Customer Reviews for

The Time of My Life: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

At first glance Ahern's tale is absolutely absurd. Yet the myria

At first glance Ahern's tale is absolutely absurd. Yet the myriad of quirky characters are unfazed by the concept of one's "Life" (yes, literally) leaving notes for you and subsequently following your every move while interacting and interfering with every ste...
At first glance Ahern's tale is absolutely absurd. Yet the myriad of quirky characters are unfazed by the concept of one's "Life" (yes, literally) leaving notes for you and subsequently following your every move while interacting and interfering with every step. Once I was able to swallow the uniqueness of the concept I simply couldn't put it down as I began to wish that my "Life" would come knocking as well.  Yes, it is true that the main character, Lucy, is flawed but these flaws are what made her so relate-able within the bizarre concept!  I highly reccomend it as a fun, light, and even thought-provoking read. For while there lays romance at the end, I found it to be more of an introspective novel than a love story. It make you wonder, what would your Life say to you?

posted by kristendKD on December 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Besides the lackluster title, this book is endearing and quite f

Besides the lackluster title, this book is endearing and quite funny. The main character is quirky and the story is unique. It was my first Adhern read (I had seen the move PS I love you and I LOVED it) and I will continue to read her books. Very humorous, as I said eve...
Besides the lackluster title, this book is endearing and quite funny. The main character is quirky and the story is unique. It was my first Adhern read (I had seen the move PS I love you and I LOVED it) and I will continue to read her books. Very humorous, as I said even though it started a wee bit slow.

posted by Bookwoorm on June 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    At first glance Ahern's tale is absolutely absurd. Yet the myria

    At first glance Ahern's tale is absolutely absurd. Yet the myriad of quirky characters are unfazed by the concept of one's "Life" (yes, literally) leaving notes for you and subsequently following your every move while interacting and interfering with every step. Once I was able to swallow the uniqueness of the concept I simply couldn't put it down as I began to wish that my "Life" would come knocking as well.  Yes, it is true that the main character, Lucy, is flawed but these flaws are what made her so relate-able within the bizarre concept!  I highly reccomend it as a fun, light, and even thought-provoking read. For while there lays romance at the end, I found it to be more of an introspective novel than a love story. It make you wonder, what would your Life say to you?

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Good read

    I thought this was a witty tale. I laughed alot. The overall message to never give up on yourself, your life, came through, but not in the typical sorrowful way. I really enjoyed this book. Very uplifting.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    Ahern is brilliant. Lucy¿s character is horribly flawed, but not

    Ahern is brilliant. Lucy’s character is horribly flawed, but not irredeemable. She’s not a bad person, she’s just lost her way and Life steps in to help her find the right path. It’s hard not to feel a certain amount of envy. No one in reality gets an appointment with their Life, but we all need one. The character development in this book is genius, and it’s not just Lucy and her Life that changes. The issues that she has with her job, family and friends are all things that readers will be able to relate to and understand. The fact that she’s about to turn 30 just adds another log to the fire. This story is sweet and hilarious, with a much-needed lesson underlining the whole thing. Everyone should read this book!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Got off to a slow start, but a nice story overall

    I had trouble empathizing with Lucy at first, but I stuck with the book and I'm glad I did. A nice piece of magical realism, this book is thought provoking and mostly (surprisingly) believable. By the end I was cheering for Lucy wholeheartedly. I also like tt everything ddn't get all wrapped up in a pretty bow at the end. Lucy still has problems, but that makes her character realistic and likeable. I would definately ecommend her

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Recommended

    I enjoyed this book. It was slow at first, but I was always intrigued. Not an action packed book, but a good love story.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The first 50 or so pages of the book didn't grab me, so I almost

    The first 50 or so pages of the book didn't grab me, so I almost moved it to Nook archives. But I did decide to give it a second try and I'm very glad I did. I found the book funny at times, but it also had me thinking about my own life, where I've been, where I am and where I'm going. Yes, the thought of having a Life recommended by your family and following you around is absurd as one reviewer mentioned, but the book is fiction. I say keep reading and enjoy not only the story, but how it makes you look at your own life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Great storyline!

    I'm starting to really like her sense of storytelling! I can definitely see this one being a movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Farfetched plot, but creative and worth the read.

    Ridiculous, but funny. I really liked this book. Slow in the beginning, and I read the first couple pages over until I was sure of exactly was happening. I was not disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Entertaining

    This novel was definitely entertaining and thoughtful. It gave me a lot to think about. I found myself drawn to the characters. I did not want to stop reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1