Customer Reviews for

The Time Machine

Average Rating 4
( 2055 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(919)

4 Star

(485)

3 Star

(289)

2 Star

(133)

1 Star

(229)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

115 out of 137 people found this review helpful.

MASTERFUL!!!

H G Wells has awakened the world with his art of tale through the travel of time. He is the inspiration of every time travel writer in existence today, with no exception, myself included. Along with great classics like Twenty-thousand Leagues Under the Sea, I remember t...
H G Wells has awakened the world with his art of tale through the travel of time. He is the inspiration of every time travel writer in existence today, with no exception, myself included. Along with great classics like Twenty-thousand Leagues Under the Sea, I remember the first time reading these classics. I was in awe. Though time travel, a genre given life by H G Wells is the ultimate epic sci-fi adventure. The very idea of time travel has opened the eyes of every imagination in my soul. The ramifications are endless. H G Well's Time Machine is my favorite, all time story. Even when you think of how the future looked as grim as it did thousands of years from the story-line's origination, one only needs to remember that this tale is merely one possiblity of billions that could be changed with a simple act of maybe a push of a button or even less. I believe THAT was the message Wells was revealing to us all. This is a very well written story that I highly recommend to anyone of any age or time. This very book was my biggest inspiration since I was first able to read.

posted by 159656 on October 19, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

81 out of 108 people found this review helpful.

Time Machine

this was a interesting book but i am not that interested in science. there were parts in the book that were very interesting and had a great climax. i recommend this book for someone who likes science and mystery.

posted by Anonymous on December 20, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2063 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 104
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    MASTERFUL!!!

    H G Wells has awakened the world with his art of tale through the travel of time. He is the inspiration of every time travel writer in existence today, with no exception, myself included. Along with great classics like Twenty-thousand Leagues Under the Sea, I remember the first time reading these classics. I was in awe. Though time travel, a genre given life by H G Wells is the ultimate epic sci-fi adventure. The very idea of time travel has opened the eyes of every imagination in my soul. The ramifications are endless. H G Well's Time Machine is my favorite, all time story. Even when you think of how the future looked as grim as it did thousands of years from the story-line's origination, one only needs to remember that this tale is merely one possiblity of billions that could be changed with a simple act of maybe a push of a button or even less. I believe THAT was the message Wells was revealing to us all. This is a very well written story that I highly recommend to anyone of any age or time. This very book was my biggest inspiration since I was first able to read.

    115 out of 137 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2006

    Time Machine

    this was a interesting book but i am not that interested in science. there were parts in the book that were very interesting and had a great climax. i recommend this book for someone who likes science and mystery.

    81 out of 108 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    H G Wells is the godfather of time travel genre

    Have you read any other time travel books? Ever? Thanks to this wonderful author and seer we have unlimited stories of time travel via many fantastic authors. Time travel is the subject of much controversy, and no doubt will be until we prove Albert Einstein wrong. I like sci-fi, that's why I picked up the book back when I was kid. Today, the subject still fascinates me. The time machine is well written, opening the door for an endless line of sci-fi lovers with open minds for imagination.

    38 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Rea this commet

    I feel like i'm sitting by a campfire listening to his story. And a.. good one at that. Cant wait to finish

    33 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2000

    wonderfuly briliant

    this book is inspiaring and one of the most wonderful books ever written.

    29 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great book with a great lesson

    The Time Machine tells us of the future and how it can be drastically different than how we may predict it to be. Many people talk of flying cars and robots, but the Time Traveler sees something different. The Time Traveler is the main character in the book and has figured out how to build a time machine. When he tells this to his friends they do not believe him. To show them that it works, he ventures to the year 802,701.He arrives there and finds that humans have evolved in two different ways. There is a lower class called the Morlocks. These people are nocturnal and ape-like. They live underground and appear to be more barbaric than the Eloi. The Eloi are the upper class of people. They live similar to how we live now - in houses and above ground. Both of the species speak odd languages, so it is difficult for the Time Traveler to communicate with them. When the Morlocks steal the Time Travelers time machine, he has to get it back from them. While attempting to get it back he learns many things of the two classes, and he wonders what went wrong with the world. He makes a friend along the way named Weena, who is an Eloi. When he finally gets the time machine back he travels back to the present time, but his friends still do not believe him. The Time Traveler must go back to the future to prove it, but this time he says he will take pictures. Three years had gone by since then, and his friends still had not seen him. The major theme in this book is the problems of the current day. H.G. Wells makes the point that the gap between the upper-class and lower-class is too expansive, and if we don't do anything about it then we will one day evolve into two different species. This book was written during the Victorian times in Great Britain. I think H.G. Wells may have been relating that Communism was a safer path at the time, and he expressed his feeling about it in the book by warning people of what could happen. I disliked this book because I feel like the author could have made the book longer by telling what happened to the Time Traveler after he went back into the future and at least gave the reader an idea of what happened. It almost seemed like he didn't finish the book. On the other hand, I liked this book because it is entertaining to think about what the future could be like and all the different possibilities. I also liked it because it was paced very well, and there was the right amount of action. I think that you should read this book because it is very entertaining and it is a classic.

    24 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2008

    THE PIONEER OF 'TIME TRAVEL'

    This book was my first of inspiration to the theory of time travel. I love the story, the adventure, and the possibility of what could happen if time could, in fact, be manipulated and folded...HG Wells is truly the pioneer of the subject. The book is fantastic, a must read.

    14 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2007

    Ups and Downs

    I found The Time Traveler a little boring, but not horrible. It is about the Time Traveller, and how he travels to the future and meets the playful creatures he calls the Eloi, and the frightening Morlocks, who are obsessed with mechanics and eat the Eloi. While the Time Traveller is observing the Eloi, the Morlocks steal the time machine, the only way of escape for the Time Traveller. If you think this sounds like a good book, don't let my opinion discourage you from reading it. While I didn't like it, many people I know really loved this book. I think it is one of those books where you either really like it or really don't. If you like science and are not easily confused you should really give this a shot.

    12 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    Horrid

    This was the most boring and unfascinating books i have ever read sci fi is one of the best genres but this book completely ruined my view of this hard couldnt understand it and it seemed like torture to read it dont read this even if its free its a total waste of space and time! Doesnt even deserve one star!!!!!

    8 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Epic

    My favorite because it is good and FREEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2006

    Time Machine

    the book was very interesting but since i am not that big on science, i was not that captivated by it. It was also filled with mystery and wonder. There were great parts in the book with climaxes and action. i would recommend this book for someone who likes science and mystery.

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Reviews

    Stop using book reviews as social networks

    6 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Wow

    Great

    5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Confusing but good.

    Mainly one person talks the whole time. Good book though.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Get it

    Great story very gripping

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    This book sucks!!

    This i too complicated to comprehend with odd narations and is very boreing! Plus it uses words never seen in my life!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Enjoyed

    Interesting plot of the future, the way he interprets time was intriguing and new. Wells goes into great detail (without boring you) and really makes you visualize what hes saying. The ending i think could ve had more excitement or ended abruptly.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    So how is it

    Well i hope this book is good. I heard it was goodd so i guess ill give it a try.

    4 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Best book ever

    It was interesting but good

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Best Book Ever

    This was an interesting book. I would recommend this book to anyone 8+ who likes action, mystery & mechanics. I am just suprised that this book was so cheap. Best book I have ever read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2063 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 104