who loves a good story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ¿There is how we were before, and how we are now, and the time b

    “There is how we were before, and how we are now, and the time between is spent choosing which doors to open, and which to close.” Yes, this is the essence of two families’ stories, lives in which choices were made that have shadowed years upon years right up to today.  For Eleanor Murray it is her vivacious, adventurous personality that called her to issue a dare to her sister with life-changing, tragic results.  However, a larger choice is truly what has since affected the relationship between the two sisters, the choice to live riddled with guilt and shame rather than freedom and progress. Eve, Eleanor’s sister, marries Glen to whom Eleanor was once attracted and they are only now learning to live for the future.  
    At the same time it is Eleanor’s boss, Finn Beaufain, who hires her as a companion to his Aunt Helen and trusts her with his fragile, brave and wise young daughter.  They all soon get to know each other much more deeply, learning of dreams unrealized, of musical talent stymied by grief, of beautiful art holding past secrets with historical and personal significance defying words, of trust betrayed and lost or restored, and of love’s possibilities.
    Three sisters have beautiful voices in WWII Hungary.  Due to German occupation, they are forced to flee their beloved homeland.  How will they fare, when one has fallen in love with a German soldier and one a Jewish resistance fighter?  And why does the remaining sister hold such bitterness and self-loathing because of that past and how it led to her present dread.  What is it about Eleanor, Helen’s companion, that reminds her so much of the past?  What is it that recognizes a parallel story, one that she uses to push Eleanor into a future free of burdens? 
    An accident is just that, isn’t it?  A secret kept to protect a beloved sister is hidden for a noble purpose, isn’t it?  How important is it to forgive another person and one’s self as well? And even more precious is the question of how can a precious home on the beautiful island of Edisto, South Carolina be a tender, powerful healing factor in the lives of multiple people?  Will nature work its divine magic on those who have eyes to see, ears to hear and senses that need touching? Are these souls open just enough to allow the salve of nature’s beauty to mend ailing hearts and spirits?
    The Time Between: A Novel is a beautiful, poignant story that one doesn’t want to end.  Karen White’s deft manipulation of a complex plot is clearly matured in this story that is even better than her previous novels.  A story that is so painful is here crafted and presented with exquisite beauty and sensitivity that is a joy to read and experience.  This is a MUST read as it is indeed superb fiction!

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2014

    greatly recommended

    Karen White is a superb writer who mixes fiction and history. Her stories are spellbinding as she pens a moving story and describes beautiful scenery. This book is set in the Carolina low country and makes you feel as if you are there. Alternating from Edisto Island and Hungary during World War Two, she weaves a story as intricate as the sweetgrass baskets made by the Gullah women. This is a book you won't want to miss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Recommend this novel

    I am a fan of author Karen White. The Time Between is a good read. The two main characters, both female but of different generations, are quite a pair!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2014

    Fun and engaging

    I enjoyed the strong protagonist. She made me feel smart and confident. She embraces her mistakes and is willing to continue to take risks. I also liked that it tackled sexual abuse on men in a way that shed light but was not gruesome. My favorite character was the grandmother who accepted people for themselves; sometimes the acceptance gives them courage; sometimes it freedom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    Recommended very interesting read

    Karin white did an excellent job of portraying Edisto....the story told was very interesting and opens the mind to an era of history that has just come to the forefront

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3