Customer Reviews for

The Tools: 5 Tools to Help You Find Courage, Creativity, and Willpower--and Inspire You to Live Life in Forward Motion

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

I was in talk therapy for three years, two times a week, with a

I was in talk therapy for three years, two times a week, with a great therapist. I learned every detail and nuance about how my past effected the decisions and choices I had made. I learned to recognize this complex relationship between past and present almost in real t...
I was in talk therapy for three years, two times a week, with a great therapist. I learned every detail and nuance about how my past effected the decisions and choices I had made. I learned to recognize this complex relationship between past and present almost in real time. This often helped me make better choices, and I'm thankful for that. But something was always missing. I knew where I wanted to get to and what was holding me back. I simply couldn't make that leap. A character flaw of mine? Maybe. I think it might also be a flaw of talk therapy. It bonds the trauma of the past with the present. I needed to bond the present with the future. And then I was lucky enough to get to read The Tools. It explains how to do just what I needed.
In a nutshell?
-If you ever find yourself in a rut
-If you, like me, have been in psychotherapy but still have bad habits that hold you back
-If you are in a creative field, or want to be
-If you ever feel uncomfortable speaking to people (one or a thousand)
-If you wish you could make bolder moves with your life
-If you have unhealthy relationships
-If you worry about things to a point where it stifles you
-If you want to get things done but somehow don't
-If you know someone who fits any of the above

...then please buy 'The Tools' by Dr. Phil Stutz and Barry Michels. They are two therapists from LA who are brilliant. This is not a self-help book per se, but instead an answer to the part of talk therapy that doesn't actually change your life significantly enough and fast enough. (I've never picked up a 'self-help' book in my life...) Obviously, understanding your past is critical in knowing who you are. But the future is what you have to look forward to. 'The Tools' will help you make the most of it. The authors each had incredibly successful private practices treating some of the most successful people around. This book shares part of their unique, groundbreaking methods that have evolved over decades. For less than $15 you, or someone you love, risk finishing that project that's been laying dormant, having a healthier relationship, improving your confidence, and/or otherwise changing your life dramatically for the better. I just spent $30 on a T-shirt that didn't do any of that for me. Take a risk on this book: if you read it with an open mind your future might be more fulfilling than you ever dared think it could be.

posted by Doges on June 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

This book is mis-titled and mis-classified. It is really about

This book is mis-titled and mis-classified. It is really about Mr. Stutz's attempt to reconcile his atheist upbringing with his overwhelming desire to believe in a "higher power". It should be classified under Religion. Any pretense it makes of teaching you...
This book is mis-titled and mis-classified. It is really about Mr. Stutz's attempt to reconcile his atheist upbringing with his overwhelming desire to believe in a "higher power". It should be classified under Religion. Any pretense it makes of teaching you tools for managing your life is overwhelmed by the discussion of his personal teleological struggle. Don't waste your time on this book.

posted by GossettWS on June 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    I was in talk therapy for three years, two times a week, with a

    I was in talk therapy for three years, two times a week, with a great therapist. I learned every detail and nuance about how my past effected the decisions and choices I had made. I learned to recognize this complex relationship between past and present almost in real time. This often helped me make better choices, and I'm thankful for that. But something was always missing. I knew where I wanted to get to and what was holding me back. I simply couldn't make that leap. A character flaw of mine? Maybe. I think it might also be a flaw of talk therapy. It bonds the trauma of the past with the present. I needed to bond the present with the future. And then I was lucky enough to get to read The Tools. It explains how to do just what I needed.
    In a nutshell?
    -If you ever find yourself in a rut
    -If you, like me, have been in psychotherapy but still have bad habits that hold you back
    -If you are in a creative field, or want to be
    -If you ever feel uncomfortable speaking to people (one or a thousand)
    -If you wish you could make bolder moves with your life
    -If you have unhealthy relationships
    -If you worry about things to a point where it stifles you
    -If you want to get things done but somehow don't
    -If you know someone who fits any of the above

    ...then please buy 'The Tools' by Dr. Phil Stutz and Barry Michels. They are two therapists from LA who are brilliant. This is not a self-help book per se, but instead an answer to the part of talk therapy that doesn't actually change your life significantly enough and fast enough. (I've never picked up a 'self-help' book in my life...) Obviously, understanding your past is critical in knowing who you are. But the future is what you have to look forward to. 'The Tools' will help you make the most of it. The authors each had incredibly successful private practices treating some of the most successful people around. This book shares part of their unique, groundbreaking methods that have evolved over decades. For less than $15 you, or someone you love, risk finishing that project that's been laying dormant, having a healthier relationship, improving your confidence, and/or otherwise changing your life dramatically for the better. I just spent $30 on a T-shirt that didn't do any of that for me. Take a risk on this book: if you read it with an open mind your future might be more fulfilling than you ever dared think it could be.

    44 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    GossettWS wrote a review on 6/8/12 of Dr. Stutz, not of the book

    GossettWS wrote a review on 6/8/12 of Dr. Stutz, not of the book itself, which is what many reviewers tend to do. He or she doesn't say if they tried out any of the tools - my guess would be no. My review is of the book. and in my opinion, it does what it says it will do. It presents the reader with tools to help them face the problems and challenges in their life. Yes, it does mention "higher power" - which could be "God", "The Universe", Guardian Angels, or even inspiration from out of the blue - which hits all of us, if we are truthful about it. I believe that one of the principles in this book - to look outside ourselves to the greater good of all humanity -is coming at us in a wave from various sources right now, (Chopra, Wayne Dyer, M. Scott Peck, Stephen Covey, to name just a few) and it must be embraced if we are to save our race. I have had experiences with talk therapy -even one who gave me similar tools. I believe the principles can help us, IF we are willing to give them a chance. It is a useful and pretty well-written TOOL.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    This book is mis-titled and mis-classified. It is really about

    This book is mis-titled and mis-classified. It is really about Mr. Stutz's attempt to reconcile his atheist upbringing with his overwhelming desire to believe in a "higher power". It should be classified under Religion. Any pretense it makes of teaching you tools for managing your life is overwhelmed by the discussion of his personal teleological struggle. Don't waste your time on this book.

    14 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Fantastic

    Psychology meets spirituality in this book detailing a short, simple set of actions (tools) you can use to get yourself out of any rut you may be in, whether it's fear of success or helpless regurgitation of the past. The book makes reference to Source, which you can interpret in accordance with your own spiritual beliefs. I read this in 2 days and have already implemented the ideas. I haven't won a Nobel prize or an Oscar, but I am much more peaceful and hopeful.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    The Tools in this book are real and work - period. I have experi

    The Tools in this book are real and work - period. I have experienced these tools without realizing it at different points in my life, and this book made me conscious of my ability to change my live rather than attributing my outcomes to chance. Since reading this book three months ago, I have used the tools to start my own business (which I have been avoiding but overcame using Reversal of Desire); stopped worrying about the judgement of others (see Active Love) and moved my life forward in every way imaginable after years being dormant. Look, this is just my experience that I wanted to share. You don't have to believe it. But, if you have tried everything else and are desperate to try anything to get you out of your rut, (like I was), you have nothing to lose. Use the tools on your problems (the hardest part is admitting that you have problems and have control over them) and just do it! You'll be amazed too!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Great book to read.

    it has helped me to overcome some of my fears and deal with problems at work and life.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    The Tools is the place to go for advice on solving problems.




    The Tools is the place to go for advice on solving problems. If you want to create a life better than the one you have now, give The Tools a read. Make notes, memorize the tools, visualize what you are meant to be and you’ll be on your way. You’ll work hard at developing your capacity to create but the outcome will be worth it. No false promises, no magic pills just great advice you can use immediately. As with any self help program you have to find the one(s) that you can relate too. You also have to know how you best acquire and retain knowledge; whether by writing, reading, listening or a combination of all three. Stutz and Michels are truly on the cutting edge of psychotherapy and have the experience, tools and courage to show you what you need to do to improve your life.
    Richard Quis, Co-author Thinking Anew: Harnessing the Power of Belief


    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    Really sorry i wasted my money. If you believe in mysterious fo

    Really sorry i wasted my money. If you believe in mysterious forces that impact our lives then maybe this will be helpful. But for me just trying to get through the first two chapters was difficult. The writing is not well done and I can't find anything to be impressed about. Higher powers aren't what I would call a "tool". Based on the title I thought it would have some practical tools, but it doesn't, its a little ridiculous really all this talk about higher forces (what the heck is that supposed to be? It's not made clear by the end of chapter two). If you believe in astrology or numerology or tarot cards this book is for you. If you want real tools, don't waste your money here.

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Not Your Usual Self-Help Book!

    This is definately not your usual self-help book. It is an enjoyable read and easy to digest. The book asks you to use certain tools in your life in order to make it better. These tools seen to be quite effective and practical. Which is ine of the things i admire in this book. The authorss try to be honeest and address a few things that most self-help books don't and don't make you just rely on wishful thinking by giving you psychological tools. The authors want you to put work in and they even offer you a tool that most self-helps book dont a way to keep using the tools and not take the book as just another book. Excited to start using these in my life definately recommend this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    The Tools

    A truly excellent book; money well spent.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Interesting and Accessible

    The authors' lucid style, including the case histories they offer as concrete examples, make this book highly readable. Many readers, I think, will find one or more of the "tools"--strategies for overcoming the ways in which many of us are our own worst enemies--useful to apply, and others will find ideas they can adapt and apply to self-understanding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Why not read Tools

    This book made me relize I could conqure the impossible. Its a must read for pushing forward when change is NOT and option.

    This book is very direct when examples where applied and very well worded, never missed a beat.

    I've learned that NOTHING simply NOTHING is IMPOSSIBLE.With Tools you'll go a long ways.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Bloodshot

    Meh Xd

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    TO ALL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is new base! Thnx! P.s rate nightbirds story at nightbird result one thnx! the post says'the beginings'.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    To all

    Were at good guys. Hurry up

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Sample

    Read the sample & now i want to know the tools! Theory seems pretty sound.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2