Customer Reviews for

The Time Keeper

Average Rating 4.5
( 378 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(215)

4 Star

(87)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

45 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

An excellent allegory. There are many people who write we

An excellent allegory.
There are many people who write well, there are gifted storytellers; when the two are found in the same person the resulting prose is poetic in its ability to speak to the reader on the deepest levels of one’s soul while using the simplest ...
An excellent allegory.
There are many people who write well, there are gifted storytellers; when the two are found in the same person the resulting prose is poetic in its ability to speak to the reader on the deepest levels of one’s soul while using the simplest of language. Mitch Albom proves himself to possess these dual abilities in this small, but powerful, parable of time, life, living, love and the power to celebrate eternity in the space between breaths.
The idea of time is a relatively recent concept. When humanity began keeping track of the passing of days, probably in order to have some measure of control of one’s environment, we also began a desire to “hoard” time and began considering the passing of time to be of more importance than the timeless moment. Mr. Albom does a superb job of bringing this hugely pondered idea (volumes have been written on various aspects of time) into a thought-provoking, easily comprehended, enjoyable allegory and takes only 220 (small) pages to accomplish the task.
Before there was time, people enjoyed life as it came. Planting, hunting, talking, arguing, laughing, watching were occurrences unnoticed as there was no cause to measure their existence. Someone (in this book, a man named Dor), did notice a “moment” and became aware that there would another “moment” the next day. He began to measure moments/hours/days/weeks/seasons to the point of distraction from all other endeavors. Dor’s knowledge caused him to want more of what was never needed to be known (time) first begging God for more time with his beloved Alli, then cursing God when that wish was not granted. As a result of his actions he was sealed in a cave for the next 6000 years, listening to the ever increasing voices of the world who were asking for time to be changed (more, slowed, rewound) until he learns the “lesson” of time. His task will be accomplished when he has taught two people, one wanting more time, one desiring less, the lessons he learned.
These few pages are packed with wisdom of The Moment. Mr. Albom acknowledges God’s influence in his life, but this work is not preachy, religious nor does it seek to convert those to read it to anything beyond becoming aware of the riches to be found in the absence of marking time. To become aware, to quote Kipling, “of the everlasting moment” holds all one desires, hopes for and can “possess” is the aim of this read.
I make my living “measuring time” (appointments are scheduled, limited in length, regular in their being proffered) and own more instruments to keep track of its passing than I care to count. I have never been able to save/spend/take out/waste/keep time except by measuring the anxiety I experience as I attempt any of those. My “addiction” to time is deep and, I fear, terminal. What I am learning, and this book is a welcome lesson in this particular tutorial, is that there are places where time becomes irrelevant – holding my wife’s hand, playing with children, eating good food, laughing with friends, feeling the sun/rain – and those are the places where I truly am living.

posted by YoyoMitch on September 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Extremely disappointed with this book. Thought provoking but ove

Extremely disappointed with this book. Thought provoking but overall dull and repetitive. I am a big fan of Mr. Albom but this was not worth the time i spent reading it. I am sorry to be so critical but i feel as though other fans should be warned to stay away.

posted by 6336982 on September 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 378 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An excellent allegory. There are many people who write we

    An excellent allegory.
    There are many people who write well, there are gifted storytellers; when the two are found in the same person the resulting prose is poetic in its ability to speak to the reader on the deepest levels of one’s soul while using the simplest of language. Mitch Albom proves himself to possess these dual abilities in this small, but powerful, parable of time, life, living, love and the power to celebrate eternity in the space between breaths.
    The idea of time is a relatively recent concept. When humanity began keeping track of the passing of days, probably in order to have some measure of control of one’s environment, we also began a desire to “hoard” time and began considering the passing of time to be of more importance than the timeless moment. Mr. Albom does a superb job of bringing this hugely pondered idea (volumes have been written on various aspects of time) into a thought-provoking, easily comprehended, enjoyable allegory and takes only 220 (small) pages to accomplish the task.
    Before there was time, people enjoyed life as it came. Planting, hunting, talking, arguing, laughing, watching were occurrences unnoticed as there was no cause to measure their existence. Someone (in this book, a man named Dor), did notice a “moment” and became aware that there would another “moment” the next day. He began to measure moments/hours/days/weeks/seasons to the point of distraction from all other endeavors. Dor’s knowledge caused him to want more of what was never needed to be known (time) first begging God for more time with his beloved Alli, then cursing God when that wish was not granted. As a result of his actions he was sealed in a cave for the next 6000 years, listening to the ever increasing voices of the world who were asking for time to be changed (more, slowed, rewound) until he learns the “lesson” of time. His task will be accomplished when he has taught two people, one wanting more time, one desiring less, the lessons he learned.
    These few pages are packed with wisdom of The Moment. Mr. Albom acknowledges God’s influence in his life, but this work is not preachy, religious nor does it seek to convert those to read it to anything beyond becoming aware of the riches to be found in the absence of marking time. To become aware, to quote Kipling, “of the everlasting moment” holds all one desires, hopes for and can “possess” is the aim of this read.
    I make my living “measuring time” (appointments are scheduled, limited in length, regular in their being proffered) and own more instruments to keep track of its passing than I care to count. I have never been able to save/spend/take out/waste/keep time except by measuring the anxiety I experience as I attempt any of those. My “addiction” to time is deep and, I fear, terminal. What I am learning, and this book is a welcome lesson in this particular tutorial, is that there are places where time becomes irrelevant – holding my wife’s hand, playing with children, eating good food, laughing with friends, feeling the sun/rain – and those are the places where I truly am living.

    45 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    I wasn't sure what to expect from this book, but was pleasantly

    I wasn't sure what to expect from this book, but was pleasantly surprised by the content. I was moved, uplifted, and left with utter satisfaction upon finishing this book. My recommendation: read it. You won't regret it.

    40 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Deceptively simple, a luminous story with a lot to think about .

    Deceptively simple, a luminous story with a lot to think about ... a gentle reminder to make the most of available time and not just marking it, waiting for something else, passing it unknowingly ... an easy read, can be digested in an afternoon and revisited in a pinch, like his other works.

    34 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Good

    People kept saying on these reviews ' what is going on with these reviews, don't know if I should buy.' Well I now know; and I'm tempted to write the same but instead I'll try to explain. First I'll say that it's a good story, following the lives of three people who learn valuable lessons. This book makes you think and I believe will touch everyone in thier own way. It's about humanity and connecting whats in the book with your own life. At the end your just.....in a quiet awe. Its only about 200 pages but wow. Buy the book and you'll understand.

    29 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    As all his literature, a story that is enjoyable and will be rem

    As all his literature, a story that is enjoyable and will be remembered for a long time after...Great job, Mr. Albom!

    27 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    Time Keeper is very thought provoking. This is the first book I

    Time Keeper is very thought provoking. This is the first book I have read by this author and I would read another. Albom's novel encourages one to think about how we view time and what we do with the time that we have.

    22 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Love!

    His books are fabulous, short andsweet, finished it in a day but makes you think about it long after :) thank you mitch!

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A thought provoking look at the meaning of time

    The story begins with Dor, the first man in the world to think about and measure time. But as punishment for measuring God’s greatest gift, he becomes Father Time. Forced to live in a cave where time is meaningless and eternally listen to the pleas of mankind asking for more minutes, days, years.
    After thousands of years, Father Time is given a chance to redeem himself by seeking out two people on Earth and teaching them the true meaning of time. Thrown into the current world, Father Time learns that his innocent measures of time have evolved into desperate time tracking. Seeking two people whose pleas Father Time heard, he finds Victor, a wealthy business man whom wants to live forever, and Sarah, a girl who wants time to end. Dor must teach them the true meaning of time to save them, but in the process save himself.
    Albom provides another beautiful novel that explores the concept of time that we all take for granted. Through his thought provoking prose and diverse characters, Albom, teaches us something more important than counting the minutes, hours, and days- he explores the true meaning of time, why God limits it, and what really matters in life.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    Highly Recommended- A NYC #1 Best Seller List

    A wonderful and easy read book to add to your collection. The characters that Mitch has created and the subject matter "Time" show great creativity. All of his books are good to read and never a disappointment. Buy it now and get totally involved in the characters before the movie on it comes out.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    I'm in awe

    This is the first book I've read by this author, and it's not very often I come across a book that after reading the last line, I just sit back and say "whoa". This is a relatively short read, but is definitely a journey I will never forget. This is a subject obviously close to the heart of the author, and he does a phenomenal job turning those feelings into a story.

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    For the life of me, I could not put "The Time Keeper"

    For the life of me, I could not put "The Time Keeper" down. Such an original idea that is beautifully crafted and put together, empowering and moving, it's definitely something that shouldn't be unread.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Great Story

    Makes you stop and think about life and taking one day at a time- Great Job Miitch, Keep up the good work




    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Just finished The Time Keeper. Loved it. A good reminder how pre

    Just finished The Time Keeper. Loved it. A good reminder how precious our lives are and enjoy every minute of it. Love all of Mitch Albom's books. I get his new book and usually have it read in a day or two and have to wait anxiously for the next one to come out. His books are worth the wait.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    MUST READ!

    THIS WAS ONE OF THE MOST OUTSTANDING BOOKS I HAVE READ FOR MANY YEARS! THE AUTHOR IS A MASTER AT TAKING THE ORDINARY AND MAKING IT EXTRAORDINARY! HIS STORY OF HOW TIME BEGAN AND PROGRESSED KEEP ME READING WHEN I WAS TOO TIRED TO READ ANYMORE.

    tHIS NOVEL REALLY GETS YOU THINKING ABOUT THE MEANING OF LIFE, HOW TIME ORIENTIED WE ALL ARE AND HOW WE ALLOW TIME TO CONTROL SO MUCH OF WHAT WE DO!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Yoyomitch

    You made me want to purchase this book thank you so much-girlreadinginthesun

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Great read!

    Was an amazingly quick read for me. Easy to get engrossed in the story and having 3 main characters kept you turning the page in order to find out what happened next. Well done! Found it in the store and took a quick look.... but found myself desiring to read it for the next week. So looked it up on the nook and am so glad I did.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    I just finished the time keeper. Mitch Albom is one of my favor

    I just finished the time keeper. Mitch Albom is one of my favorite authors! The time keeper is thought provoking, interesting and Mitch really brings his characters to life. I tend to just fall into his books and climb out of them seeing the world thru his eyes. The time keeper is a must read especially if you're new to Mitch Albom! You'll fall in love and go buy all his books.....happy reading!
    Marylou

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    I enjoyed, but not overjoyed.

    Makes for a good lazy day read. I expected more. I just felt the story had gaps. Nevertheless, I still appreciated the work.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Wonderful

    I loved this book. It was a quick read. And i loved how the chapters were short and jump from one character to the other. Worth the time and money. I even teared up towards the end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Not Albom's Best Work

    I adore Mitch Albom's "Five People you meet in Heaven", "One More Day", Tuesdays with Morrie", "Have a Little Faith". Devoured each of them in no time, re-read them. Recommended them to countless people, bought copies for many. But The Time Keeper was a disappointment. Not a bad book, but just not on the level of Albom's other highly superior reads. There is a depth to his other books that just seems to be missing here, in my humble opinion. So if The Time Keeper is the first of Albom's books you read, don't judge him by it, read one of the others to experience his real genius.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 378 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19