Customer Reviews for

The Further Adventures of Sherlock Holmes: The Titanic Tragedy

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

A well done addition to the "Further Adventures..." series.

Combines the history of the Titanic with the Canon very well. Keeping Dr. Watson as the narrator is important to having the "voice" of the tale fit the original stories. When does the next one come out?

posted by 310846 on April 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Cool

To read

posted by 9812780 on April 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    A well done addition to the "Further Adventures..." series.

    Combines the history of the Titanic with the Canon very well. Keeping Dr. Watson as the narrator is important to having the "voice" of the tale fit the original stories.

    When does the next one come out?

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Tobiscun

    A great new version of Sherlock Holmes

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Read for QUESTION

    What age is it apropreate for ?

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Cool

    To read

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    I'm certainly a Holmes fan, and I enjoy studying about the Titan

    I'm certainly a Holmes fan, and I enjoy studying about the Titanic. So when I located this book, which combined 2 of my favorite interests, I had to read it right away! Now that I have finished it, I'll say it was a good book. I didn't feel a true Holmes vibe from it (that is to be expected from another author), nor did I get an authentic Titanic feeling, but the plot was good enough to keep me busy reading it. Sometimes I think the author overdid it on the amount of secrets that Captain Smith maintained with everybody. Other in-command men on the ship, like Lightoller, were okay, but I don't think those men would have reacted how this story portrays them. Certain points of the plot seemed far-fetched. And too many reenactments of Sherlock's original adventures were repeated... even Irene Adler's daughter was a main character.

    But really, I didn't mind, because all it amounts to is this:

    Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson are sailing on the Titanic!.... Do I need to say anything else?

    The sheer idea of it still excites me. Regardless of the things I mentioned above, I still enjoyed the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Fun read

    Delightful and quick read! Enjoyed the voice and characters and historical setting of Titanic. Small paging issue near end, but just manually put in page numbers and was fine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Life or death!

    The game's afoot! Well written in the style of Doyle. Some nice insight into the first and final voyage of the Titanic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    For Holmes fans

    A well thought out story for anyone who enjoys a good Sherlock Holmes mystery. This is no Arthur Conan Doyle classic, but is a good read that I enjoyed and encourage Holmes fans to read. It also has a lot of interesting trivia about the Titanic for those who are interested in that as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Ghhhhyutjtc.fcusur

    Cbithotuuhfsnrer

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Nicely done

    Both an intriguing and elaborate mystery and a refreshing and informative description of the doomed voyage of the Titanic. Full of Sherlockian lore and reminders of the original stories make it pleasureable for all readers

    A good yarn well told.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Good.

    I like it so far. It is hard to get into and there is a page missing after 138 when Holmes is trying to save Watson from a bomb that is supoosed to destroy the ship.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Good enough

    No Seven Percent Solution, which is the best of the Holmes re do, but gave me something fun to this weekend.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    worth it?

    Hard time getting into this. Didn't finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2